We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for the family”

The Dinosaur Museum
Ranked #9 of 17 things to do in Blanding
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cortez, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun for the family”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Lots of displays and good education. Life size displays and fossils, something new around every corner.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Who would have known?”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Blanding isn't a town that strikes you as having a lot going on in it. However, the Dinosaur Museum is surprisingly well done with many, many interesting pieces on display. Inexpensive and well worth the stop.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Dinosaur bones, yes, and way more. Movie posters from old, dino/moster movies. Toy dino collection, which kids will love. Uncrowded. Well labeled. Plenty of toy dinos in the gift shop. Take yourself, and your dino loving family here for a couple hours. Great rainy day/too cold/too hot place to visit.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank peterandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting and well done”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is a somewhat hidden museum that I had bypassed many times but finally had some time to visit this trip. I was surprised that it was larger inside than I had previously thought (maybe some new additions?) and that it contained some really nice dinosaurs. Apparently the owner does a lot of the art and all of the dinosaurs himself. His realistic versions seemed, to my untrained eye, to be very good with the skin looking just as I'd imagined and not fake or rubbery. They have some skeletons and some realistic looking so it's a nice mix. Another feature is the historical aspect of movies and some art which was very interesting and we spent more time with that than we might have if we'd had young children with us. I thought it was a little gem out in the nowheres of Blanding, Utah, with an absolutely charming front desk gal. Check out those huge petrified trees they have at the front as they're incredible.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank SoUtahfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Engaging and worth the stop, plus a HUGE ammonite!”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

This place is unassuming from the outside and we wondered just how much would be inside, but we were pleasantly surprised. During the hour and a half that we toured the exhibits we were the only visitors until the very end when there were was a family with small children too. With such interesting things to see, it should not have been empty.

Inside the lobby is a huge fossilized ammonite and a mural of what it would have looked like in the ocean when it was alive. The age and size was very impressive! There is also petrified wood, some of the oldest on display in Utah.

There are about five big rooms with exhibits ranging from new ideas on what dinosaur skin looked like, timelines of when dinosaurs evolved and where they migrated, the connection between birds and feathered dinosaurs, movie posters and pop culture items showing how what we thought dinosaurs look like changed as discoveries were made, and fossilized footprints and what they tell us about the lives of dinosaurs.

We didn't have kids with us but I think if they liked dinosaurs at all they'd thoroughly enjoy this museum. We're a couple in our 20s and go to museums frequently and the Dinosaur Museum in Blanding stood out as a worthwhile tour.

Our favorite part was the fossil of a dinosaur who had another dinosaur of the same species inside it. So its last meal before it died was a smaller version of itself. It was rough being a dinosaur!

Helpful?
3 Thank thelaststraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dinosaur Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing