We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing.”

The Edge of the Cedars State Park
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Blanding
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Informative displays on the history of the region.
Karise, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We - a Danish senior couple - did a cross country tour of the US and found ourselves just to be passing through Blanding as we discovered in the TripleA guide, that we could visit the museum in Blanding.
As we take an interest in the inuit history having worked in Greenland, this was a true and mindblowing experience. We could have spent several days. The way the ladies in the museum care for the museum is veri touching and the whole set is such a bank of knowledge and displayed in a way so you do not get lost - loose the thread, so to speak.
I can go on and on about this place. The entire experience was incredible and I hope the museum can raise enough money to continue successfully. Considering the historic value and hoewever else this place is run financially, I will gladly pay the entrance fee, as it is.

I would love to say thank you so much to the women at the reception for taking their time to patiently answer all the questions we had.
This is definitely an experience worth all agegroups.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank carlimut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    32
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Resource for Local Tribal Archeology”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This was an incredibly interesting and informative museum about Hopi, Denai, Pueblo and protoPueblo culture. It ties together the cultural interactions of the four corners tribes. Artifacts are displayed over 3 floors, auditorium with art, multimedia and outdoor kiva you can descend into. Staff is great. It's $5 a person but worth more.

Helpful?
Thank Geoutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“worth a stop but not a detour”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The museum was brilliant - lots of old objects and some great art. Museum itself is a beautiful building really nicely designed. We loved being able to go down the Kiva - it really made you realise what it must have been like. However very expensive for the amount of time you spend there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank merionvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Little Museum”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nice place, well maintained and with excellent resources and archeological integrity. It needs more public funding - of course! who doesn't? - but does very well with what it has which says alot about the people who run it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quick stop-90mins.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Fully restored Kiva and museum. One of the few you can descend into, easy ladder. Lovely gift shop and friendly staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edge of the Cedars State Park also viewed

 

Been to The Edge of the Cedars State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing