We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captivating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Captivating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Idyllic setting in the desert. I have not stayed at other Aman properties, but compared to other U.S. luxury resorts I found the service exceptional. There are plenty of hiking trails to explore on-property, but make sure you venture out to see (at least) the slot canyons.

Dinner was somewhat of a disappointment, but the service and the incredible ambiance of the dining area more than made up for it.

Ultra romance at an ultra-price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    97
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
106
306
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from amangiri. Spent 4 days/3 nights. Stayed in a mesa suite which was great.Beds were incredibly comfortable. The resort is beautiful. Blends into the surroundings perfectly. The staff is super helpful and friendly. Did all the hikes on the property and all were spectacular. No reason to leave the resort. The room where they do the couples massage has to have one of the most incredible views ive ever seen. You don't even need a massage. Just sitting there watching the scenery can relax you. Was worried that the food wouldnt be the best because we had read reviews complaining about it and honestly every meal we had was excellent. Yes the resort is expensive but worth it. If you are planning a special getaway with a loved one and can splurge a little, go for it. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are return Aman guests and are very disappointed with the Amangiri.

Amangiri is placed in an amazing setting and the property is architecturally beautiful.
The Mesa View room was well appointed and designed in true Aman style.
Overall, the property location and design delivers on the Aman brand promise.

However, Overall, some of the amenities are looking shabby, ranging from  grey pool towels to grubby outdoor seating covers.

Having stayed in Aman resorts, we were surprised and disappointed that the overall service offering is lacking and far below Aman standards!

During our four night stay, we were not greeted by name! 
Not at dinner, not in the morning, not on check out , nor on answering our phone calls from the room.  Aman prides the brand by promising personalized service - sadly lacking at Amagiri.

All staff members were friendly, but clearly lacking in training. Many staff members are new to the hotel, including both GM and Assistant GM, neither of whom have worked at a previous Aman property.... and this shows in their stiff, unengaging perfunctory guest interaction.

 At meal times, it was not unusual to experience  long delays for service. A food and beverage manager clearly missing in action. Compliments to the Chef and the kitchen team.  Whilst the menu is limited, the produce is fresh and meals delicious and well presented.

Housekeeping was inconsistent, with the level of turndown service varying from sparkling, to a cursory tidy up.

Senior management would benefit from reading Adrian Zecha's mission statement as published in the forward of AMAN 2, and instilling the brand promise in staff training and service ethos.

So, visit Amangiri for the location experience, but not for Aman service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank holidayz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
322 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Amangiri is an expensive resort with incredible rooms in an amazing location with great desert and mesa views. The resort is in an extremely remote and private area. Amangiri is only three years old and thus, is still dealing with some startup issues. The spa is excellent and Dan, the concierge, is first rate in arranging some excellent tours, including those to Bryce and Zion. This is a great place for hikers and rock climbers. The pool setting is massive and beautiful. Amangiri has hired a new chef and a new beverage manager who are striving to work out some kinks in food service. This is a destination resort, extremely remote and not near or convenient to other restaurants or shopping facilities. Thus, one is dependent on the resort's facilities and services. The staff is extremely professional and attentive. The facilities and architectural design are outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife & I just returned from a 4 night stay at Amangiri. This was our first trip to an Aman property, and we had read all of the tripadvisor reviews before our visit. We were therefore expecting the service and food to be just ok and the location to be amazing. Expecting this, this is exactly what we got.

We took the morning flight from Phoenix into Page where a driver from the resort picked us up in a 700 series BMW. The drive to the property was a short 25min. We arrived by noon and decided to have lunch as our room was just about ready. We found the food for lunch ok not great. The staff is young and very energetic, which we like.

We then checked into our Mesa view suite which was amazing. The first thing you notice is the view of the Mesa out your patio doors. Then once we stepped out onto the patio, which has 2 lounge pads an a fireplace, the next think we noticed is the silence. The property is set back in from the highway and protected by the Mesa. There is no noise at all.

We did go for dinner the first night, and I decided to order the duck which I found to be a little tough. The best advice I can give you for dinner is to ask them to prepare what you feel like. If they have the raw ingredients on property chances are that they will make it for you.

We did do a few things during our stay as the property is very close to several attractions and they do have 2 bmw's that you can reserve for up to 4 hours:
1) Antelope Point Marina is a great area with a really good floating restaurant. We had lunch here and the food was great.

2) Hummer adventure tour to slot canyon. Paul was our guide and gave me alot of tips for taking some great pictures to remember the area by.

3) Hoodoo trail on porperty. You walk out the front door and the trailhead in just a few minute walk away. We didn't see anyone on the trail and it is begginer - intermediate terrain with great views in the morning as the sun comes up.

4) Rented a bow rider 19ft boat on Lake Powell for 4hrs one day. You could really spend the whole day on the lake as there are soo many canyons and areas to explore. If we go back to this area, we would stay at Amangiri for a couple of night and then rent a houseboat for a couple of days and anchor our for the night under the stars.

At the end of our excursions, sometimes we came back to the property and enjoyed a late luch and then just ate everything from the mini-bar for a junk dinner. The mini-bar contents are included in the room rate and they refill everyday. We also picked up some wine at the Safeway in Page for $6 a bottle as the wine on property is $22/glass and there is no wine in the mini bar.
Breakfast was our favourite meal. I really liked the banana bread french toast and the buttermilk pancakes.

There were also 23 evening events that we enjoyed on the property:
1) Animal adventure where an animal expert cam in and taught us about several different snakes, spiders, scorpions

2) Star gazing. Thanks to Rob who has a vast knowledge of the stars and planets that helped make a moon filled night alot of fun.

We did also relax around the pool for a while. This time of year there was no problem getting loungers as the resort was about 70% full.

The weather during our stay was perfect with daytime highs being about 85 and then low 60's in the early morning for hikes.

Overall, we had an amazing stay and would say that the locations makes this place one of a kind.

Special thanks to Rob for the star gazing, Sara Lee for the great friendly service, amd Spencer for arranging the car for us.

Room Tip: mesa view room was a good value over the desert view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vacationaholic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Amangiri is close to the best, with very nice, spacy rooms (we loved the private swimming pool) with beautiful views of the impressive surroundings. Lovely staff and excellent room maintenance. Just the kitchen is somewhat of a worry, with limited breakfast and diner possibilities, but this should not hold you back to stay in this excellent hotel. When coming from Las Vegas, make sure to take route 9 through Zion)

Room Tip: room with private swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjonckheere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location of the Amangiri is simply amazing - we were in Vegas 1st and this is 100% the opposite experience.

We were VERY excited to finally visit the hotel and it was quite some planning to actually work this into the trip - as it is in the middle of nowhere - and small planes are not our fav hobby. But we did it and we loved it!

No the service is not the same as Aman in Asia - but we are not in Asia guys. Try to appreciate the local way of doing things - and all we can say is that the service was very good and friendly - sure it can ALWAYS be better - but we were satisfied. The Staff at the SPA were GREAT!! Service at the restaurant was a bit up and down - but for most part good!

Make sure you visit the Spa - it was one of the most stunning spa's I have been to - very natural and if you go at night make sure to do some star gazing in the hot tub..

It was a once in a lifetime experience - and we would love to go back - longer and maybe in winter season (must be great to do the hikes).The hotel had a special event planned - Opera Night with Anna Vivette - we were not sure if we wanted to go - because as you can imagine it was $. However it was amazing!! We had a great time and the hotel provided yummy snacks and drinks - so it was an unforgettable night all in all.

So here comes the critique:

- The AC in the room is way too noisy for rooms at these rate levels.
- at these rates (and I am sure you know what I am talking about if you are reading this) extremely high - like really high!!! We do not mind paying for nice hotels - but at this rate level it felt more like an Investment of some sorts - and if I have to rate my Return on Investment I am not sure it was all 100% in balance.
- The restaurant prices are really quite high, and again if the food matches the price level okay - but there comes a point where you feel like you are being taken advantage of. Our 1st night we pretended to ignore the prices - but if you are ordering Risotto for $ 30 and it turns out to be a small plate of wild rice... ?? as a result we did not have dinner at the restaurant again...
- Really guys - don't you think you can include a free breakfast at these rates?? It just really feels like they are abusing the situation of people that are obviously willing to pay to be there, but we were EXTREMELY disappointed with the restaurant / food and the out of world prices.

But hey - if money is NO option for you - go for 7 nights - visit the spa every day - do a selection of (again overpriced) excursions... and simply try everything on the menu....(I am sure some of it is good).

I truly hope that we will visit again - but I am afraid looking at the ROI here - it will be tuff decision - unless these guys address their pricing strategy (but I guess they don't need it)

We did love it! It was 100% worth it! - but make sure you bring your black Amex..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JacoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Property: Amangiri
Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741-0285
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing