We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Blanding
Post
Inbox
Search

“A&W, Gas Station, and Bowling Alley in one!!!”
Review of A&W Restaurant

A&W Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Quick Bites in Blanding
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 27, 2014

My whole family got a kick out of how this was an A&W, Gas Station, bowling alley, AND convenience store all in one! We'd seriously never seen anything like it. Anyway, after a long day- leaving Monument Valley early in the AM, then going to Edge of the Cedar, and THEN to the Dinosaur Museum, we were hot, tired, and hungry. A&W to the rescue! We were soooo hungry and everything tasted so good, and I don't even like fast food. The staff was nice enough and the food did take a while to come out, and it might have been the severe hunger, but we loved this A&W. (Visited July 2013)

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 443micheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2014

Crew working was not prepared for rush and had to wait quite a bit for our order. Root beer was warm and not calibrated from fountain which was disappointing. Ice cream was good however.

Date of visit: September 2014
Thank LilredMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

...one weird and disgusting dining experience.

This is one of the only fast food options in Blanding, UT. They're very slow (they told us they were temporarily closed for cleaning even though we came around dinner time), then "opened" again and took forever. There are flies going around the place and the floor is covered in... something. Nothing is clean and they just have a bunch of high schoolers working there. I'm glad I didn't get sick.

Date of visit: July 2014
Thank KendraP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I don't know how long it has been since I have been to an A & W. If you aren't familiar with A & W, they used to be a popular root beer, hamburger, and fries place.

After a cold day of hiking around southern Utah, we were ready for some greasy hamburgers. The A & W shares a building with what appears to be a grocery store. It is more like a convenience store, bowling alley and A & W.

The A & W appears to have typical A & W fare, plus other fried foods typical for a bowling alley.

When we arrived they were tending to someone else. There was no welcome. They were a little slow to take our order, but reasonably friendly when they got around to tending to us.

The dining area has a view of the bowling alley. Katy Perry, Pink and other contemporary songs were playing. I felt like this would be the place to hang out on Friday or Saturday night in the this small town. It was a fun feel to be here. If you want to feel like you are going somewhat back in time, you will enjoy the experience. We did. If you want a quiet, romantic, upscale, etc dining experience, you are in the wrong place.

Enjoy the burgers, fries, etc. Enjoy the ambiance.

If we return to Blanding, we will probably be back.

If you need a drive thru, they have that on the outside.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank western u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

OMG, the fried cheese curds are to die for! I know how this sounds, how bad they're supposed to be for you, yadda, yadda. They ROCK! Really.

Date of visit: January 2014
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A&W Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to A&W Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing