We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere; So-so Steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottonwood Steakhouse

Cottonwood Steakhouse
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Bluff
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cottonwood Steakhouse serves delicious, flame-grilled, USDA choice steaks. We also serve BBQ, chicken, fish and chops, as well as vegetarian selections. Dine indoors or outdoors in our courtyard under our beautiful cottonwood tree. Choose a craft beer or wine to complement your meal. Be sure to save room for dessert! We offer a selection of homemade pies made from heirloom recipes nightly.
Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere; So-so Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

In Bluff, this is THE place for dinner (it is actually one of only two restaurants that I could find).

There is indoor seating but I recommend that, weather permitting, you enjoy the outdoor area under the huge cottonwood tree. Relax and sip a beverage of your choice while waiting for your meal. The service is very good with attentive staff.

My steak was OK but not anything special but don't let that stop you from enjoying a very interesting and enjoyable location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank beedub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    212
    54
    35
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
607 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food was excellent, the service was great and the owners have collected a number of interesting things on display. We sat outside and listened to Country and Western music while enjoying a great meal, with wine (remember you are in Utah).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“OK food, but way overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let's get to the chase- the town of Bluff is located in a remote corner of Utah and this is really the only 'real' restaurant in town. As such, they charge really outrageous prices for average food. Our family of five ate here for $120! The food was OK, but I'd expect real white shirts and linen table clothes for this price anywhere else. But here you get t-shirts, so-so service, and average food. One of these days someone else will open a reasonably priced restaurant in Bluff and put the others out of business.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yousah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner at The Cottonwood Steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was probably the very best meal I had during my entire visit to the Monument Valley area. The owners and staff are tremendously friendly and gracious. The food is very good quality and well presented and prepared. You cannot miss sampling the homemade pies; they are incredible. Lovely country western atmosphere sitting outside in the garden courtyard!! I truly enjoyed this meal in lovely Bluff, Utah!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Italexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Splendid steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the Cottonwood Steak House.
The food was tasty and quickly served. The service was friendly and courteous. The restaurant was very busy and had a great atmosphere. The meal was good value too.

A recommended restaurant in the Bluff area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLYTHEW0RLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottonwood Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing