We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming / typical motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poles Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poles Place
Ranked #4 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
Montigny-le-Tilleul, Belgium
Level Contributor
219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Charming / typical motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent one night at the motel in september. The room is spacious and well furnished and very clean. In the room, are many warnings regarding additional charges appilcable in case of late departure (10:30 AM), damages etc. Also notes regarding misuse of appliances etc. This give us a bad feeling. The tenant is friendly and explained us the various places around Boulders (restaurants, Indian place to visit). We would have liked to spend a bit more time in the little shop of the hotel but unfortunately it closes at 5 PM. There is not much to do in Boulders (+/_ 200 inhabitants). But we enjoyed this place and would anyway recommend this very quiet Motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Woman who runs this place is very friendly. Clean and well-maintained, as others have noted. But very basic. In particular, the lack of internet access was a problem for me. I walked across the street to the very nice museum/state park which had great internet and used that, but once it closes, there is a long schlep to the nearest internet. It is also a half-mile or so walk to the nearest restaurant. That said, I slept well and can't really complain about the accommodations, and the price was reasonable. The town of Boulder is great -- really quirky, hippy place. Food options are few but very tasty. There is also a great little cafe cum bookstore cum souvenir shop. And the locals are exceedingly friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Due to schedules and places being booked, we ended up staying here and at three places in Escalante: the Circle D, the Prospector Inn, and a B&B. This was by far the nicest of the 3, although they were all just fine. Boulder has less going on as a town, but is more charming than Escalante and Poles Place was great, especially when paired with a dinner at Hell's Backbone. It is definitely more charming with more shade and nice views. They also have made nice little gardens between the rooms and the cars which adds to the charm. I took a few pics since there didn't seem to be any on here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a small family-run road side motel. Our room was very clean and noticeably very well cared for – it is a dated motel but well maintained. The two queen beds were comfortable. There is no fridge and no coffee maker and no internet - but internet is available at a store a few blocks down the road. So, there are no frills, but I love a clean room, and this was that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajb6335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Pole's Place on our way from Capitol Reef to Bryce Canyon. It's a somewhat quirky but decent little motel in a very small town. The next morning we had a great coffee and conversation at the Burr Trail Outpost, before driving down the Burr Trail road to see the red rock formations. At Pole's Place there are interesting stories about life in the town a few generations back; you'll get a kick out of reading some of them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANSING
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

On a recent visit to Boulder I stayed here for multiple nights and found this motel to provide a convenient location, clean room and a very reasonable rate on a comparative basis. The woman at check-in was very pleasant and helpful and there were no surprises. I called ahead of time, made a reservation, and received a confirmation in the mail. The bed was comfortable, temperature well-controlled, and the bathroom was very clean. Upon arrival in my room, there was a notebook filled with information about the area that I found to be very helpful. On future visits to this area I would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Bryce Canyon and found the motel to be really good value for such a clean and pleasant place. It is quite basic, but there are many touches that show the owner really cares, like all the information on the region, the quilt on the bed, the decoration of the room and bathroom.
This is certainly not a destination in itself, but if you are just looking for a clean, pleasant place to sleep, it is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
0.0 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch
0.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.0 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#8 of 10 in Escalante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poles Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poles Place

Property: Poles Place
Address: Scenic Highway 12, Boulder, UT 84716
Location: United States > Utah > Boulder
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Poles Place Boulder, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing