We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aman means peace but you won't find it here”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

You know when the reservations agent gives the impression of being rapacious and signs her e-mail with only her first name, there's a certain disquiet on the breeze. So it was when i booked into Amangiri.

Aman means peace but you're unlikely to find it here. It's an expensive hotel with great architecture and a great location. That's where it ends though.

Aman translates as "peace" in English. You are unlikely to find it at Amangiri because management have decided kids are now welcome. The place has become a riot of kids running around, splashing in the pool and making lots of noise all over the place, all day long. Which is fine if that is what you want; and it's great to see kids having fun. But the place now resembles a disney-style destination for wealthy people. You're left to retreat to your room for any semblance of Aman (peace).

The food and service have also slipped. It is no longer original and delicious. It's now pretty run of the mill. The Cinnamon churned into the butter was the portent of mediocrity. The waitress describing pappardelle as "parrparrdeller" in the same sentence as "astringent" confirmed it. Desert was forgotten as the restaurant swelled with children.

Maybe all this has something to do with Adrian Zecha selling out. The new owners are either seriously short of money, clueless or both.

Another great hotel screwed up by short-term management thinking. Join the mass or give it a miss. Perhaps try the place in winter when it's empty. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Purple_Pimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 555 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Amazing scenery and architecture that blends perfectly - a cross between Tadeo Ando and Luiz Baragan. Impeccable service, possibly the best rooms I have ever stayed in, with stunning views from the bed and bath, fabulous spa and too much to do for a three day stay. Great guides who enhance the already superb experience of the beautiful, stunning landscape.
If there is a weakness, its the cuisine. Whilst good, it doesn't justify the price and doesn't reach the outstanding levels of everything else here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robert123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family and I enjoyed 4 delightful days. The rooms and atmosphere were outstanding set with a desert backdrop. Food was delicious and the spa heavenly. One evening we were treated to a historical presentation by Navaho tribe members. A singular life time experience was a trip and short hike through a "slot" canyon. This was a water carved canyon on a few feet wide and 20 feet high, absolutely beautiful. It was a little pricey but worth every penny.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judylaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Never in years of international travel have I encountered a hotel as unique and inspiring as Amangiri. The food is great, the spa creative and wonderful, and the service exceptional. But the element that makes this place so special is the architecture. Rough concrete walls mimic the canyons glory. Water tumbles from crevices. Reflecting pools shimmer in every corner. Gaps in the open air hallways reveal drop dead views of the desert. The staff here is stellar, incredible in every way. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BDWny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights here as part of our honeymoon. Yes, the hotel is very expensive and yes, the service is very spotty. That being said, staying here is an experience you will never forget. The place grew on us with every passing day, but a factory of money we're not, so five nights had to do.

I believe the hotel's setting is described very accurately by others who have posted on this site, so I won't go into any great detail here. Suffice it to say, the hotel is a perfect match for the quiet beauty of its surroundings. Surprisingly spacious for a hotel with only 30+ rooms, you couldn't take more than a few steps and not see something special, whether it was view of the desert through a poster-sized hole in one of the concrete walls, sitting on a couch in the open-air desert lounge at sunset to watch the retiring sun bask the mesa with a golden glow or noticing one of the many unique water-based architectural designs sprinkled throughout the grounds. It really is a perfect extension of its surroundings, which are breath-taking.

We were pleased with the food here. Yes, the menu is limited and we did hear that other guests were unhappy with their meals, but overall, we found the food to be well-prepared and well-presented. We had fish almost each meal (after an unfortunate run-in with the bison short-ribs on our first night) and were uniformly pleased with it and each salad that we had. There is very little consistency in the presentation of the food. We ordered the same salad on four different occasions, and it came to the table looking different each time. We weren't sure whether that was deliberate on their part, but some people who ate at the "chef's table" by the kitchen and got a close-up look at how things ran in the kitchen, told us that it was a comedy of errors. This may be due to the fact that the servers are mostly interns from culinary schools who do not have long experience at the hotel and an interim executive chef. You also need to be patient since the dining service is pretty slow, but since the outdoor and indoor dining areas are so comfortable and lovely, and the cocktails (try the prickly pear margarita) are so good, we were in no rush.

We had several spa treatments each and were very satisfied. The treatment rooms we were in were beautiful and quiet -- the steam shower was especially nice afterwards. Speaking of steam, check out uni-sex steam room -- very interesting. The dry sauna also is very nice and large, as is the work-out room.

Things we loved:

1. Having coffee and croissants brought to our room each morning at 5:45 to watch the sunrise from the couches on our back patio.
2. Eating plums and apples directly off the trees outside our rooms. Yum.
3. The dual-facing showers in the open bathroom.
4. The friendliness of the entire staff. They really couldn't do enough for you.
5. The views.
6. The quiet (even with the surprising number of children who were there on family vacations.)
7. The on-property hikes -- you really don't need to go "off-campus" to see beautiful scenery.
8. The combination boat/kayak trip on Lake Powell. Too beautiful for words.
9. The 7-series BMWs you have at your disposal for off-property trips.

Bottom line -- a fantastic "place" with very inconsistent service. It will have difficulty continuing to attract guests (at those prices) unless something is done about it. I think that Aman needs to bring some serious training here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scrantonkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

this place was amazing, the architecture was incredible, it managed to dazzle and blend at exactly the same time. the staff were all very eager to assist, and the swimming pool is as good as it looks. if i had to be critical - i would say i think for the nightly rate, i would expect a proper king size bed as opposed to two beds together - they're still incredibly comfy but if your 2 year old son climbs in and you end up in the dead centre, there is a ridge to be felt. complimentary snacks in the mini bar were great. the restaurant was a little overpriced for what you got. i dont mind paying $50 - 60 for a steak if its great, but i felt a little like i got the tapas version.. and it was just ok...overall, this place still rocks. we even arranged a babysitter at only $15 an hour which we thought was a song. i still miss watching the sun go down and the stars come out on our daybeds with the fire going. a truly memorable stay!

Room Tip: arrive early and leave late - you will miss this place when you're gone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We wanted a wonderful, pampered and relaxing vacation and that's what we got. There were many families there but I wouldn't call it a family type of hotel. There is just no other upscale, luxury hotel to stay at when visiting Lake Powell. There is hiking, exercising and swimming. No other decent restaurants around - even in Page. No golf course. The Aman hotels are an experience. We have now been to 3 and we were not disappointed at all. There is exceptional attention to detail. Mini bar is stocked with complimentary soft drinks and snacks. When we took our car out to take a drive, our windows had been washed. We drove 10 minutes to the Wahweap Marina and rented a speed boat for a few hours to see the lake for a fraction of the cost from the hotel. The excursions from the hotel are more expensive than you can do on your own, but if you are from a foreign country and don't speak english well and don't know how to arrange things, that's what a place like this can do. They can take you to the marina, rent the boat, take you around the lake with a guide and interpret everything. You get what you pay for. When we go to foreign countries we hire a guide and driver and of course it's more than someone who is local and lives there would pay. The spa is great. Most upscale hotel spa services are expensive. The spa environment is great and my masseuse was terrific. We went in June and it was quite hot. We could only take easy hikes early in the morning and the rest of the day we relaxed, going in and out of the pool to cool off, and read. Service by the pool was great.

Room Tip: Desert view rooms are great. I liked them better than the Mesa view. There is a much more expansive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#12 of 24 in Page
368 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range: $1,674 - $2,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing