We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the nicest hotel we've ever stayed at”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Probably the nicest hotel we've ever stayed at”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is certainly up there with the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at, and the surroundings are stunning. But we were a little disappointed with the quality of the restaurant. It should be a lot better - it should be a destination in itself. The overly complex menu and courses structure was off-putting, and although we don't mind spending a lot on good food, for the money it should have delivered more. I'd give it 7 out of 10.

The spa is very nice indeed. We both enjoyed our treatments. Again, ridiculously overpriced but they do have a captive market. With both dinner and the spa we "experienced it once" and then decided not to do it again. If they just had more sensible pricing in the spa they would get more business I'm sure. While there the steam room was out of order, which was really disappointing. They say a part is on order.

Same goes for the excursions they organise. They wanted $1000 for a 15-30 minute hot air balloon ride. When we priced it up with suppliers directly we were seeing prices of $200-250 per person for 2-3 hours. The free walking tour on the property was OK and worth doing. I certainly wouldn't pay hundreds of dollars for one.

The design of the whole resort is just lovely. The pool is especially stunning, being built around a protrusion in the rock face. The rooms were great, and we enjoyed our outdoor sitting area and open fire. Bed was amazing!

Gym was a let down - the machines were acting weird, either stopping after a few minutes or miscounting calories burned. Enough to put us off going back to the gym! And although overall the staff here were just top notch, there is one woman we dealt with who is snooty and verging on rude. I wish I got her name... but I'm sure the hotel knows who she is and hopefully she won't last long. But overall the best service I've ever had at a hotel. 10 out of 10.

Overall, I highly recommend the Amangiri. It's whetted my apetite and I will definitely be checking out other Aman resorts!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twogwailos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    100
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
315
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are big fans of the Amans and have stayed at a dozen other properties (including the five in Bhutan). We found Amangiri to be a stunning property -- a secluded resort that blends into the scenery on over 3,000 acres of land. The service wasn't quite the level of the Amans in Asia (which is impossible because you can't afford the staff to guest ratio they have there) and there were a couple of hiccups, but it was hands down our best experience in the U.S. When we discovered our air conditioning wasn't working in the middle of the night one night, they moved us to another room temporarily and comped us for that night's stay.

One of the nicest surprises was the food. We've generally found Aman menus to be fairly limited and the quality hit or miss (the weak link on many properties), but the chef here is ambitious and doing some really good stuff. He also has an Indonesian sous-chef, which has allowed him to give some of his dishes an interesting Asian spin (for a light option, the chicken rice porridge is great for breakfast, possibly better than the one Amankila in Bali offers). On our last night, the chef outdid himself by making a morel four ways appetizer dish just for us.

One caveat is that the activities that cost money here are extremely expensive (starting at around $600 for two people). But they also offer free hikes twice a day as well as yoga and pilates.

Some recommendations:

-- Bryce Canyon trip: see if you can get the director of the park to take you around. they call him the Michael Jordan of tour guides, and he's fabulous, a paleontologist/geologist who has been at Bryce for 18 years. It's expensive but worth it.

-- get a pool suite if you can. it comes with a private pool AND a king-size outdoor bed up some stairs. At night, you can ask to have them make the bed, so you can snuggle and watch the stars. It was too cold and windy to sleep there when we were there, but we would've tried if the weather had been better.

-- the spa has a secret, private hot tub for two that they don't advertise, but is available to any of the guests. it's awesome, especially at night under the stars.

Only complaint was that the bed was too soft.

Room Tip: pool suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ykwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a trip around the Zion/GrandCanyon area. More to experience the hotel, rather than the location. It's like staying in a work of art. The welcome is considerate, the food is delicious and the enthusiasm of the staff amazing. We had expected to chill and hibernate, but couldn't resist exploring the area within the grounds of the hotel. It's like a mini Arizona. Mesas, Hoodoo, Slot Canyon, cave, and wonderful desert landscape. The guides are truly knowledgeable, and paths marked really clearly. We felt very relaxed in the hotel itself, and thoroughly enjoyed the art work, and stylish interior design. The architectural layout of the rooms was inspired. Someone has really thought about this hotel, and set a great benchmark. Well done. It has proved that its not necessary to be stuffy, whilst anticipating your guests every comfort. They also responded well to an unusual request by husband for a stargazing spot!.... With a pair of excellent binoculars, advice, and a star chart.! Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a peaceful and romantic place. It is remote, small and intimate. Nothing like it in this country; it is the first time we actually relaxed at a resort in the US. The Chef was beyond expectations and the staff service was not only anticipatory of every need and level but totally unobtrusive. As they became to know us; the more complete they made our stay. What ever you do visit with the exclusive experience director; and arrange to do things that are not discussed in the brochure or website...they can and do arrange experiences that will remain with you the rest of your life.

Although we travel primarily outside the US, this was our first Aman related experience...we wish we had better understood the feeling of welcome and family Aman presents to its guests. Upon arrival you are warmly welcomed, the Architecture amazes, the setting amazes, and it just gets better everyday.

We now have a place to go in our own country that is near perfect.

Room Tip: Select the Mesa Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spending 6 days here for a 50th Birthday was one of the best experiences ever ! One of the most amazingly situated hotels. The Hotel was built around the natural landscape of the rock in the pool. Super cool ! The staff here was all very helpful even before arrival with planning hikes and extra curricular activities. The Manager here is super friendly. The staff here all work really hard and remember your names and your drink preferences in the evening. For the Actual Birthday we dined in the private outdoor area with a fireplace and our own server. We had the most beautiful private birthday party ! The chef baked a cake which I had ordered prior to our arrival. Everything at this resort is top notch. The food at the time was Good to Very good, not great. But I believe they now have a new chef. Either way in this setting I'll take good to very good food with the amazing and friendly service !

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms both with their own pool which was fantastic. So private with upstairs day bed for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JODI11963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

An amazing property, located in the middle of nowhere. Rooms are chic, the design of the hotel is beautiful, the spa and fitness centre are excellent and the pool area is well worth the visit alone! Prices are typically Aman but the overall beauty of the hotel and the area is well worth seeing first hand. The staff were great, service was top drawer and we were made to feel special from start to finish. If you like natural beauty, being outdoors or simply wonderful sunshine with all the creature comforts on tap then this place should be on your list of hotels to experience.

Room Tip: Not sure there's a bad room in this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our entire Amangiri experience was perfection - serene desert landscapes, hardy hikes, world class spa, top notch food, genuinely friendly service, a zen-like peace at the departure. Yes you pay very dearly for this sort of perfection so DO NOT even contemplate staying there unless you are able to separate from those sorts of considerations. My only hesitation is writing a review is in broadcasting publicly what I'd like to believe is my secret spot, though I know it's not.

Room Tip: All the rooms are extremely private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahjdgr8npwrfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Property: Amangiri
Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing