We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value And Clean !”
Review of Poles Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poles Place
Ranked #3 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
LANSING
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Value And Clean !”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

On a recent visit to Boulder I stayed here for multiple nights and found this motel to provide a convenient location, clean room and a very reasonable rate on a comparative basis. The woman at check-in was very pleasant and helpful and there were no surprises. I called ahead of time, made a reservation, and received a confirmation in the mail. The bed was comfortable, temperature well-controlled, and the bathroom was very clean. Upon arrival in my room, there was a notebook filled with information about the area that I found to be very helpful. On future visits to this area I would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Bryce Canyon and found the motel to be really good value for such a clean and pleasant place. It is quite basic, but there are many touches that show the owner really cares, like all the information on the region, the quilt on the bed, the decoration of the room and bathroom.
This is certainly not a destination in itself, but if you are just looking for a clean, pleasant place to sleep, it is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I think every review on Poles Place is probably accurate. It's a nice little motel that is very clean and not fancy. The owner is very proud of her family history and I found her very interesting to talk with. She works hard to keep the place up which can't be easy in the middle of nowhere. She is very protective of her property. I like the price and the ease of the place. It's true that it isn't as fancy as Boulder Mountain Lodge, but I had hot water at Poles while my friends at Boulder Mountain ran out of hot water. My room was quiet in the wind and their door rattled and kept them awake all night. I drove to the door of my room, they dragged their gear up to the second story.

No pool, no fitness center. Go for a hike and jump in the river. It's a beautiful area.

This was the fourth time I've stayed there. I'll stick with Poles Place. Oh yeah, try the enchiladas at the Burr Trail Grill.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YosemiteKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Called the Friday before Easter and they kindly told us they had room - until we said we had a child. The manager proceeded to tell us she was not accepting kids at that time as there was a large party and did not want to disturb them. Ummm??? Must be nice that she is doing great in this economy and can pick and choose her guests.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at Pole's Place for a night because there was no space at the Boulder Mountain Lodge. These two places can't be compared, neither in the experience nor the price. It's much cheaper but not nearly as nice. It suited us as a place to flop for a night before backpacking, but it is certainly not a destination in itself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andnobodyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

A friend and I were traveling in southern UT and had reservations at the nearby Boulder Mountain Lodge for 2 nights. We didn't want to leave this stunningly beautiful area and chose to stay at Poles Place our 3rd night. Camile, the owner, is a delight. She told us some interesting stories of her family, the motel and this area. The rooms are simple but clean and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat-in-OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had a pleasant one night stay at Poles Place in Boulder. The room was basic, but clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't expect a lot out of the country motel and found the place to be as others have described. There are a lot of "no" rules around, but after a conversation with the inn-keeper, it was obvious these have become necessary due to thoughtless other guests. Personally, I appreciate a no smoking/no pets motel because it means the rooms are cleaner and more pleasant for me. I also appreciated her attention to the outside appearance of the motel. The coreopsis were in bloom everywhere. One nice surprise was some of the softest towels I have ever experienced in a hotel, including some very nice hotels.

One downside to the motel is that the walls are very thin. If you are a light sleeper and your neighbor snores, you will most likely be annoyed. This wasn't a problem for me, but I did drift off to the sounds of conversation in the next room.

It's a good idea to make reservations. The nearest towns are over 40 minutes away in either direction over mountain roads and there aren't a lot of options in Boulder. If you plan to eat at Hell's Backbone Grill and have a glass of wine, you'll want to stay local. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diinslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch
0.0 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.0 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cowboy Homestead Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poles Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poles Place

Property: Poles Place
Address: Scenic Highway 12, Boulder, UT 84716
Location: United States > Utah > Boulder
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Poles Place Boulder, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing