We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever - But A Shade Short of Perfect”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Best Ever - But A Shade Short of Perfect”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent 3 days at the Amangiri mid September, 2013.

First and foremost, I will say that this is an excellent resort with absolute STUNNING & BREATHTAKING views. YOU'D BE HARD PRESSED FOR FIND A MORE MEMORABLE RESORT.

Our family flew into Page Arizona where we were picked up by two GMC SUVs. Upon arriving at the resort, we were greeted by a few staff waiting at curb side (excellent hospitality). We were quickly greeted by the General Manager who was incredibly cordial and professional.

I used to think that I only enjoyed traveling to countries where there are unique cultures like Japan and Thailand. However, Amangiri has completely changed my point of view and I'm going to start searching out resorts where unique landscape presides.

This resorts sits on hundreds of acres (I'm not sure exactly how big the property is because everyone I asked had a different answer). I can say without any reservation that the landscape makes the hotel.

This is the best 3 day vacation ever, but I think there's room for improvement. I will say again that this hotel is near-perfect, so all these negatives are minor things that could make it even more perfect.

I'd rank:
- The hotel, rooms, etc. -> 9 (on a scale or 10)
- Service -> 9
- Food -> 7 (probably the low point of the trip)
- Natural landscape - off the charts and unfair to give it a 10 because there's nothing like it

One awesome thing they did is that everything in the mini bar is free (I love it). But the counter negative is that the free breakfast through the Amex was pretty abysmal (no hot food). Honestly, if you spend 10s of thousands for a weekend, you'd expect some bacon or sausage :-)......don't nickel and dime another $18 or $19 dollars.

I repeat AGAIN - this resort is the most amazing resort EVER - PERIOD. I'd would zero hesitation recommending the resort to anyone. You will be blown away.

Room Tip: Girijaala Suite is tucked away in the back and occupies a corner - so you get views of two direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    99
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
311
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Amangiri is one of the most amazing hotel properties I have ever been lucky enough to stay at. The design fits in the desert setting perfectly. It is stark but so beautiful and well thought out. Rooms and bathrooms are comfortable, private and luxurious without being stuffy. The views are out of this world. I cannot think of another hotel with quite as stunning a setting as this one. It is unique to have such a perfectly designed 5 star hotel adjacent to so many great outdoor activities, hiking, rock climbing, mountain biking, boating, etc. There are unique details and view points everywhere throughout this hotel. Subtle fountains, natural rocks, framed view of the desert, all more incredible than the next . The hotel definitely has a stark feel with many natural elements, meant to look a touch weathered, so if you are expecting a Ritz Carlton/ Four Seasons level of flourish, this is not the place for you.

The pool is also remarkable. We didn't want to leave it, but there is so much to do on the property that it's hard to stay put. There are great fitness classes, amazing hikes on site where you will not run into another guest for miles, as well as one of the most beautiful spas I have ever seen- with great service and treatments too.

The service here was top notch. It may not be quite to the same level as some foreign properties but it is certainly the best service I've experienced in a U.S. hotel. Everyone was friendly, professional, knowledgeable, and timely in any request or order with the slight exception of pool service that was a little slow one day. The staff knows the resort in and out, as well as information about the numerous national parks nearby.

Two caveats: One, the main building layout . While this building is attractive like the rest of the resort, it is almost too big for the size of the property. It makes for a somewhat awkward very spread out dining experience at dinner- though I realize many guests may like the privacy of being 20 feet away from the next table . Also, for one wing of rooms, there is no way to walk back from the pool or spa without going through the main building (a small corner of the main building). The entire resort is quite casual but it can be a little bit awkward to run back to your room in a robe after a spa treatment, passing by guests who are starting to enjoy dinner poolside.

The larger issue, as others have mentioned, is the food. It was served and prepared just fine, but it wasn't very interesting . It seemed like dated fancy hotel food, and not food worthy of the service, spectacular setting or experience at this otherwise perfect resort. Nothing we had was bad, but then again nothing was truly memorable. Many dishes also seemed very heavy. At this destination where many guests are participating in nature oriented activities and other fitness and spa activities, some healthier more organic options would be nice too. My favorite dish was the fish taco at lunch time. They do seem very amenable to custom requests and private dinners seem to be the norm here so the customized dining experience may be the way to go here. The staff did prepare great lunches for us to take on the road, and the service could not have been better the whole time.

All in all, I think the Amangiri is one of the finest, most beautiful resort properties in the US. The design, setting and service justify the high price tag . The food is fine, but if it were better it could help solidify this property's place as one of the countries best resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanSK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The facility is modern, chic, and incredibly well designed to fit into the natural beauty of this setting. The rooms are spacious, and private. The pool is about the finest ive ever seen and is built around a natural rock outcrop. The food is exceptional. The staff are all helpful, friendly and professional. The only chink in the armor of this hotel was that at times the food service seemed a bit off its game for an Aman resort.
There are a phenomenal number of cool excursion opportunities in the area. The slot canyon tour was highly recommended and well worth it. There are also some cool nearby hiking trails that are free and don't require a hired guide.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vashon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This breathtaking resort is world class, but for us, just hours away. And though expensive, it is the experience of a lifetime without hours and hours on a plane. Every aspect and nuance is simply magnificent from the perfect temp of the pool to the use of their BMW's if you want to go out. But I must agree with others...the food is a huge disappointment. It took until our third day to find out many people arrange their meals directly with the chef. And that there is a kid's menu, a veggie's menu and you can basically order what you want when and where you want it. Service was painfully slow and one night we had five waiters, none of whom could get an ice tea to the table.
Lots of interns as waitstaff. They need to put real pros in this role. The food service is the only downfall in an impeccable experience. Otherwise it would be 6 stars.

Room Tip: They are all fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vashonsialnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel design and setting is simply stunning. The service is okay but not up to the standard of the Aman resorts I have visited in Asia. I also think the service at Amangani was far better. The food was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

There is no doubt that the secluded desert setting of the Amangiri is absolutely unique and breath-taking. The hotel"s architecture is perfectly blending into its environment and every detail received the necessary reflection. Staff are very friendly and attentive. The only real negative is the food. Breakfast selection is limited, so is the lunch. Ordered a simply spaghetti for the kids which was served in a small bowl - the one used for breakfast cereal. No room to turn the fork. Diner was expensive and very disappointing. Duck too spicy to eat and fish undercooked. Long waiting time. With no easy way to pop out to another resto we felt 'had"

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ElsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A wonderful resort. The location is one of the best in the world, with amazing views from every part of the property. Having the desert roll right up to your room is incredible. The peace and tranquility here is an experience difficult to equal anywhere else.
The service is wonderful, everyone is helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Spencer!!
I was concerned that, as the resort is so remote, the restaurant might take advantage of the fact that it isn't possible to simply nip out to another eating establishment, and would charge ludicrously high prices. But no, the prices are reasonable, not cheap, but reasonable, especially as the food is so good. The menu is also varied enough to stay interesting for the 3 nights we stayed. The Utah elk was delicious!
We loved it here so much that we do intend to return. Yes, it is expensive, but the experience is so special, so unique and so enjoyable that it is worth every cent.
Congratulations to Nicholas Gold, who manages an excellent resort.

Room Tip: The basic suite is all you need. Spacious, quiet and luxurious with beautiful views of the desert an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Property: Amangiri
Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing