We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boulder Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

This place was recommended to us by a Boulder resident--we were originally planning to stay in another location to visit the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument. We were really glad we took our friend's advice. The Lodge was a real treat for us. We had a deluxe--i.e., huge--room since that was the only thing available to us. It is very nicely appointed with good furniture and the views are great. Ours looked out on a wetland. There is interesting literature and information about the area in the room. There's a hot tub, which we didn't try. The location couldn't have been better. Boulder is a collection of a few buildings and residences, including two restaurants. It's at the northwest end of the Monument, but a beautiful location. The ride between Escalante and Boulder on Rte. 12 is spectacular. So both the location and the lodging were perfect.

One of the best things about the Lodge is the restaurant on the grounds, Hell's Backbone Grill. It's a little pricey for eating out regularly, but we couldn't resist. While we were told the other restaurant in town is good, too, and a little more down home from what I gather, we couldn't resist returning to Hell's Backbone for well-cooked meals with produce from their garden, local meats, etc.. If you plan to arrive at dinner time during a busy season, the Lodge will make reservations for you.

  • Liked — Its rustic location and design
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VtTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    83
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
75
195
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

We stayed here on a road trip from Los Angeles to Boston. The hotel is in a tiny town with not much else there except it's en route to Moab. The highlight of our stay, and one of the highlights of the whole trip, was the Hells Backbone Restaurant. Honestly, it is worth travelling to Utah for. Another reviewer thought the resturant was the hotel's downfall, he couldn't understand the expensive menu... I couldn't disagree more. It is a little expensive, but firstly, the waiters are extremely knowledgeable, and secondly the food is OUT OF THIS WORLD. I can't speak highly enough of this restaurant.

The room was large, clean, with a big patio.

Would I go back? IN A HEARTBEAT.

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tralee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlochen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

This summer, my best friend and I took a roadtrip from New Mexico through Utah, hitting all the major National Parks, and some other wonderful state parks (Utah has many incredible state parks, that definitely bear looking into). The highlight of our trip, in terms of lodging and food, was the night we spent at Boulder Mountain Lodge.
After a week in the hot, dry Utah red rock desert, ascending up Boulder Mountain and its ponderosa pine forests, was a welcome, cooling relief. The Lodge is designed to fit in with its surroundings, so it is rustic but elegant, with sublte and exquisite details. The grounds made us feel like we were at the country home of a rich friend with very good taste and no prentensions). Our room was luxuriously spacious, comfortably furnished, and generously provided with every amenity we could imagine. We also had a balcony directly overlooking a lake that serves as a bird sanctuary. It was all so nice the only problem was deciding whether to relax indoors or outdoors.
My friend and I are not accustomed to staying in expensive hotels, but we felt like we were in a 4 star resort, and at only $130 a night, we felt very lucky indeed.
On site is the Hell's Backbone Grill, which is one of the reasons we wanted to stay here. You know how when you've been looking forward to something for months and your expectations are so ridiculously high that they couldn't possibly be met? Well... not only did the restaurant not disappoint, our expectations seemed miniscule compared to the reality of our experience there. The total dining experience ( at both dinner and breakfast the next morning) were among the best we have ever experienced, in this country or abroad. Exquisite food (all of it local and organic, since the restaurant like the Lodge is Green with a capital G), lovingly prepared and presented not only with no attitude but with such warmth we didn't want to leave, even to go back to our beautiful room. I could go on and on for many pages about the specifics of our meals, from the ambience, the service, the food, ( all beyond outstanding), but suffice it to say the Boulder Mountain Lodge and Hell's Backbone Grill are the new standards by which every place we stay and eat will be judged.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TYMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France 31
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

On the way between Bryce Canyon NP to Moab NP (Arches NP & Canyonlands NP), a fantastic lodge with all amenities required for a nice stay. Large and clean rooms with TV (with DVD player and DVDs at the front desk for free), microwave & refrigerator.
No problem with reservation and check-in.
We made a large load of clothes washed for 7$ only, which were ready at the front desk less than 2 hours after.
Weather was quite bad and we really enjoyed the tub, which perfectly worked in a peaceful location.

The restaurant in the hotel is also very good. Home made kitchen, the finest we found in Utah.

Really a good deal, you won't regret your money !

P.S. Don't hesitate to make a bend to drive along Boulder Trail, up to Long Canyon.

  • Liked — Hot tub
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djaidje31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

Pleasant, spacious rooms. Nice grounds. A great restaurant on the property (separately owned), with a two more casual restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

We spent two nights at this property this July. It is quite unique in that it is an eco-system with a bird sanctuary, is pet friendly and very, very casual. The rooms are spacious, there are nice toiletries provided and it is in nice surroundings. However, we stayed in two separate rooms and our feeling was that housekeeping here was, well, rather unkempt. I immediately went to work sanitizing the first night's room. Black mold growing around tub, bathtub itself showed decent aging, the room (TV screen and TV, shelves, above microwave, etc.) were in severe need of a good dusting, mirrors were heavily smeared, entrance porch was dirty with dirt/leaves, etc. It just needed to have better daily maintenance in our opinion. I also sanitized the second night's room as well and there were still some dusty areas but not as bad as room #1.

  • Liked — The on-site restaurant
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank huggrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

Our first visit won't be our last. The lodge had everything we wanted - great rooms, a perfect location, and a wonderful staff. We particularly liked the view of the pond with all the wildlife in the morning. The restaurant was excellent. Make dinner reservations in advance if possible. We also enjoyed watching the stars from the hot tub. It was the perfect romantic getaway. The trip to get there, along Highway 12, was breathtaking! We could spend weeks exploring the area.

  • Liked — Wonderful lodge in scenic location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MA-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
13.5 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
4.6 mi away
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
13.2 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Escalante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
13.4 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Escalante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Lodge

Property: Boulder Mountain Lodge
Address: 20 N Highway 12, Boulder, UT 84716
Location: United States > Utah > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boulder Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder Mountain Lodge is located in the middle of Utah’s scenic red rock canyon country. This nationally recognized luxury lodge provides everything for a fabulous getaway - spacious rooms, intimate ambiance, unparalleled views, fine dining, and an impressive array of services and amenities. There is not a better setting for your family vacation, meeting, reunion, or romantic getaway. The Lodge is the home of the award winning Hell's Backbone Grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Lodge Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing