We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Architecture, but lacking management”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The View's and the Architecture are the best I have experienced. We found the hotel lacking in general management. The room was not clean, dirt and trash under the built in furniture you can see while laying in bed. The pool area was not picked up or cleaned after guest left around 6pm. Many people were still enjoying the pool and there was not a clean towel or lounge to be found. We enjoyed the staff, they were helpful and very kind. The food was uneven, my husbands dish was fresh and simple, but my fish was frozen and flavorless. Hotel Manger does not seem to have and eye for details.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ElVerano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Amangiri is an amazing hotel ; the architecture is stunning, the location makes it a one of a kind hotel. Rooms are beautiful, very large, the outdoor area opening directly on the, almost endless, stunning landscape is breath taking. Bathrooms are just awesome, double showers, bathtub, a lot of space for your personal belongings and very large closets. Complimentary minibar. The pool is a must see. We went to the spa, didn't have treatments, but enjoyed the steamroom and sauna (both just beautiful), there's a small pool to relax by, very quiet and relaxing. This is a place where you can really forget everything and unwind. The overall feel is very zen like. We took a pilates class, hikes, did a via ferrata, a boat tour, paddle boarding, their teachers and guides are knowledgable, attentive and very professional. There are many great activities you can do.The muted tones of the whole complex, reminiscent of the colors you see in the surroundings, the gorgeous interior decoration...really if you can splurge, it's worth the experience !!
The only downsides : everyone was friendly and helpful, yet the staff is sometimes a bit "green" and not up to a five star hotel level. The food is mostly a disappointment, just average, again not what you'd expect in a five star hotel and you really have no other choice but the hotel's restaurant around (breakfast is fine). We spoke to the assistant manager about it and he said it's difficult to find the right people to work all the way out there !! I can only imagine and I give it a five star rating in spite of those 2 weak points, which they are very aware of and working to improve.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms there ! The desert suites are quiet, they are huge, we liked s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgailloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was one of the many hotels we stayed in while crossing the country ( twice). It's outstanding by many means, but also because it's so hard to find: we drove by the small sign twice and no GPS could help us. The greetings, offers of water and cold towels, check in and luggage handling were all above and beyond. The location, the desert, the view were all absolutely superb. The room was very specious with patio and tremendous bathroom and a complimentary minibar was a nice touch. Bed was heavenly, but bedside lams were impossible to use and lighting everywhere was insufficient (no such a thing as reading in the bathroom)! And to walk to the dining room you'll need a flashlight. The dining room is very dark as well, no tablecloths even for dinner and food was absolutely the lowest point of the stay ( like a very soggy French toast staffed with equally soggy strawberry)! The service was absolutely amazing everywhere, personable, friendly and very helpful.
The room, I wanted to say 'the bunker" was colors of desert and very comfortable, but not a cozy place.

Room Tip: I guess all the rooms have spectacular desert views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

For my birthday in September 2013 I planned a bucket list trip to Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park- both a few short hours away from Amangiri. I was incredibly impressed with the generosity, knowledge and friendliness of the staff and was completely surprised by how they went above and beyond to make my birthday special. If you have a desire to explore the local hikes I recommend having a conversation with Dan and/or Cullen. The photos of the Amangiri Suite on the website do not do it justice- it was stunning! The resort's pools leave nothing to be desired and the candlelight glow in the evening is so romantic. In a word the resort and it's views are enchanting. This is the perfect destination if you seek relaxation or romance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I wholeheartedly disagree with all of the reviews about the food at Amangiri. My hubby and I have been 3 times in the last 3 years and every time we go, we spend more time there. (Just returned from 6 days!) The reason for the slow service at dinner is because people are asking for customized food that did not plan ahead. The food is intended to be highly customizable but that also takes a toll on the service (and how couldn't it?). For heaven's sake, it's a small place (another benefit). If you send a list of the items you'd like to eat or your tastes/preferences/allergies, the chef (who is extremely talented) will make your food experience just what you want it to be. I think the true problem exists because management should take away the ability to make the food customized on the spot and alert people at reservation how the food experience can go. I do however agree that they need more food and beverage staff and they do need to hire a few pros. But it's not that big of a deal at all if you get the food right. We also highly recommend the off-site dinner experiences. They are truly special. All in all, Amangiri is awesome; there's nothing like it in the US. And if you are into food, you can have what you want.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PepperForce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent 3 days at the Amangiri mid September, 2013.

First and foremost, I will say that this is an excellent resort with absolute STUNNING & BREATHTAKING views. YOU'D BE HARD PRESSED FOR FIND A MORE MEMORABLE RESORT.

Our family flew into Page Arizona where we were picked up by two GMC SUVs. Upon arriving at the resort, we were greeted by a few staff waiting at curb side (excellent hospitality). We were quickly greeted by the General Manager who was incredibly cordial and professional.

I used to think that I only enjoyed traveling to countries where there are unique cultures like Japan and Thailand. However, Amangiri has completely changed my point of view and I'm going to start searching out resorts where unique landscape presides.

This resorts sits on hundreds of acres (I'm not sure exactly how big the property is because everyone I asked had a different answer). I can say without any reservation that the landscape makes the hotel.

This is the best 3 day vacation ever, but I think there's room for improvement. I will say again that this hotel is near-perfect, so all these negatives are minor things that could make it even more perfect.

I'd rank:
- The hotel, rooms, etc. -> 9 (on a scale or 10)
- Service -> 9
- Food -> 7 (probably the low point of the trip)
- Natural landscape - off the charts and unfair to give it a 10 because there's nothing like it

One awesome thing they did is that everything in the mini bar is free (I love it). But the counter negative is that the free breakfast through the Amex was pretty abysmal (no hot food). Honestly, if you spend 10s of thousands for a weekend, you'd expect some bacon or sausage :-)......don't nickel and dime another $18 or $19 dollars.

I repeat AGAIN - this resort is the most amazing resort EVER - PERIOD. I'd would zero hesitation recommending the resort to anyone. You will be blown away.

Room Tip: Girijaala Suite is tucked away in the back and occupies a corner - so you get views of two direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Amangiri is one of the most amazing hotel properties I have ever been lucky enough to stay at. The design fits in the desert setting perfectly. It is stark but so beautiful and well thought out. Rooms and bathrooms are comfortable, private and luxurious without being stuffy. The views are out of this world. I cannot think of another hotel with quite as stunning a setting as this one. It is unique to have such a perfectly designed 5 star hotel adjacent to so many great outdoor activities, hiking, rock climbing, mountain biking, boating, etc. There are unique details and view points everywhere throughout this hotel. Subtle fountains, natural rocks, framed view of the desert, all more incredible than the next . The hotel definitely has a stark feel with many natural elements, meant to look a touch weathered, so if you are expecting a Ritz Carlton/ Four Seasons level of flourish, this is not the place for you.

The pool is also remarkable. We didn't want to leave it, but there is so much to do on the property that it's hard to stay put. There are great fitness classes, amazing hikes on site where you will not run into another guest for miles, as well as one of the most beautiful spas I have ever seen- with great service and treatments too.

The service here was top notch. It may not be quite to the same level as some foreign properties but it is certainly the best service I've experienced in a U.S. hotel. Everyone was friendly, professional, knowledgeable, and timely in any request or order with the slight exception of pool service that was a little slow one day. The staff knows the resort in and out, as well as information about the numerous national parks nearby.

Two caveats: One, the main building layout . While this building is attractive like the rest of the resort, it is almost too big for the size of the property. It makes for a somewhat awkward very spread out dining experience at dinner- though I realize many guests may like the privacy of being 20 feet away from the next table . Also, for one wing of rooms, there is no way to walk back from the pool or spa without going through the main building (a small corner of the main building). The entire resort is quite casual but it can be a little bit awkward to run back to your room in a robe after a spa treatment, passing by guests who are starting to enjoy dinner poolside.

The larger issue, as others have mentioned, is the food. It was served and prepared just fine, but it wasn't very interesting . It seemed like dated fancy hotel food, and not food worthy of the service, spectacular setting or experience at this otherwise perfect resort. Nothing we had was bad, but then again nothing was truly memorable. Many dishes also seemed very heavy. At this destination where many guests are participating in nature oriented activities and other fitness and spa activities, some healthier more organic options would be nice too. My favorite dish was the fish taco at lunch time. They do seem very amenable to custom requests and private dinners seem to be the norm here so the customized dining experience may be the way to go here. The staff did prepare great lunches for us to take on the road, and the service could not have been better the whole time.

All in all, I think the Amangiri is one of the finest, most beautiful resort properties in the US. The design, setting and service justify the high price tag . The food is fine, but if it were better it could help solidify this property's place as one of the countries best resorts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvanSK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#12 of 24 in Page
368 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range: $1,641 - $2,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing