We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Natural Bridges National Monument
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Blanding
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The natural bridges in this remote area are best visited on a nine-mile, one-way loop road.
Sedgefield
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Visited this national monument in August 2013. It came well recommended but we were a bit disappointed. It does not come close to views such as Bryce or Zion. If you happen to drive past there, do it. We drove there from Torrey after visiting Bryce Canyon and felt it was not worth it. Having said that the route itself more than made up for it. Especially the viewpoint overlooking the Colorado river, north of Hite, is really spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    173
    54
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“You'd be amazed at how nature accomplished these”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Natural Bridges is a small place and is easily doable in half a day if you don't intend on hiking. It's a perfect place to visit if you're en route to Arches or Monument Valley. If you do want to get up close to one of the bridges, go down to Owachomo as it won't take long.
To put the timing into perspective, we managed to drive from Moab, near Arches to Natural Bridges, drove the 9 mile loop, hiking down to Sipapu and Owachomo, then proceeded to Monument Valley to do the 17 mile drive, just in time for sunset.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Olizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the side trip on the way to Arches National park”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in the campground for one night (cheap at $10) and toured the bridges the next day on our way to Moab. Great hikes to the bridges; great opportunities for photography. we were there on June 4th, already hot but not unbearable for a couple of Canadians. Worth going to, esp. if you want to avoid a lot of people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank playateez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massapequa park
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

great views...easy access..well maitained and it wasn't overly crowded, despite it being the height of vacation season...road to Natural bridges was spectacular as well

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank marysMassapequaPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Tough Hike in the Canyon”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Do not go down into the canyon here without at least 1 gallon of water per person! It is mostly loose sand, and took me 3 hrs to go 6 miles. I only took 1/2 gallon, ran out, "borrowed" another half gallon from tourists back at the top, and drank another gallon once I was back in the car. It was still 10 hours before I peed again....

Next time I'll go back at a more seasonal time Probably too hot to tent camp near the visitor center in the summer, but I met a few travelers who planned to go up in the higher elevation back country to overnight.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridges National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Natural Bridges National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing