We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Option for Many Tasty Menu Items. Good Chinese Food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Restaurant

Mandarin Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Bountiful
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Utah's best Chinese restaurant. Providing a wide variety of wok prepared Chinese dishes. Featuring local produce in the summer/fall and top quality ingredients year round. If you have not been, you must, it will change your life.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Option for Many Tasty Menu Items. Good Chinese Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We ate here for dinner with 10 people and each got a different meal.We were overall pleased with all of the meals, with a love for the Almond Chicken and General Tsao Chicken. Also, the bread pudding for desert is great! Good place for a family meal with lots of food. It's not the cheapest Chinese food around but an okay value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Banshee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    29
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite delicious food and restaurant is beautifully decorated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The first thing I noticed when I walked into the restaurant is the elegant Chinese architecture and decorations all around the place. From the reception desk where everyone is wearing traditional Chinese outfit to the little decorations on the dining table, everything resembles what one will expect to see in China. Choices of food are abundant, but all deep-fried food are on the over-greasy side. I do not recommend dishes with duck meat as they tend to be very dry. Price is overall quite reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MLee_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mandarin Revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Before I continue let me say this: 2 of the 3 negative reviews were posted by thew same reviewer! My question to her would be "If the food & the service was so bad ~ why did you go back"?
Last night was something special ~ My wife has been working non stop for weeks without a night out for diner. Because the Mandarin never disappoints ~ we decided that we'd dine at the Mandarin! We called ahead & they put our name on the waiting list. No reservations are accepted but you can call ahead & they'll put your name on the list. That's a must since there is always a wait! People from around the World come to this renowned & Famous Restaurant ~ Yes, it's that good! As usual the parking lot is full. The wait was about 15 minutes. Everyone employed here is polite & friendly. Nothing is taken for granted. The owner is always available & personally stops by each table to check out your satisfaction ~ yes, every table!
The food is always fresh ~ you can find the owner at Costco each morning buying fresh food for the day. Although Mr Skedros is not of Asian Heritage His Chef is from China & has worked at the Mandarin for years! The food & the service is the BEST. The prices are very affordable ~ the menu is extensive & the portions are large. If you go with a party I suggest sharing several menu items. Mr Skedros is always available with his suggestions for the day. I guarantee your night at the Mandarin will be a success ~ it's that good!
I can verify my return visit to the Mandarin with my Visa credit card receipt.
bon appetit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank buzltyr837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kaysville, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the world's best place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

the mandarin is our favorite place of all time - the food is superb but the wait is long on weekends

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is quite a drive from where we live, but the food is wonderful! It is almost always crowded, but that is because it is so delicious.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

Bountiful, Davis County
Bountiful, Davis County
 
Bountiful, Davis County
Bountiful, Davis County
 

Been to Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing