We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
188
168
58
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
168
58
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the san juan river monument valley four corners fellow guests mesa verde yogurt rooms are basic hot tub place to stay road trip bed was comfortable small town fridge and microwave grand canyon nice breakfast utah trail
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 437 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We needed a place just overnight. The price was great! The rooms are fairly large, comfortable, homey and clean and quiet. The evaporative system worked good for us. Some folks might want it cooler but our room stayed at around 70. Picturesque in the red stone bluffs with a good,not fancy restaurant to walk to right across the street. Fridge and microwave and TV. Lots of trees. The main office/lounge/ breakfast area has hummingbirds right out the window. Books to read-fiction and non fiction- and geological info for the area. The continental breakfast plain, good and all you need to start your morning, located in the lounge area with cool old fashioned diamond paned windows. Owners so friendly to talk to. Nice after a long day on the road. Did not use the pool but it looked great too and in a private area so not to disturb guests.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Though not fancy by any stretch, we enjoyed immensely our stay here. The rooms are plain but comfortable. Another reviewer was upset about the room being hot but I was there during a heat wave and the room was definitely cool enough with the evaporative system ( people sit outside sometimes on chairs on the balcony in the evening just because it's so lovely there, not because it's too hot in the room). I really liked that the pool and spa were easily accessible across the small parking lot, and didn't close down at night (as long as guests are quiet). What I thought was so charming was the fact that the owners had put together a multitude of binders with information about all the surrounding sights - fascinating to read. Breakfast was basic but adequate. There is great food at the grill across the street. The rates were reasonable enough to get a separate room for the kids. This is not your sterile chain hotel but a living breathing home.

Room tip: Upstairs is nice
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walterandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed at this motel twice now. It is not a fancy chain hotel but it IS a great little place. The rooms are fairly large and the bathroom is big as well. The beds are not the best, but you do get a good nights' sleep. There is a pool with a nice landscaped area of roses. Humming birds abound here as they have feeders everywhere! This is a relatively quiet place. A wonderful trail leads from the motel right down to the edge of the San Juan River. It is a wonderful walk and to be at river's edge and looking across and monumental cliffs is worth a picture or two. They offer a free breakfast here to get you going on your way. The Twin Rocks restaurant is right down the road as well.

Room tip: Any room here is good.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was trying to stretch the driving to make it to Chinle, but got tired and stopped at Recapture Inn. What a MISTAKE I should have just stayed in my car. The employee running the front desk failed to mention until after we paid that they run off of an "Evaporative System" to cool the place. It was a 105 that day and the room was CRAZY hot. It was unbareable. There were people outside sitting in chairs outside their rooms until 2am because it was so hot in the rooms. The I actually opened up the small fridge in the room in hopes it would cool it down. The parking lot is trashy, and is a dirt lot. Pool is nowhere near the rooms and you have to walk through a the dirt lot to get to it. NEVER EVER EVER STAY HERE. Pay the extra money and go somewhere else!!!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoadTripKing40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Whenever I go rafting down the San Juan River in Southern Utah and near Monument Valley, I stay at the Recapture Lodge in Bluff. This is a budget motel with all the amenities including a pool and grills. The rooms are pleasant, everything works, and for $69/night for 2 people it's a bargain. You can walk to any of the restaurants in town and, more importantly, to the Wild Rivers Expedition office to raft just a half block away. I've always found the owners to be pleasant and helpful. On my last trip the motel was booked solid and when a room came open they called me and my trip went smoothly. My last visit they allowed my dog to stay at no extra charge but you should check with the owners about their current per policy. If you're an avid hiker and explorer, the areas along the San Juan are rich in native people's archeology and the scenery, while stark at times, is also breath taking.You might want to read Tony Hiillerman's novel "A thief of Time" since much of the action takes place along the San Juan and is beautifully described.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews