We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax & Stay Awhile”
Review of Recapture Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bluff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Recapture Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bluff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great family run motel in a rustic setting, very well kept. The evaporative system worked well at 90 degrees in May with no noise and no stuffy air. The rooms are under cottonwood trees with lovely shade. Sit outside, relax and read a book. Or jump in the outdoor pool. We needed a break after a couple of weeks on the road and were glad we found this place. Comfortable beds and very quiet. Rooms have fridge and microwave. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 417 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We needed a place just overnight. The price was great! The rooms are fairly large, comfortable, homey and clean and quiet. The evaporative system worked good for us. Some folks might want it cooler but our room stayed at around 70. Picturesque in the red stone bluffs with a good,not fancy restaurant to walk to right across the street. Fridge and microwave and TV. Lots of trees. The main office/lounge/ breakfast area has hummingbirds right out the window. Books to read-fiction and non fiction- and geological info for the area. The continental breakfast plain, good and all you need to start your morning, located in the lounge area with cool old fashioned diamond paned windows. Owners so friendly to talk to. Nice after a long day on the road. Did not use the pool but it looked great too and in a private area so not to disturb guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Though not fancy by any stretch, we enjoyed immensely our stay here. The rooms are plain but comfortable. Another reviewer was upset about the room being hot but I was there during a heat wave and the room was definitely cool enough with the evaporative system ( people sit outside sometimes on chairs on the balcony in the evening just because it's so lovely there, not because it's too hot in the room). I really liked that the pool and spa were easily accessible across the small parking lot, and didn't close down at night (as long as guests are quiet). What I thought was so charming was the fact that the owners had put together a multitude of binders with information about all the surrounding sights - fascinating to read. Breakfast was basic but adequate. There is great food at the grill across the street. The rates were reasonable enough to get a separate room for the kids. This is not your sterile chain hotel but a living breathing home.

Room Tip: Upstairs is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walterandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed at this motel twice now. It is not a fancy chain hotel but it IS a great little place. The rooms are fairly large and the bathroom is big as well. The beds are not the best, but you do get a good nights' sleep. There is a pool with a nice landscaped area of roses. Humming birds abound here as they have feeders everywhere! This is a relatively quiet place. A wonderful trail leads from the motel right down to the edge of the San Juan River. It is a wonderful walk and to be at river's edge and looking across and monumental cliffs is worth a picture or two. They offer a free breakfast here to get you going on your way. The Twin Rocks restaurant is right down the road as well.

Room Tip: Any room here is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was trying to stretch the driving to make it to Chinle, but got tired and stopped at Recapture Inn. What a MISTAKE I should have just stayed in my car. The employee running the front desk failed to mention until after we paid that they run off of an "Evaporative System" to cool the place. It was a 105 that day and the room was CRAZY hot. It was unbareable. There were people outside sitting in chairs outside their rooms until 2am because it was so hot in the rooms. The I actually opened up the small fridge in the room in hopes it would cool it down. The parking lot is trashy, and is a dirt lot. Pool is nowhere near the rooms and you have to walk through a the dirt lot to get to it. NEVER EVER EVER STAY HERE. Pay the extra money and go somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Whenever I go rafting down the San Juan River in Southern Utah and near Monument Valley, I stay at the Recapture Lodge in Bluff. This is a budget motel with all the amenities including a pool and grills. The rooms are pleasant, everything works, and for $69/night for 2 people it's a bargain. You can walk to any of the restaurants in town and, more importantly, to the Wild Rivers Expedition office to raft just a half block away. I've always found the owners to be pleasant and helpful. On my last trip the motel was booked solid and when a room came open they called me and my trip went smoothly. My last visit they allowed my dog to stay at no extra charge but you should check with the owners about their current per policy. If you're an avid hiker and explorer, the areas along the San Juan are rich in native people's archeology and the scenery, while stark at times, is also breath taking.You might want to read Tony Hiillerman's novel "A thief of Time" since much of the action takes place along the San Juan and is beautifully described.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were told to try this Lodge by a charming man at Bluff Information Centre, and it was a lot cheaper than staying nearer Monument Valley and a lot of personal attention.
The check in was very friendly and informative. Th room was okay, needed some TLC with the towels a bit worn but it was clean and had a little kitchenette with utensils etc.
It was a scorching hot day and after hiking and a long drive, we went straight to the pool to cool off. The outdoor pool was really good and we enjoyed just lounging around the pool to relax.
The room was comfortable but not very modern, a bit homely.
We liked the breakfast which consisted of juice, cereal (including porridge), bagels, fresh fruit, yoghurt, peanut butter and toast.
The best part was watching the humming birds just outside the breakfast room window. We don't get hummingbirds in the UK so we were very excited.
Another nice thing was having proper mugs, cutlery and crockery (not plastic and polystyrene).
This may be a small thing but I don't like eating out of plastic and also being green.
This place does not give you mod cons but gives you a personal touch and is in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluff
0.8 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
0.1 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
251 reviews
24.1 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#6 of 7 in Blanding
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
255 reviews
23.3 mi away
Super 8 Blanding
Super 8 Blanding
#2 of 7 in Blanding
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recapture Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recapture Lodge

Address: U.s 191, 220 E. Main, Bluff, UT 84512-0309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Bluff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bluff
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Recapture Hotel Bluff
Recapture Lodge Bluff, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing