We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort Style Hotel in the Mountain”
Review of Cedar Breaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Breaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Cozy room with a good View. TV was nice to see to have a flat screen. We stayed away from the main hotel area. Though we had to walk in and out in the snow to go use the restaurant, pool or spa or anything in the main hotel which seem odd since is was a low weekend. But I have to say the Pool and Sauna area is fantastic. Restaurant was good. We had breakfast lunch and dinner. Nothing really stood out but it was good. Every time you turn on the TV, there was a Creepy Sunburn guy in front of fire, seem to talk too long.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomieMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Breaks Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 395 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Friendly staff at check in but painfully slow. Request the main building if you stay here- the pool and restaurants are in this building and who wants to walk back through snow after getting out of the pool? There was supposedly only an upgraded room available in the main building- great- i wanted it! I paid the upgrade difference.... only to find out after a lot of typing and finally consulting with other staff that it wasn't really available. Ok- I was refunded the "upgrade" money and we moved on....slowly. Then for whatever reason the amount quoted by the desk clerk wasn't the amount on my reservation- which she realized her error after I showed her my confirmation. Many, many minutes later I finally got a room in one of the other buildings, no parking was available and no luggage carts available. Lugged my stuff and kids up to the room only to find the keys weren't activated so back to the painfully slow front desk again where I got a halfhearted apology. The room was nice, however the fireplace function was variable and it was somewhat dusty. The heaters are loud archaic contraptions on the wall that made climate control tricky. The beds offer little support- if you like super soft squishy beds this is your place. The kitchenette was a nice feature to have.

We then tried the restaurant- which was recently combined all into one. We did not have a reservation as previously there was a cafe- but were told we would be seated in "a few minutes" which was then "5-10" minutes. Over 30 minutes later we finally got a table and about 20 minutes after that we finally had a waitress take our order. The menu was average, overpriced. The food that FINALLY came out was mediocre and not one word from the staff on the length of wait. Even paying the check took me hunting down the waitress.

This place has potential if someone with some customer service knowledge were to help them improve their staff- they were all polite but everyone in the whole place seemed new and overwhelmed.

It is right next to Brian Head which was convenient and has a nice playground for the kids. They do offer larger rooms which is convenient for families.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cedar Breaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on our Cedar Breaks Lodge & Spa. It is only when we receive feedback from our guests that we can find solutions on how to improve our resort overall. Vacation time is very valuable and we want our guests to spend more time relaxing than waiting. It is displeasing to hear you had to return to the front desk due to the key card inconvenience. Our front desk manager has been notified to research and correct the error. We are glad to hear our team was able to recognize the upgrade charge fee and correct it. The maintenance team has been informed of your room quality and will take action as necessary to fix the problems. Your feedback on our restaurant is being forwarded to our restaurant management team to provide appropriate coaching. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

nice villas, good location, several good restaurants and nice indoor pool complex. Indoor parking and close to the slopes. Either take the town shuttle or drive to the slopes in 1 minute. The resort is in good condition.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend and I feel compelled to write a review on our drive back home to Vegas. Cedar Breaks Lodge was full of pleasant little surprises from start to finish. I didn't realize it was a Diamond-managed property, which should speak for itself I guess. The staff was great, noteably JACLYN at the front desk. We stayed in a Standard Room, which was nice and cozy after a snowy day on the mountain. I would agree with other reviews that the beds were on the soft side and the bedding although soft was hot at night. The mid size fridge and kitchen amenities were really nice. We could've packed a cooler full of food and saved some money this way but didn't know what to expect.
The pool and hot tub were nice. We didn't look for or visit the steam room. The shuttle drivers were also very nice. Brian Head makes it very easy to travel throughout their town with the complimentary shuttle service that continues to circle all day and into the evening hours. We didn't move our car out of the underground parking until we left today. The lodge food service was 3.5 stars. Definitely better than I was expecting. We visited the Steakhouse. Shuttle to Mi Pueblo Mexican restaurant in downtown area was yummy as well. The coffee shop and gift shop in the Lodge both had neat little finds and super friendly staff. We rented a movie for the second night. They had a great selection in the gift shop. Only con was some rowdy after midnight bar noise that drifted up to our room. There wasn't much else to do besides relax and let your worries disappear. Overall a great place to stay and we will be back to check it out in the summer months as well.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KikiSue02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there this past weekend. The hotel was very nice and clean. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We stayed in the smallest room and it was still very big. We did experience a few service shortfalls during our stay but the manager, Beau, was outstanding. He is the perfect example of exceptional guest service. With that being said, we will gladly return and recommend this place to anyone and everyone! Things happen, but how they are fixed is what matters. Everyone was very nice and welcoming. Don't pass this place up!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Ldowell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

All in all a good hotel. Check in was quick, room clean and complete with a fireplace. Here are the cons;
-Pool area did not live up to the pictures. One out of two hot tubs was out of order, as was the steam room. Second hot tub was so crowded (both days of stay) that it was hard getting a spot. Don't picture yourself taking a romantic dip in the tub because there will be a handful of kids running around at any given time. Also the pool area has seen better days.
-Was hoping for a massage, but there was no one manning the spa or phone so a reservation proved impossible.
-Main restaurant was not open mid week.
-Room was not cleaned until 4pm.
And yes...beds are veery soft. But nice bedding made up for it.
Also, on three out of four occasions when dining in the hotel, change was not given. Not a huge deal, but I'd like to decide myself how much to tip.

Room Tip: main building, 3rd floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceedub16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here for the location which is 5 stars. The parking lot for Cedar Breaks Lodge is across the street from the Navajo lifts. There's even a complimentary shuttle in case you ski and don't want to schlep your gear and frankenfoot down the parking lots.

The condos are super roomy, a lot bigger than expected, a full bedroom, living room and ample closet space. With a one bedroom you get a decent sized kitchenette including: stove, burners, dishes, blender, coffee maker, microwave and dishwasher. Hooray for not washing dishes on vacation! Which is great because the dining options in this town are pitiful so stock up on groceries in Cedar City before you get here. There's Apple Annie's a mini mart across the street, which is well stocked considering how small the "town" is.

It takes an act of God to get housekeeping to attend to you. If you want towels or any service, flag them down in the hallway because they may or may not ever get to your room. We were here from Monday - Friday and didn't get service once. And like everyone else said the beds aren't good. I don't think the mattresses have been replaced since the Clinton administration and they keep adding on cheap foam to the top. It's mushy and lumpy mess.

Overall: location location location. Rooms are a good size and a great value. Friendly staff and you can even request a humidifier, the air here is very dry, might help you sleep better since the mattresses aren't doing anything to help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyndMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brian Head
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
#2 of 3 in Brian Head
202 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
396 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
12.4 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
927 reviews
23.1 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Breaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Breaks Lodge

Address: 223 Hunter Ridge Rd, Brian Head, UT 84719
Location: United States > Utah > Brian Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Price Range: $106 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Breaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Breaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Breaks Hotel Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Lodge Brian Head, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing