We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & overrated !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2009

On our way from Moab to Bryce Canyon we stayed 1 night in the Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, and we were glad to go the next morning !
First of all, it is located far from the main road, and was difficult to find because of a lack of illumination on the dirtroad in the evening.
I had made an advance reservation for a double room with private bath by email, but the girl who checked us in claimed to know nothing about it. So my husband and I were put in room nr 6 in the main lodge, which had 2 bunkbeds and a shared bathroom outside.
It was outrageous: the room was very small and dirty and the door could not be locked (there aren't any locks on any of the rooms in the main lodge). The door hung 5 cm above the floor, so the light from the hall shone brightly underneath. The window had no curtains and there was only a small lightbulb on the ceiling which gave insufficient light if you wanted to read. The beds had very flat pilows, crumpled sheets, very thin bedspreads and they squeeked. The walls were thin and you hear everything what went on in the other rooms.
The kitchen was absolutely dirty, although the guy who cooked did a fine job.
As there is absolutely nothing to do in the evening (no TV), you are supposed to socialize with the rest of the people in the common rooms. We were forced to listen to the noise of a couple of guests who were drunk and/or stoned and played awful music on their laptop till early in the morning and wouldn't shut up even when asked nicely.
So, AWFUL hotel, NOT worth the 80,60 Us dollar (incl. tax and excl. breakfast), only fit for hippies and horsebackriders who are not too picky.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 174 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2009

We loved this place. It is definitely off the beaten path. We stayed in one of the cabins and grilled our own dinner. They had a charcoal grill and a fire pit. It's on a beautiful plot of land and you really feel like you are out in the middle of nature. No other lights for miles - so we had an incredible view of the stars. We also did the horseback riding - 2 hour ride for beginners - and had a great time. Such a unique way to see the scenery. We would definitely go back to this place. And it's just close enough to Hell's Backbone Grill to get a great meal there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mndcinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

If you like creepy this would be the place. Room came with a lock on the outside, and none on the inside. Dirty, dirty, spider webs with dead flies, animal droppings under the bed, complete with creepy rocking chair. We didn't stay the night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lawyer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Web site is nice, but lacks details...like no tv, no phones or cell service, and the cabins are surrounded by dirt. Beds we hard and cabins were not very clean. Found left over cereal box and marshmellows in grocery bag in cupboard. The food service area was not inviting and the much wanted massage was never even and option after seeing the ranch. The horses looked ok, but over all experience left much wanting. Sorry but your customers need to know what they are getting into before paying and then arriving and not being satisfied and then being locked into the deal, by the cancellation policy like we were.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UtahSisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Coming from Bryce and on our way to Moab, we stayed there for one night.
Bed is ultra comfortable and indeed there is no AC. Fortunately, the weather was cool so it was not a problem. Staff is very welcoming. Dinner is served at the Ranch and activities seems to come easily.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This place is magical. The staff was as incredible as the formations. Nicole, Todd Lava and Roland's food made things really great for our group. Breck and Becky... Horse rides, WOW! Hells Backbone Grill is so close too. In 2 words... LOVED IT!! thank you. Basically, a life changing experience.

-Scott Ashley

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boulderbeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I love this place. Went with my girlfriend and a couple of friends. We stayed in a cozy cabin that had its' own bathroom and had great wild west feel. Spent a few days hiking in the Escalante National Monument and some time in the Dixie NF. The ranch is magically located only a few miles from an amazingly green forest and then just a few miles above the deep red rock canyons. It's like the best of both worlds. The area has so much to explore and the ranch is a great home base. The ranch style menu is perfect for after a long day exploring in the wilderness. Not a place I would recommend if you want to watch T.V. or stay tethered to you lap top. The service staff was super helpful and it seems like they have been doing many upgrades to the ranch. Going to be back with more friends!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertTiaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder
10.7 mi away
Canyon Country Lodge
Canyon Country Lodge
#2 of 4 in Escalante
21 reviews
10.8 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
10.7 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#4 of 9 in Escalante
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Inn of Escalante
The Inn of Escalante
#6 of 9 in Escalante
120 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch

Address: 3621 Hells Backbone Road, P.O. Box 1373, Boulder, UT 84716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Boulder
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range: $80 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch is located off the famous Highway 12 on Hell's Backbone Road between Capitol Reef and Bryce Canyon. We are a rustic and quaint lodge with cabins and luxury camping available as well. We have an onsite restaurant called the Sweetwater Kitchen, named after the lovely creek that runs through our property. Hell's Last Outpost is our general store where you can enjoy a cold beverage, trail maps, and art from local artists. We have an onsite hike to a beautiful waterfall where you can enjoy a nice picnic lunch from the Sweetwater Kitchen. All of our rooms are unique to themselves, displaying art of the local canyon country. Take a walk through our garden where you will see your dinner growing for that evening and enjoy a nice hot shower in our living solar shower made from growing willows. Don't forget to call ahead for guide outfitting and horseback riding! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing