We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can pay more, but probably won't get more”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Evanston, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You can pay more, but probably won't get more”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We looked in both Blanding & Monticello for this trip and found mediocre to poor reviews everywhere. With our AAA discount, this place was considerably less. I probably got what I paid for and guests at other hotels paid more but didn't get what they paid for. First the cons--the faucet dripped, the furnishings were old and chairs stained, the bathroom floor was dangerously slippery (be careful stepping out onto that bathmat as it might slip out from under you) and the continental breakfast minimal with bread products/danish/muffins, oatmeal, juice and coffee--which was available 24 hours. However, despite older furnishings and a dripping faucet, I slept soundly--even in a room facing the highway, had a pleasant shower each day, the room smelled fine, and we had plenty of room to park our oversized truck and ATV trailer. That's what a hotel is for, right? The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, even if housekeping neglected to fully restock our room with new coffee cups and coffee each day. Trust the advice at the front desk and avoid all restaurants in Blanding except the Patio Drive-In which has a large menu and is absolutely scrumptious! All-in-all, I might be back next year.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for your AAA discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMtnReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    42
    50
    26
    19
See reviews for
24
62
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Norte, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This motel is located on the Main Street with ample parking and it is attractive from the street. The room was very clean, bed comfortable and very nice, fluffy towels. There is a nice outdoor pool and a continental breakfast; also I room coffee. Shampoo etc. is provided as well. The desk folks were all courteous and helpful. We would absolutely recommend the Gateway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Katnis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg,Fl
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's like we were traveling together. Everything he mentioned is absolutely as we would have put it. We were very pleased with our stay there. We were surprised in the morning to find a bowling alley in the gas station/convenience store! Also, when leaving be conscious of the speed limit in town. The guy in front of us was not and he got a souvenir to take home.

Room Tip: Back side is off the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Gateway Inn in Blanding, UT is sure showing it's age. The carpets are old, but clean. The beds are not the most comfortable. The price, however was great for a 2-room suite. One room had a king bed while the other had 2 queen beds. Both had TV and seperate heat and air conditioning. The Motel is large and we did not, in all fairness, get to see any other rooms.
We did stay here 2 nights as it was close to Natural Bridges National Park and Canyonlands National Park Needles Section-both of which we wanted to explore. There are other motels in the area--not many, but for the price, the 2-room suite was quite a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Gateway Inn for a night after driving from Moab on our way to Natural Bridges National Park and the Southern Utah sights. We just wanted somewhere on a modest budget that was comfortable and clean before another long drive the next day. The Gateway Inn was a good basic small town motel. Clean and with all the amenities you'd expect (iron, ironing board, fridge, coffee machine, free wifi and A/C that worked!) Nothing fancy, but nor was anything else we saw in town. Breakfast was also quite basic, (muffin/coffee/juice) as would be expected for the price and the clerk was polite. A fine one night stop over on the journey of sight seeing.
One tip....go check out the Native American museum a few blocks away with wonderful artifacts and a Kiva you can go inside of. Quite interesting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sal1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Gateway Inn is a good basic motel. My room was large, clean and comfortable, with effective air conditioning, decent furniture, working refrigerator and microwave, and a good shower. I was on the south side of the motel and it was very quiet and felt very safe. Breakfast was more limited than most. The staff were friendly and efficient. I spent a comfortable four nights here. The Gateway is better than the first impression you get from the exterior.

Room Tip: My room upstairs on the south side was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
809 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had won a stay at this motel at a raffle the previous year, and we came back to the area this spring we arranged for our free night. The motel consists of several parts. The main building, perpendicular to the main road, which is the highway running through town, is two story. Two more wings frame a large courtyard where you can park. Whereas the buildings are old, the rooms and the lobby have been refurbished and redone. We were immediately impressed with the nice and tasteful sitting room off the lobby and front desk. There was also computer guests can use.
Check in was swift and without any fuss. The guy at front desk was really friendly and helpful.
Our room was fine, maybe a bit on the mall side, but we wanted to stay the night there, in bed, and not play baseball in it, so that was more than okay. There was a small fridge and a microwave, as well as a wall-mounted TV set. The room also boasted a small table and two chairs, as well as a chest of drawers. The bed was comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.
WiFi worked perfectly. When we first went to bed – fairly early as we are early birds and usually get up real early again- you could hear some traffic on the road, but later on it got real quiet even though you’re in town.
The breakfast room is fairly small with only some three tables and a small selection of breakfast foods, including fresh fruit.
We really liked our night here and would definitely stay at the Gateway Inn again when in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanding
0.1 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn &Suites
Rodeway Inn &Suites
#3 of 7 in Blanding
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 6 in Monticello
299 reviews
24.1 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
237 reviews
24.4 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 88 East Center Street, Blanding, UT 84511
Location: United States > Utah > Blanding
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Blanding
Gateway Inn Blanding, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing