We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the ranch for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago. The people who work there are very nice and accommodating. The food- beyond excellent. We ate breakfast there in the morning and the granola and bread were fantastic. We ate dinner there both nights and would have eaten there every night if we'd stayed longer. We stayed in the upper suite where there are 2 bedrooms, a private bath and a private patio with an amazing view. The ranch itself is simply spectacular - from wherever you sit the view is astonishing. We will be back.

Room Tip: The upper suite is fine but the kitchen is below the room so if the smell of cooking bothers you, ke...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed one night in the room with private bathroom in the main lodge. The Ranch is at the end of an unpaved road off Hwy 12, with beautiful scenery and landscapes. Staff was very welcoming and gave us some hiking ideas on the property. The common room at the lodge is tastily decorated, there are board games and a telescope to pass the evening. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. There are also cookbooks to read if you want to pass some time. From our room we could see horses running and the lovely organic veggie garden. We really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank LadyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our group of 8 spent a welcome night here after a week of hiking in Capitol Reef National Park. The Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch is easy to reach from Highway 12 and is located in a pretty setting. There are multiple showers with plenty of hot water. The restaurant at the lodge serves a variety of well-prepared meals. The bunkhouse is perfect for a large group looking to spend an affordable night. The staff are helpful and friendly. I recommend this accommodation without hesitation and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miller_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Ironically we didn't plan on staying here....we found it by accident while staying in Escalante - my husband is English and had never visited Utah - so it is a must see! Having a very stressful business our desire was for rest and relaxation and that is exactly what we found. We stayed In The private cabins and also had a wonderful 2 nights in the teepee...btw they are extremely dog friendly which helped tremendously! The owner and manager, Brandy is friendly, helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The prices are extremely reasonable and the views are outstanding and you have the remoteness of a perfect getaway AND the convenience of so many great hikes, walks and amazing scenery nearby. I highly recommend it!! We will be back!

Room Tip: If you are a couple go for the teepee.....if you have children - definitely the private cabins....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyD7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a lovely three nights at the lodge. Comfy bed, in a cozy room in the log cabin lodge. Cabins are also available if you require more privacy. Beautiful views, hiking out the door, and very nice staff. Nice horses just next door to get out for a ride in some beautiful country with a knowledgeable guide Breck or his wife. Delicious homemade granola. This was their shoulder season and just getting up and running, we had a great time--and loved the easy, laid back feel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My fiance booked our stay at the Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, so I had no idea what to expect. I was a little wary, as I'm afraid I've become spoiled through never-ending business travel. We loved it! We felt as though we were totally off the beaten path. We loved the special touches like the little hike down to the waterfall and the silo "theater". Our cabin was basic, but we really enjoyed sitting on the porch in the morning and in the evening enjoying coffee or a drink and a good book. We had enough privacy but also felt like we were part of a little community. The garden on property and the restaurant and common lounging area were all very enjoyable. Delicious dinner. Finally, we enjoyed being able to take small road trips to some of the parks and then head back. I will warn that there is a very carefree vibe among the staff and many of the guests, and if you are looking for attention to detail or quick service, this isn't the place. If you can get into the same relaxed frame of mind, you'll feel very rejuvenated when you leave. This was an incredible value, and I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stasia3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently stayed at one of their cabins -- perfect for an adventure. The ranch is close to Rt 12 yet far enough away to give you the seclusion and privacy you would expect. Our cabin was clean, comfortable, well appointed (loved the rock shower), and equipped with not just a wood stove but also an electric heater. A drive up the Hell's Backbone Road to the bridge is a must -- the views are spectacular. Then, after seeing the sights, the food at the "Sweetwater Kitchen" was amazing -- first class culinary delights. I had the pork chop special cooked with apples, fennel and onion -- makes me hungry just thinking about it. The pace at the restaurant was what you would expect -- relaxed and slow paced. After dinner, we sat in the great room to check emails, etc. and then were escorted back to our cabin by one very friendly pup. Great experience; and did I mention it is a great value for the money???

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder
10.8 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
10.6 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
243 reviews
9.4 mi away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#4 of 9 in Escalante
60 reviews
10.8 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
10.7 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#5 of 9 in Escalante
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch

Address: 3621 Hells Backbone Road, P.O. Box 1373, Boulder, UT 84716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Boulder
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range: $72 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch is located off the famous Highway 12 on Hell's Backbone Road between Capitol Reef and Bryce Canyon. We are a rustic and quaint lodge with cabins and luxury camping available as well. We have an onsite restaurant called the Sweetwater Kitchen, named after the lovely creek that runs through our property. Hell's Last Outpost is our general store where you can enjoy a cold beverage, trail maps, and art from local artists. We have an onsite hike to a beautiful waterfall where you can enjoy a nice picnic lunch from the Sweetwater Kitchen. All of our rooms are unique to themselves, displaying art of the local canyon country. Take a walk through our garden where you will see your dinner growing for that evening and enjoy a nice hot shower in our living solar shower made from growing willows. Don't forget to call ahead for guide outfitting and horseback riding! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing