We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst vacation so far!”
Review of Cedar Breaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Breaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst vacation so far!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The drive to Cedar Breaks Lodge was wonderful. We booked late in the day online. When we arrived despite my confirmation, they could not find my reservation. After 20 long minutes, we were given a room but by this time all the food places would close in less than 2 hrs! We hustled to our room which was very nicely appointed albeit small. Went to their Bar&Grill and the service took almost an hour! The food was terrible and waay overpriced. The "romantic" fireplace in the bedroom didn't work but maintenance came and fixed it. The area is beautiful but the staff clueless on area tips. Had trouble sleeping,the bed was the most uncomfortable ever!. Paced the room and went back to bed and found a large black spider in my bed! Eventually fell asleep. Next morning I awake feeling nauseous, sat up felt dizzy and passed out, falling off the bed and onto my hand OUCH! Altitude sickness! The resort is the highest in the country at over 10,000 feet! I was in pain and so sick we couldn't get off mountain fast enough. The staff was not helpful to my plight, plus check-out was 10am anyway! Crazy. Don't think I'll be going back there again.

Room Tip: If reserving online, make sure to call ahead to hotel to make sure it was received. E-mail confirmat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhardy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    152
    61
    35
    32
See reviews for
163
145
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our fourth winter stay at Cedar Breaks Lodge in Utah. This place is beautiful and amazing. You can literally walk over to the ski rental shop from the lodge, though if you have kids you can take the 30 second drive to get a little closer. The rooms are gorgeous and roomy. We've had a "slopes" view every time so far. There is a fireplace in each bedroom and jacuzzi tubs in each room. They also have two big whirpools for the public and a big heated pool, all inside of course. And a sauna too! The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. They have discount coupons for lift tickets and rentals at the front desk. This is a time share place, and we stay for free through my parents, but the two bedrooms are probably worth between two and three hundred a night during ski season. My sister is there right now, during June, and they're having a great time seeing Zion, Bryce, Cedar Breaks, and more. I can't wait to go during the summer, when it should be very inexpensive to rent a room.....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

To be fair, I'd like to give this 3.5 stars, but I can't... Stayed here after exchanging my timeshare via Interval. All the rooms (from what I could tell) had kitchens.

Positives - staff is incredibly nice and helpful. Anything we needed, they were there, and always a great attitude. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Property is very quiet. We had no major problems during our stay.

Negatives - no feather pillows, anywhere. I understand that some hotels do not put them on the beds due to possible allergies, but usually if you call the front desk, they have some. Not here. Both my husband and I suffered from pretty serious neck pain by the end of our trip, as the pillows (and the bed) were rock hard. All the heating is forced hot air - couple this with 10,000ft elevation, and you've got the driest environment outside the dessert. I had a bloody nose every morning from how dry it was - water radiators rather than forced hot air would solve this problem. The food at the hotel restaurant was really just not good. The wait-staff was incredibly nice and accommodating, but the food was pretty bad. During the off season during the week, there is nowhere to eat breakfast. You can buy frozen stuff at the gift store, or you can go to the grocery store across the street and cook yourself. This would've been ok, but we didn't have cooking utensils (spatula, slotted spoon, etc), so we couldn't even make eggs.

In the peak season, you're probably not spending much time in your room, and these minor annoyances may not be so bad. Though we went out every day, we definitely spent at least 4 waking hours per day in our unit, so these things became tiresome. But the staff is great, the rooms are big and clean, and it's a pretty convenient location, even though it's 11 miles up the side of a mountain on a very windy road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank db2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

interesting mountain hotel. Nice place. Good get-away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmnvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently with our 2 children ages 11 and 16. Neither of the kids had skied before. The hotel has a nice location, about 100 yards from the lift at Cedar Breaks. I've read several comments about the poor customer service, we didn't encounter it at all. They even offered unlimited use of a their cell phone since ours had no service. No readily available computer access either. We booked a 2 bed Queen suite. The room was a nice size, with a fully functional kitchen, including dishwaster. It was very clean. 2 tv's allowed us to not be subjected to the children's choice of programs, and there was a dvd player as well. The ski lift closest to the hotel was perfect for beginners and my kids were racing down the mountain in no time. There is a free shuttle over to the Brian Head resort with more challenging runs. Runs were very well groomed. Staff at the ski lodge and lifts were very friendly. We ate at the Cedar Breaks cafe inside the hotel and the food was moderatly priced and tasty. Only downfall was the whole mountain pretty much shuts down at 7:00 and you better like the people you're staying with cuz there is nothing going on. Great place for family and for beginning skiers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

First, the value! We stayed 3 nights and got 4 lift tickets (retailing at $45 each) for a total cost under $300. But the price wasn't on the Brian Head web site, we had to phone them to get it. We have stayed there often and the service usually varies from average to very good. This last stay was very good, but the maid service could have been a little more consistent. The room was very clean, but one day the towels weren't changed and the in-room coffee machine had no filters. Brian Head is a fairly small ski area, so a "good" hotel rates near the top of the list.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We returned this year to Cedar Breaks having been impressed last year. Unfortunately, the power went out to the entire mountain - which caused us to be without power for 22 hours of our four day stay. The hotel handled the situation terribly - we were given one lantern for two families in our suite and had to buy the last two candles at the gift shop. They did not give extra blankets, or check on our comfort. Some guests left and we refunded the rest of their stay but we stayed hoping power wold be restored and we could ski. When we asked for a discount for the one night without power we were rudely refused. They also sent staff home so once the power was back on, we had to beg to get towels and kleenex or any housekeeping help. We escalated to property management, but no response.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank lpwilson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brian Head hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brian Head
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
#2 of 3 in Brian Head
201 reviews
12.4 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
913 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
365 reviews
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
13.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Breaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Breaks Lodge

Property: Cedar Breaks Lodge
Address: 223 Hunter Ridge Rd, Brian Head, UT 84719
Location: United States > Utah > Brian Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Breaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cedar Breaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Breaks Hotel Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Lodge Brian Head, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing