We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There Are No Clocks In The Rooms At Amangiri”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“There Are No Clocks In The Rooms At Amangiri”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

And this may be significant? The empty, jaw-dropping, challenging, ever-changing landscape surrounding the resort laughs at time. Although the stark bluffs, canyons, mesas testify to time's ravages. Erosion, landslides, broken rock everywhere, that in the stillness of the shattered desert stand in sharp contrast to the monumental, almost Brutalist architecture of Amangiri. There's something paradoxical and perhaps tender in the angular calculations of space, the function of massive grand staircase and pavilion, the allusive, surprising elements of light and shadow play--all still on a human scale despite the almost-overwhelming architectural grandeur--placed within the eroded wilderness of this landscape of ruin.

That's what most impresses me about Amangiri: its grand design. It may seem petty to mention imperfect details about this visually incomparable property. But I shall, under the presumption that Aman might be reading. Our room, #32 among the Mesa View suites, is simply, elegantly put together but in need of maintenance. One of the two rain shower units in the greenstone bath area was and had been dripping long enough to cause ugly, large calciferous stains on wall and floor areas. White cushions showed unsightly pulls and pills. A pair of handsome but much-too-low wood and plaited leather chairs need oiling. Careless guests have left drinks-rings on elegant polished cement and marble surfaces.

Dining can be inconsistent. One night the arctic char was perfectly prepared, floating on a light-as-air potato pancake, surrounded by a thin line of excellent tomato concasse. The next night the fish was swimming in tomato with a virtually nonexistent bit of potato. Huevos rancheros were fine one morning (the terrific corn tortillas house-made, as are all of the good breads), disappointing the next.

Wine service one night was comic. Ordered a Tavel, brought a merlot, wine steward arrived to lament that the last Cheval Blanc had just been sold, announced no more Tavel, departed to cellar to bring up another rosé, and kindly brought complimentary glasses of pink while we waited.

Service was willing and smiling, except for a perfunctory, grumpy server one breakfast. She'd been all smiles the morning before. Smeary, fingered tableware one morn, too. A couple of
minor glitches with front desk requests. I'd thought a car wash would have been provided upon departure, as has happened at other ***** hostelries. Nope.

Manager Christophe Olivro, affable and available, is a gem, as is Sam the sommelier, and esp., Ryan at the desk. Everyone seemed to remember someone's birthday, too. Nice touch, that. They make an absolutely perfect Negroni, too.

It's an unforgettable experience in an incomparable situation. Inconsistencies, yes. But they are minor, really, and only mentionable because of the context. Here, the good is truly the enemy of the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vcdarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    100
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
315
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed at many Aman properties all over the world. The setting is stunning. It is a great location for easy access for all the national parks and beauty the area has to offer.
The service is not at all what you would come to expect from Aman. For only 36 rooms, the staff made no effort to know our names. As we sat down for dinner the second night, our waiter from the night before, said, very nice to meet you. We reminded him that he served us the night before.
I was excited to try the floatation pavilion which had great reviews. The flotation pavilion was disappointing. We immersed into cold water, and we notified the spa attendant that the water was uncomfortably cold. She assured us that her iPad said it was normal body temperature and we would get used to it. The water is so salient, that any minor scratch, cuticle or even if you typically exfoliate your skin, burns so painfully, that I had to jump out after about 2 minutes. My husband stayed in for about 5 minutes, but was unable to relax, as the spa attendant told us the lights would go off for a complete sensory deprivation. Needless to say, the lights did not go off. He got out because of the cold. So that was a fail, but luckily they did not charge us for the service.
The service at the pool area was nonexistent. Which is odd, because it is right in front of the main pavilion/ front desk area. There was no turnover on used beds and old towels and drinks remained for hours. We found a space and cleaned it up ourselves to relax for one hour, and not once did anyone greet us, offer us towels, nor water. There were no towels, water, or sunscreen to be found. On our second day it was sad to see a gentlemen swimming (it was a colder rainy day), and apparently he had asked staff to get a towel for him. We were walking back to our room in the cold rain from breakfast, and he had to beg us to go inside and get someone to get him a towel after his requests for a towel went ignored.
I had been looking forward to a prickly pear margarita, one of their signature drinks. Both day one and two, they had ran out of prickly pear margaritas. So our server offered to get me another one of their signature drinks, a hibiscus margarita. I said sure. The next morning, upon check out I have a bill for $50 for this one margarita without being notified of the cost. I'm sorry, but No margarita tastes that good.
In general, there was very little communication from the staff. We booked through American express, which offers breakfast included and another amenity, we were never notified of what. When we checked out, all of our breakfast charges were on our bill. They said we were not allowed to order anything on the menu under the AMEX breakfast, but only allowed the scant fruit, bread buffet. At other properties we have never been so restricted on what we were and were not allowed to order, nor was it communicated to us at any time. In addition, we were never informed that our special amenity allowed a free dinner. Nor were we given the customary letter from AMEX upon check in explaining the additional amenities. It would have been nice to know dinner one night was included ahead of time, I would have had dessert.
We were asked to make dinner reservations, as the hotel was 97% full. We did of course. On our first night we were seated IN THE KITCHEN at the bar there where they are cooking pizza and prepping plates. There were plenty of empty tables for 2 alone with views, but we were told we were unable to sit in any of them. After a talk with the manager, we were allowed to move to an intimate table for 2.
Usually at Aman properties, the staff has a good idea of your schedule and when you are in and out of your rooms for housekeeping services. Well, the this was obviously too hard to figure out, as the housekeeping staff kept interrupting us while we were obviously occupying the room, even though our daily schedule was clear.
When we arrived at the hotel, we had a tour of property. There is a lovely deck out by the restaurant with fire pits for watching the sunset and star gazing that they said we would really enjoy. On friday night, we went out there, the area was deserted and cold, with no fires going, nor heat lamps. On saturday, we saw the fire pits on, so were excited to have a drink out there, but we were quickly told to remove ourselves, a private party was occupying the entire space.
On our day of departure we were scheduled for a hike up the mountain, the via feratta. We woke up to wind, rain, and a temperature of 40 degrees. I could barely walk from my room to breakfast freezing, windblown and soaking wet, yet they found it surprising that we would want to cancel our hike. I didn't bring a raincoat, yet ski gear for that matter, and thankfully they did let us out of that without charging us $500, but it took some effort on our part.
I could go on and on, but the main problem with the property is service and communication, both with staff, managers, and guests. The Aman hotels are known for their above and beyond personalized service, and I can tell you that this is NOT TYPICAL for Aman by any means. I've had better service at Hyatt. Pretty sad, considering there are only 36 rooms, and our bill for 2 people for 2 days was $4000+

Room Tip: Mesa view. Close to the pool/spa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank hbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

What a amazing stunning resort. Very friendly staffs and helpful. Service was great. The views from the lobby, restaurant is amazing. Its very peaceful and relax place to be. Wonderful pool.
The room is beautiful, wonderful decor and great view. We have a private pool and the temperature water was perfect. Love the bathtub with view. The food was very good and perfect selection.
The hotel have many tour trips, which i recommend u try one at last. We did the Grand Canyon and the Slots Canyons, the guides was very nice, was a truly unique experience. The GM was very friendly.
Amangiri is one of the best Aman resorts, u must try!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodrigo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was so amazing and unique! The hotel itself was gorgeous and there was so much to do both on the hotel property and in the region that we felt we should have stayed for at least 2 weeks. There is absolutely no light pollution so star gazing at night with smores was fantastic. Our room was very comfortable and had a great view. The service and food was excellent. Highly recommend the suspension bridge and trying a studhorse trail or two (or more!) on the property. The guides were great and very friendly. Must, must, must visit the Antelope Canyon and go on Lake Powell!!! Also you can take the hotel cars out whenever you like (new BMWs). Only downside is that it is hard to get to Amangiri (only a tiny airport serving the region and flights are often postponed), especially if you don't live in the US. But we will be back! P.S. Minibar items are all included so you can eat all the choc chip cookies to your heart's content without worrying about an overinflated mini bar bill!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alondongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
351 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I had been trying to organize a visit to the Amangiri for four years and FINALLY made it! Wow, wow, wow! We have traveled the world and THIS resort is a MUST! The architecture, the staff, the food, the spa, the activities... EVERYTHING received an A+

Room Tip: Room 27 faces the Mesa and is right across from the spa - a great room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
367 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is an outstanding resort with a unique offering. The resort fits with the environment and blends easily with the beauty of Southern Utah. The views are amazing and you feel at peace at the Amangiri and truly feel "away" from everything. We enjoyed the hikes, climbing, and relaxing. The food was excellent and as usual the Aman combined great service with a causal friendly atmosphere. The staff make you feel like you are home and are all so nice and helpful. This is a resort we will return and I cannot say enough about this magical place. The Amangiri is a must hit destination.

Room Tip: They are all amazing and well appointed with photo perfect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our third Aman resort and it was fantastic. The pickup at the airport in Page was smooth and we enjoyed the 25-minute drive (in a BMW 7-series with plenty of legroom). Upon arrival, we were greeted by the manager and escorted to our room. The pool is heated to over 85 degrees, so swimming is possible year-round. The hotel arranged a private dinner for me and my wife our first night, and the service was very good. Aman's s'mores program is fun and we enjoyed making them in the comfort of our own suite, using our ethanol-burning outdoor fireplace. Pure bliss and we will return. As for activities, we were all about the hiking and managed to make it on nearly all of the property's trails - the scenery is out of this world. We stayed in room 17 and appreciated not having other rooms on both sides.

The property itself is in great shape - not as worn as Amanyara looked when we stayed there last October.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 - neighboring suite only on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Property: Amangiri
Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing