We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clever gift shop, good location”

Anasazi Indian Village State Park
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Boulder
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park has a self-guided trail through a village that was inhabited a thousand years ago.
Logan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clever gift shop, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Small "museum", great small gift shop and excellent service, would go back to see new things. Excellent location, convient.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank anabaezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    52
    25
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Price, Utah
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“neat suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

passing through went for a pit stop paid the $10 to see the musean quite nice and then the walk through the ruins. pretty amazing could use some more explanations but probably in a book we didn't buy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
366 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“An interesting insight into the story of the Anasazi people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Regardless of whether or not you've been to Mesa Verde or Chaco Canyon, this modest-sized museum and archaeological exhibit is worth a visit. The museum has a particularly interesting video which tells the Anasazi story and ties together this site to those better known ones. Over the past decade, the understanding that the so-called Anasazi were ancestors of today's pueblo tribes has become widely accepted. This was not the case when we first toured Mesa Verde and it was interesting to understand the current interpretation. Contrary to what was said in the previous review, there is a relatively small admission charge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank docj9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

On the road from Bryce to Capitol Reef you might be looking for a rest stop. I suggest the Anasazi Museum in Boulder. I know it sounds strange but if you just need a rest (not food) this is the place. They have clean rest rooms and you might enjoy the exhibits on the way in and out. Of course, the admission is free.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlCYonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting to See”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We went out of our way to visit this state park as we had no prior knowledge of this culture and thought it would be interesting. One of the great things about traveling here was driving from Zion National Park to this park on Highway 12. If you don't enjoy the state park itself, you'll enjoy the drive there. I don't mind cost if it is going to preserving and exploring such treasures, and I don't think the entrance fee is unreasonable. It wasn't the most exciting stop on my trip, but I do have a deep appreciation for those who have a passion for history and its preservation so this enhanced my visit personally speaking. There is a neat part of the grounds (outside before getting to the protected ruins) where there are still pieces of artifacts/pottery that they leave undisturbed for visitors to find (look at not take). And there are the ruins that have been uncovered along with the indoor exhibits. As of May 2012, entrance fee was $5 per individual, $3 per seniors (62+), or $10 per family. Go with the intention of reading and learning from the info on the indoor exhibits along with exploring the ruins.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DOChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anasazi Indian Village State Park also viewed

 

Been to Anasazi Indian Village State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing