We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with lots of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone Lizard Lodging
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Some Units w/kitchens ... and at least a fridge,coffee maker and microwave. Some units are dog friendly. But the best was the owner, Craig Simpson. Not only did he help "jump" my car but gave us a wealth of info on local hikes. I highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 526 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Blanding is a nice little inexpensive town to base from and the Stone Lizard is the place to stay. Clean rooms, good bed and quiet. Locally owned and not a big chain. The owners are very nice and helpful with info about the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingmaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Sone Lizard Lodging is a nice, quiet little motel in the bland town of Blanding. The rooms have character, are clean and cozy and the service is good. We stayed in a suite with kitchen and two bedrooms with our two year old. He had a great time playing in the courtyard and overall it was a relaxing place to stay which felt very homey. The bathroom could use some sprucing up, grout is a bit worn out in the tub, but everything works well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Robson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Tis place is really cute and the folks are super friendly. The bathroom in our room was disgusting... Mold and mildew al over the shower stall...yuck! They need to rip all of the grout and caulk out od the shower and replace it, simple as that! I showered in flip flops because it was so gross. If this wasn't the case, I would have given a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Take a tour of your room before you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoneLizard, Owner at Stone Lizard Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for the heads up on the problem in one of our rooms. We strive to keep our rooms clean, and in good shape, but obviously we let this bathroom grout get away from us. We replaced the bathroom tile flooring during our remodel, but the tile between the shower and stall did have a problem. After you brought it to our attention last week, we took the room offline that day, stripped the grouting and caulking and re-grouted it. We appreciate you staying with us, and we encourage all of our potential guests to always check out our rooms before they stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very nice motel. We booked the "Executive Suite" and what a pleasant surprise! An amazing amount of space. Two queen bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, wood floors, nicely decorated. Beds and other furniture were very comfortable. Clean and well supplied. The bathroom was certainly adequate, but not up to the level of the rest of the suite - not a complaint, just an observation. Craig (owner) and staff were very helpful throughout our stay. Without question, we'll stay here next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobfrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Loved this little 50/60's style motel. We were on our way to Moab, UT and stayed over one night in Blanding. Couldn't have asked for more. Owner was helpful, friendly and a great host. Our rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and outside lawn chairs a real nice addition for relaxing after a long ride from Flagstaff, AZ.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were traveling south out of Moab on the way to Sedona and found the Stone Lizard Lodge. We got the last room available, the Executive Suite, with two separate bedrooms, kitchen with full size refrigerator and freezer large enough to freeze all of our 1/2 gallon water jugs. Kitchen was well appointed and even had spices and basics in the cupboard. If you're going to cook in, get your groceries in one of the larger markets in Moab since there isn't much of anything in Blanding. An old fashioned bathroom with tub/shower and pedestal sink with upscale shampoo/conditioner/soap. Bathroom had a window that actually opened. Beds were very comfortable. Bedrooms were separate with doors on each.
Large living area with table and two chairs to dine at. The owners will bring you ice on request, we got a huge bag like the ones you buy in the grocery store for your ice chests, no extra charge. Craig was a fountain of knowledge for hiking and places you won't find on the maps.
Quiet, and quaint. Only noise was the fountain that was running all night close to our door. We'll book here again for sure if we ever travel this way again.

Room Tip: Executive suite with two separate bedrooms with doors was quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanding
24.4 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.1 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 6 in Monticello
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn &Suites
Rodeway Inn &Suites
#4 of 7 in Blanding
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#6 of 7 in Blanding
173 reviews
24.1 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Blanding
Super 8 Blanding
#2 of 7 in Blanding
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Lizard Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Lizard Lodging

Address: 88 W Center St, Blanding, UT 84511-3704 (Formerly Blanding Sunset Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Blanding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Price Range: $82 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Lizard Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 1940's, and Blanding's first motel, our quiet, restful, home-like adobe lodging is located in the heart of downtown Blanding. Lodging consists of seventeen smoke-free cozy guestrooms each furnished with smart HD flat-screen televisions, direct tv satellite, free high speed wifi, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. Our family suite boasts three bedrooms, a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen equipped with a stove-double/oven and dishwasher;sleeps 7 adults comfortably. One two-bedroom executive suite with full kitchen and living room is perfect for four. We offer one queen kitchenette, a compact home away from home. We do have a very limited number of dog-friendly rooms. Situated in the midst of the four corners are Canyonlands, Arches, Mesa Verde, Natural Bridges, Goosenecks, Lake Powell and Monument Valley within a two hour drive from Blanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stone Lizard Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Lizard Lodging Blanding, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing