We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bingham Canyon Copper Mine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bingham Canyon Mine

Bingham Canyon Mine
Attraction details
Saint George, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Bingham Canyon Copper Mine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Very educational & a great way to spend an afternoon. This is an immense mine, visible from space. Free

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    45
    8
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun, but missed a blasting by 1 minute!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

It was a little bit of a drive from where we were staying, but it was fun for the kids, especially if you have little guys who like trucks. These trucks are 30 feet tall and they have a tire you can take a picture with. We had pulled into the parking lot and saw the crowd walking away from the canyon area and my husband asked a guide what we had just missed. A blasting is where they demo an area and would have probably been the highlight. There is a little movie thats informative and not-so-long you want to fall out of your chair. In the gallery are lots of miniatures my boys loved, plus rocks, stones, energy information and interactive exhibits.
The trailer next door is the gift shop where there is lots of copper, of course, plus lots of other stones, rocks, and things made of copper. my boys got a helicopter and fireengine made of copper and still play with them.
It was fun, but next time we will call first and get there for a blasting!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bari1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Close to the city but what an experience. Took the grandsons and they were amazed. Huge trucks hauling copper ore up the mtn for processing, incredible sight. Very professionally done and company is outstanding

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank hjames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda
Level Contributor
163 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Hard to beleive but it's a really big hole that IS worth seeing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

OK this is for sure a guys thing but my wife enjoyed it too. It is an engineering marvel to behold. It is just impossible to describe how huge it is, you just have to see it to believe it. I found everything about it fascinating and well worth the trip. But then again I'm a guy who likes big trucks that dig big holes. The visitors museum had lots of interesting information about copper and mining. We learned a lot about what it is used for and how it is made. I know it's not everyone's cup of tea but we both would recommend it to anyone with a couple of hours to kill.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting history with a great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

$5 charge to get in I thought was reasonable as the view is pretty spectacular and the visitor centre is well layer out with lots of displays showing early history up to modern mining methods.

Helpful?
Thank AusMezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bingham Canyon Mine also viewed

 

Been to Bingham Canyon Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing