We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Rogers AR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed December 4, 2009

This resort is beautiful, the architecture is exquisite. The rooms/villas are large and very spacious. Dual shower heads in the bathroom, sunken tub. The bathroom is long narrow and very very roomy. The views from the villas, shower, tub and the rooms are spectator. The service is impeccable and top notch. The patio with the fireplace and settees is very romantic. The lobby is warm and cozy crackling fires, food options are 5 star gourmet. I can't say enough great things about the resort. The pool was built around a huge boulder, and is a beautiful setting. The 18,000 sq foot spa offers everything anyone would want, top of the line exercise room. It is a 5 star plus resort and the staff is soooo accommodating. I loved my stay at the Amangiri, and would highly recommend this resort in the middle of the desert and close to Lake Powell.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesRogersAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    100
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
315
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I also agree with the other travelers. what an amazing resort. they have the right concept, but to complete a concept you need to match it in terms of service. i personally would point the finger to the management. all the staff were very friendly.
if i were to compare this to Soneva Gili (maldives) it does not come close in terms of service.
Amangiri could be one of the top 10 places to go in the world - if they learnt a little from the likes of Soneva Gili/Fushi.
I was surprised that the GM did not make the time to come and chat to my wife and i.
she seemed more interested in spending time with Adrian Zecha. ok, yes he is the founder of aman - but your guests are more important.
we only got "thanks for staying with us", "hope you enjoyed your stay" and a handshake when we left.
I don’t expect someone to over do it and intrude, but its the small personal touches (from the likes of the GM) that make you feel like $1k per night clients.
perhaps they are still trying to find a balance between the VIP service and intruding.

After my 3day stay, my wife and i went to Vegas, where my credit card was suddenly blocked. at which point i found out Amangiri charged me twice, which raised a red flag to my credit card issuer. i called amangiri and they said they will check with their accountants and get back to me. i called back the next day, and they said they will ask the accountants to fix it and get back to me,. till this day, no one has called me back (or emailed) to say its fixed, or apologize. it has left a somewhat sour taste to the experience...

They do not have 100's of clients each day. its an exclusive resort, so needs exclusive service.

This was our first time at an Aman resort. I'd love to visit another Aman resort next year. I am certain the place (which ever location we choose) will be amazing. But do i want to spend the money if the service is not matched?

Don't get me wrong. I am not saying the service was poor - far from it. But i just had much higher expectations.
Its just frustrating when it could have been near perfect.

Notes:
Rooms - amazing views. did i mention the lock to my door was broken? they only properly fixed it after a few atempts - but again no call or mention from the manager to apologize, or see if i am happy with things

Pool and Spa - Fantastic concept. Best we've been to.

Dining - love the open plan concept. Cheifs are very talented and good was great. However the menu was limited. They need to either offer an extended menu (or make it clear they can cook us anything we want), or change the menu daily. After 2 days i was kind of bored with the selection on the menu.

Ambience - loved it. very chilled out. shame smoke from fire places filing up the indoor communal areas.

They should have left a questionaire so guests can leave feedback. especially during the first few months of being open.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VIPTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I agree with the review of the other traveler. As an Aman junkie I was very anxious to see Amangiri. It was a wonderful weekend however the service was not up to Aman standard. I expect it will improve as they learn to work with each other. Everyone was very nice and well meaning, it just wasn't a well oiled working machine. I loved the setting and would definitely return. The spa could use some more work, though the setting was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We decided the be the first few to visit the hotel after it's opening. The locations is truly outstanding. We booked a mesa view room.The rooms are spacious perfectly designed and pretty well stocked. Some more amenities would be nice but it does not detract from the experience. All of the public areas are centered around a magnificent pool and hot tub and the lobby which encompasses a library, a sitting area with fire places and the one and only restaurant. The ambiance is warm and airy with all floor to ceiling windows to highlight the views. Some nice touches are present here, like various books, a sound system and a focal open kitchen that you can seat on and chat with the chefs.
The service in the other hand is far from standard aman level and understandably so since they are still trying to get the operation going. Most of the staff seems to be suffering from rabbit in the headlights syndrome. They seem confused as to how to best go about their duties. Simple mistakes like serving the wrong food items or placing them on the wrong customer. General knowledge of the operation is also scarce. I'm sure over the season they will be able to to fully staff the operation and the kinks in the service will be resolved. If you are interested in visiting this property do not let these minor details change you mind since the prices will go significantly higher once they are running full steam.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank octubre29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Property: Amangiri
Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing