We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exclusive, tranquil desert setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
330 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Exclusive, tranquil desert setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

A unique opportunity to explore a national park with luxurious lodging. Amangiri is an impressive architectural spectacle with view nooks throughout the comfortable yet contemporary resort.

Pros:
1. Service - efficient, ready to help (delivered hiking boots to room), attentive servers
2. Breakfast - yogurt/granola was delicious (also recommend the pumpkin french toast)
3. Pool setting - serene, lounge/day beds
4. Exclusive hiking trails - we hiked 3 and had the trails to ourselves
5. Winter package - this allowed us to partake in B, L, and D
6. Shuttle availability
7. In-room amenities: fire pit on patio was a highlight; furniture, bath products, soak tub and rain showers, organic snacks and apples
8. Fireplaces by dining tables (and desert views)
9. Mushroom appetizer
10. Pacing of meals
11. Location - this is probably #1 - compared to camping, a houseboat or 2-star motel in Page, AZ, this is a very desirable lodging option

Cons:
1. Lack of coffeemaker/espresso machine in room (it would useful in winter to have espresso or tea in room)
2. Dinner - quality of food, choices, value of menu options (e.g., elk undercooked; scallops - 3 for $38)
3. Coffee in restaurants - rather than bringing a carafe or refilling coffee cups, the guest had to ask for more coffee. They would bring another cup (the assumption is that diners were probably charged by the cup)
4. Service charge and sales tax on food despite food being "included" in the package (it should be clear how this works in advance of the bill)
5. Stains on white cloth for daybeds and beds on patio of guest rooms
6. Having to walk through the main dining area to go to the spa or to go hiking (would rather not wear a robe through the restaurant or hiking clothes)
7. Despite no coffee/tea in the room, sodas with artificial flavors were in the refrigerator which was interesting since this resort prides itself on organic, ecofriendly emphases
8. Food in general was bland, underseasoned and could benefit from fresh herbs, spices, complexity of flavors (pretty basic ingredients - e.g., truffle oil vs. black or white truffles)
9. Slippers pretty flimsy and not sized for shoe size
10. Some of wait staff lacked confidence (e.g,, AJ) and should receive more training
11. Compared to Amangani (Jackson Hole) there was no parting gift upon check-out or balloons for birthday celebration
12. Bathtub in room needed caulk

Generally I enjoyed my stay immensely. It was a special resort and a unique setting. But compared to Vegas and Phoenix resorts, some of the special touches were missing.

Recommendations for mgt:

1. Beyond winter season, it is recommended that breakfast be included as a standard
2. Chefs should be encouraged to receive additional training about the inclusion of more complex, quality ingredients and more unique dishes - develop a theme or specialty-type of food - ask diners about preferences for spicy or whether they would prefer maple syrup on the side
3. Launder or replace white stained cloths on day beds and in individual rooms
4. Add additional desert plantings for color around the resort to provide stark contrast to concrete (cold) walls
5. Provide "room gift" (e.g., small lotion or something specific to region - e.g., desert rock?)
6. When staff greeted us they mentioned they "thought" about singing happy birthday. Since it was my 40th, I think it would have been great!
7. Consider including complimentary organic coffee/team in room (even if upon request)

Feel free to email me with questions regarding my experience with this resort.

Room Tip: Choose a mesa view room to avoid walking through dining room to spa facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dreamtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    96
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
105
305
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Amangiri is simply wonderful. The desert is mesmerising, the rooms immaculately appointed, the spa unparalleled. Truly magnificent.

We drove across from Los Angeles via a stay in Las Vegas and a tour of Zion Canyon. Stayed in a Mesa View Pool Suite. The view is simply divine. Tranquil, private and incredibly beautiful. Two small wishes: A wood burning fire in the room and that the pool in our suite had a better view. It is very expensive (hence four stars for value) but this is tied with Post Ranch Inn for our best US holiday.

Staff are courteous and very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrichardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Ditto all the great comments that preceded, the beds are the most comfortable, fabulous beds, bar none you'll ever encounter, just sorry I felt compelled to frantically get up the 2nd day to secure a lounge chair at the pool, it wasn't necessary at this time of year apparently, but who knew? There are only a few, they are indeed divine, secure the "bed " ones , which are only on one side, unless you want to get baked. The sun beats down after 10ish and you can't move the umbrellas on the individual ones on the other side. The drinks at bar and restaurant are weak and the wine is expensive ($ 20 plus the least expensive glass, and if they give you more than 4 ounces you are lucky). Please, when you pay 1500 plus a night, this is ridiculous. Also, the restaurant at night, while tables are dreamy outside by the pool, needs improving. The food, when you get it is good, but terribly small portions and only one vegetarian option for an entree. I asked for their tuna appetizer as an entree. No problem, however the "entree" consisted of three bites of tuna on a bed of something really delicious, and after hiking Zion earlier, this and the small appetizer I had gotten wasn't remotely filling. Note, I am a small woman, who eats little--this was beyond ridiculous. I then asked for just some side vegetables I had seen on others' plates. No problem. Twenty minutes later the waitress tells us they are having kitchen issues and do I really still want this? Answer no because now it is 10 and I am not happy. Upon returning to the room, I see a veggie pizza on the menu and wish I'd gotten room service. But I regroup in the morning, and the buffet is great, lunch is good, drinks are still good but weak, so we order a few, and life is good.

Hiking is wonderful, we went by ourselves on the property, never saw another soul. I had a wonderful massage, not gimicky, perfect, all is quiet--no kids--heaven. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
775 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I went for a long weekend. We were very impressed with the property. On arrival it seemed as if the entire staff came out to meet us. We were escorted to the lounge for cocktails as our room was prepared. When the room was ready we were escorted where we found our luggage waiting for us. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was stress free. The scenery is extraordinary and the staff was superb. We enjoyed hiking and the spa. The chef's counter is a great place to dine. We would strongly recommend the property to get away from just about everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were blown away. The hotel is as lovely as the pictures and is a serene getaway. We also spent a day on Lake Powell, just stunning!
Loads of hiking, striking scenery, but leave time to relax at the pool. Food is very good (and pricy), but sometimes too "fancy." Wine prices are extremely high and wine by the glass portions are too small.
Service was fantastic and friendly, room was perfect. We would return in a heartbeat.
Be sure to follow the advice of a previous poster and book through a premium credit card...we got free breakfasts and free spa treatments using AmEx Platinum.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Outstanding in every way. Gorgeous setting, luxurious property, service is stellar.

The beautiful heated pool built around the base of the mountain is magnificent, with its umbrella shaded huge terrycloth covered 'beds' to lounge around on.

Everything on the resort is designed for comfort.

Our terrace pool suite was large lovely, with an incredibly comfortable bed, great water pressure at the double sinks, soft thick towels and a breath-taking view of the desert/mountains.

Twice daily housekeeping did a great job, and replenished anything in the complimentary wet bar or bathroom so you always had what you wanted on hand.
Closet space is very good, with thick hangers.

Big desk with free wifi and electric outlets.

The private small plunge pool in the front of your suite, and the upstairs deck were a treat too. Star gazing is wonderful in the clean air:)

90 minute swedish massage from Camilla at The Spa was very nice. Treatment rooms are enormous and immaculately clean. There is a steam room, an icy cold small plunge pool, a small regular pool -- and your own separate shower/changing area.

DO NOT bring anyone under 18 years old here, please.

Amangiri is a place for romance, for elegant, sumptuous, serene luxury.
For couples who want privacy and to get away from the hustle and bustle. It is NOT appropriate for families, as a nosy toddler or teenager would not be welcome in this discreet, private setting of peaceful relaxing beauty.

Food was VERY good considering it is in the middle of nowhere, and at least 2 hours to the nearest city where fresh fruit, vegetables, seafood, etc. can be flown in.
Breakfast pastires were divinely flaky and delicious.
The B.L.T. at lunch is excellent too.
Jessika is a very attentive and sweet waitress.

Can't wait to return. Worth every penny, expensive as it is. Next time we will stay for four nights. Two just isn't long enough:)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cinderella_Dearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The photos on the website don't begin to do justice to this extraordinary hotel. A lovely resort in an unmatched location, with flawless service. I had some anxiety that the "Aman" concept would not transfer well to the US and I was so happy to find that it does, beautifully. Most of the staff grew up in the desert and their perspective and experience significantly enhanced our stay.
Plus, where else can you spend the night under the stars on a bed made up with 800 thread count sheets and down pillows? We loved every minute.
Last comment: we were there in July and found the resort quite full of families with children. The kids were all very well behaved and not in any way obtrusive (and we have kids and love kids), but I don't think this is really a place for children. They all looked kind of wistful and a bit bored... The magic of this place is more adult.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SevenContinents07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Page - Lake Powell Area
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Property: Amangiri
Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741-0285
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing