We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BUZZ”

Wild Rivers Expeditions
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Bluff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rafting trips, ranging from one to eight days, on the San Juan and Colorado Rivers that combine learning about the history and natural environment with fun.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Their website mentions the use of a motor. . . if water flows are low. I believe they use the motors much more often than not - 26 miles is a long way to row. It is like the buzz of a chain saw the whole trip. The guide Greg was congenial & knowledgeable. The website also mentions the mouth watering sandwiches / chips & lunch. NOT ! !. We had pasta salad, peanut butter & jelly, cookies, crackers & cheese. I was charged $175 X 3 for the trip, yet the website said $165. I brought this to their attention afterwards and they said it was last year's page. I told them they needed to update the whole page considering the lunch disappointment.

3  Thank JI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildRiversExp, Owner at Wild Rivers Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you very much for boating with us and sharing your input here, as well as in our office after the trip and in our customer survey. We are very sorry to find that you were disappointed in the experience and that our immediate willingness to refund the difference in trip pricing was not a satisfactory response. Our trip fares changed at the beginning of 2013 and our records show that all pages associated with the website and advertising were updated by the end of January. When your trip reservation was made in mid-March you were quoted the 2013 rate. Clearly, despite these measures there was some form of misunderstanding for which we sincerely apologize. We've also looked carefully at all notes on the page concerning motor use and lunches to understand how we might have communicated insufficiently to create an expectation on your part that was not accurate for the trip as you experienced it. Lunches are described to include homemade salads and sandwiches. Generally, the pasta salad is one of our most favored lunch meals by passengers and we are regret that you did not enjoy it. Finally, our notes do indicate always that we row boats for the day trip at high water levels and that it is motorized in lower water. The San Juan, by nature is a low water river, and it is indeed most often a motorized trip. This year, with notably low winter precipitation and snow pack totals throughout the watershed, and water conservation measures in place at Navajo Dam upstream of us, we do not expect to see high enough water to row the daily at all. In other years, we have done so for as long as 8 weeks of our season. In the end, we are most sorry to find that our trip did not meet your expectations and that our efforts to address the concerns that you presented to us afterwards have not succeeded in alleviating your disappointment. We'll hope that you find more fulfilling experiences in future travel. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a boat trip on the San Juan River from Bluff to Mexican Hat on May 2013 with our 11 years' old daughter. This part of the trip is a level 3 River, and it was just what we were looking for, some rapids but not huge one. Our guide, Marcus, contributed highly in making our trip a great moment. He gave us many geologist explanations on the area and we also hiked to an ancient anazasi river ruins called the Snake House...it was really beautiful...the lunch was delicious, and we saw wildlife during our trip...many bighorn sheep, great blue herons, wild geese, ibis birds...we appreciated the warm welcome of Jessica at the agency...we definitely recommend this activity.

Thank zainamoselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My 7 yr-old daughter and I really enjoyed spending the day on the San Juan River with Marcus. He is an extremely knowledgeable guide and competent river pilot. We enjoyed the walks to the petroglyphs and cliff dwellings and learning the stories behind both. Lunch was great and my daughter especially loved the swim stops! We look forward to coming back again.

2  Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've had the fantastic luck to have taken four 3-day trips down the San Juan with WR over the last 5 years. Each year, I've had new guides. Each year, along with me and the guides are 10-12 high school students I bring with me from all over the world. Some can swim, some can't. some have peanut allergies, gluten intolerances, or are vegetarian--it never makes any difference to the WR staff as far as how well they feed as. The students all come off the river well fed, well taken care of and really well educated about the river ecosystem and history. The day hikes are challenging, but not grueling. The guides are laid back about everything you want them to be, but serious about safety (which is great for first time rafters). Plus, they're just FUN.
This year, one of my students left his phone behind in one of the vans by accident. The WR staff was totally on top of it, sent us his phone, and didn't even charge us for the shipping or the trouble.
Simply put, they are everything a business should be and a real class act.

1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The water levels were low and so this was a day long, gentle , semi motorized drift down the San Juan river. We had a the opportunity to see the fantastic petroglyphs at Butler's Wash, the abandoned cliff dwellings and some wild big horn sheep. Our river guides Marcus and his young daughter Elena were professional and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the explanations of the geological structures we were travelling through and the explanations of the symbolism involved in the petroglyphs. I subsequently learned that the spiral motif may be related the Hopi agricultural tradition of planting maize in spiral furrows as a means to conserve water. The landscape is stunning and by doing a trip here, we were were much better able to understand the structure and formation of both Monument Valley and the Grand Canyon. We also liked Marcus's insider commentary of the Navajo / Hollywood acting tradition, especially the dialogue inputs !! Lunch was delicious and the our transportation to and from the river very well organized. A highly recommended day trip. We even went swimming in the river !!!

1  Thank RobertIanKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Rivers Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Wild Rivers Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing