We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I went for a long weekend. We were very impressed with the property. On arrival it seemed as if the entire staff came out to meet us. We were escorted to the lounge for cocktails as our room was prepared. When the room was ready we were escorted where we found our luggage waiting for us. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was stress free. The scenery is extraordinary and the staff was superb. We enjoyed hiking and the spa. The chef's counter is a great place to dine. We would strongly recommend the property to get away from just about everything.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 567 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were blown away. The hotel is as lovely as the pictures and is a serene getaway. We also spent a day on Lake Powell, just stunning!
Loads of hiking, striking scenery, but leave time to relax at the pool. Food is very good (and pricy), but sometimes too "fancy." Wine prices are extremely high and wine by the glass portions are too small.
Service was fantastic and friendly, room was perfect. We would return in a heartbeat.
Be sure to follow the advice of a previous poster and book through a premium credit card...we got free breakfasts and free spa treatments using AmEx Platinum.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Outstanding in every way. Gorgeous setting, luxurious property, service is stellar.

The beautiful heated pool built around the base of the mountain is magnificent, with its umbrella shaded huge terrycloth covered 'beds' to lounge around on.

Everything on the resort is designed for comfort.

Our terrace pool suite was large lovely, with an incredibly comfortable bed, great water pressure at the double sinks, soft thick towels and a breath-taking view of the desert/mountains.

Twice daily housekeeping did a great job, and replenished anything in the complimentary wet bar or bathroom so you always had what you wanted on hand.
Closet space is very good, with thick hangers.

Big desk with free wifi and electric outlets.

The private small plunge pool in the front of your suite, and the upstairs deck were a treat too. Star gazing is wonderful in the clean air:)

90 minute swedish massage from Camilla at The Spa was very nice. Treatment rooms are enormous and immaculately clean. There is a steam room, an icy cold small plunge pool, a small regular pool -- and your own separate shower/changing area.

DO NOT bring anyone under 18 years old here, please.

Amangiri is a place for romance, for elegant, sumptuous, serene luxury.
For couples who want privacy and to get away from the hustle and bustle. It is NOT appropriate for families, as a nosy toddler or teenager would not be welcome in this discreet, private setting of peaceful relaxing beauty.

Food was VERY good considering it is in the middle of nowhere, and at least 2 hours to the nearest city where fresh fruit, vegetables, seafood, etc. can be flown in.
Breakfast pastires were divinely flaky and delicious.
The B.L.T. at lunch is excellent too.
Jessika is a very attentive and sweet waitress.

Can't wait to return. Worth every penny, expensive as it is. Next time we will stay for four nights. Two just isn't long enough:)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CinderellaDearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The photos on the website don't begin to do justice to this extraordinary hotel. A lovely resort in an unmatched location, with flawless service. I had some anxiety that the "Aman" concept would not transfer well to the US and I was so happy to find that it does, beautifully. Most of the staff grew up in the desert and their perspective and experience significantly enhanced our stay.
Plus, where else can you spend the night under the stars on a bed made up with 800 thread count sheets and down pillows? We loved every minute.
Last comment: we were there in July and found the resort quite full of families with children. The kids were all very well behaved and not in any way obtrusive (and we have kids and love kids), but I don't think this is really a place for children. They all looked kind of wistful and a bit bored... The magic of this place is more adult.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SevenContinents07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

For me, the appeal of the Amangiri was the promise of an environmentally conscious luxury resort in an area that was so far off the beaten path as to be previously limited to back packers, hikers, and other hardy and self sufficient types. Although I long for desert landscapes, I also like resort amenities, and although pricey, the resort seemed like a lovely place to splurge for a getaway with my husband.
While we we generally pleased with our experience, there were a few things that make me hesitate to return.
First the positives:
The setting along the border of Utah and Arizona is absolutely incredible-remote and windswept, the spectacular sunrises, sunsets, and stargazing opportunities are unsurpassed. The resort architecture is stunning, comfortable, and thought provoking. Our mesa view room was wonderful and plush with a minimalist aesthetic. Although we stayed when the hotel was almost fully booked, we had a sense that we had the place to ourselves. There are daily lists of activities, both free and for a fee and the concierge is very helpful helping decide and arrange what to do. We enjoyed a mix of free activities (group hikes and yoga and day trip car rental) and extra fee activities (slot canyon tour, horsebackriding, houseboat dinner.)We were totally bowled over by the unique activities and splendid sights.
Next the not so good:
There is only one dining option, the hotel restaurant. The food was fine but the prices were high and the meal options became tiresome after only a couple of days.
The staff, while very friendly (maybe overly, self-consciously so), didn't seem up to the trained level of a high end resort.
We felt somewhat nickel and dimed to death at the end of our stay. The charges incurred while at the resort equalled, or maybe surpassed the price of lodging there.
My biggest beef was the lack of information about how the resort came to be. I was curious about how this new resort came to acquire hundreds of acres and water rights and exclusive ownership of a native american archeological site. This part of the state is surrounded by Native American reservations, cattle ranches, and Bureau of Land Management areas. Although I asked several people at the resort about the history, I never received a substantive answer, and stopped asking after a while. It made me feel like, by staying there, I was somehow complicit in some kind of land or people exploitation. I'm sure this isn't the case, but without answers to my questions, my imagination ran wild.

Room Tip: Our Mesa View room was wonderful with a great view and lovely little patio and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slgslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Recently spent 5 days/4 nights at Amangiri, and had the following thoughts:


OVERALL - While we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Amangiri, I found myself unable to give it a 5-star rating. I do think it's absolutely worth going once, just for the beauty of it, as long as you know that the service will be good but not great. I've tried to include lots of detail below to give a feel for what it's like.

BOOKING A ROOM - We used our Visa Signature Card to book the room (through the Visa Signature web site), which provided the following perks: automatic upgrade (if available), $25 food/beverage credit, complimentary continental breakfast each morning, and 3PM check out (if available). The room rate is the same, regardless of whether you use the Visa Signature offer or just book directly through the hotel. Upon arrival (and without us even asking), we were upgraded to a Mesa View Suite (from our original booked Desert View Suite) - the Mesa View Suite is $50 more per night, so over our 4 nights, this was worth $200. We were wondering how the complimentary continental breakfast would work out, since there isn't really such a thing on the hotel menu...we were pleasantly surprised to find that Amangiri dealt with this by just not charging us for breakfasts, regardless of the fact that we usually ordered normal breakfast entrees. This probably tallied to about $50 per day (for two people), so add another $200 in benefits. And as mentioned before, there's a $25 food/beverage credit which was automatically applied to our bill. All-in-all, the value of using the Visa Signature Card was probably at least $425...

GETTING THERE - We flew into Page, Arizona (connecting from Phoenix)...If you don't like small planes, you should definitely drive from Phoenix or Las Vegas (about a 4-4.5 hour drive from either of those cities). The plane is very small (no flight attendant and no restroom), and the ride was pretty bumpy. In addition, connecting in Phoenix (from USAir to Great Lakes Airlines) entailed taking a bus from one terminal to another, and then going through security again. When you add up all of the hours spent shuffling through the airport, there probably isn't THAT much of a difference between flying and driving.

ARRIVAL - We were met at the airport by a driver in a shiny new BMW X5 (transportation to and from the Page airport is complimentary). Joseph was an extremely smooth driver, and got us to the resort in about 20-30 minutes. We were met in the driveway by a phalanx of staff and whisked to the lobby, where we were greeted with lemonades and cool towels.

RESORT DESIGN - Amangiri is the most beautiful resort that I've ever seen. The hotel sits on 670 acres, and its design blends in seamlessly with the surrounding environment of mesas and desert. The end of each of the pavilions on either side of the main building features an opening that perfectly frames the view - it's so spectacular that it looks fake.

ROOMS - The rooms are spacious and elegantly designed. Both the bedroom and the bathroom are designed to flow toward huge windows that overlook the surrounding landscape (in our case, the mesa). As others have noted, the design of the bathroom can be disconcerting, in that the only part of the bathroom that has a door is the toilet itself. Within the bathroom, the shower/bath is not screened from the sink/vanity area, nor is there a door to close off the bathroom from the bedroom, so be sure that your travel companion is someone with whom you are extremely comfortable!

SERVICE - As mentioned in a number of other reviews, the service doesn't quite live up to the Aman hype. The staff is incredibly friendly, and once you ask them for anything, they will very quickly and efficiently get it for you. But there isn't the level of proactivity that one would hope for at this price point. The staff is attentive, but not omnipresent - so there are times when you're in the restaurant and will have to look around to get their attention for more water, or at the pool and will need to flag down someone to order food or to help set up an umbrella. Perhaps I'm jaded, but when I go to the ultra high-end resorts, I'm actively looking for how they're going to impress me with their service. Amangiri service is perfectly fine, but doesn't knock your socks off. One thing that they do very well is memorize who you are - you never need to sign for anything, whether it's in the restaurant, at the spa, at the pool, or in the gift shop. They know who you are, and just add it to the bill, which is only presented at check out (unless you ask to see it before). This definitely helps relieve the stress of traveling...at least until you have to face the music at check out.

POOL - If you've seen the pictures, you know that one of the signature design elements is that the pool actually works its way around an enormous rock. It's beautiful and serene. The daybeds are enormous and extremely comfortable. Part of the zen scene is that there isn't any music playing at the pool, so all you hear is a gentle waterfall. The other guests all seem to respect the fact that everyone is there for a peaceful experience, and keep conversations at a quiet level. If you're looking for a hopping Vegas-like pool scene, this isn't it, but for us, it was a fantastic way to relax and de-stress.

FIT AND FINISH - The color palette utilized throughout the resort (off-white is a dominant theme) helps things blend into the surrounding environment, but it also leads to couches and pillows that seem to attract stains. The covers for the menus in the restaurant were frayed. These things don't materially detract from your stay, but neither do they seem befitting of the price point.

MOST AWESOME PERK EVER - Amangiri has a relationship with BMW that provides a spectacular perk that isn't advertised or promoted anywhere on their web site or in their brochures - they have a brand new 7 series sedan and 6 series convertible that are available to guests for a complimentary "test drive" (they ask that you only use it for a few hours, and not for an entire day). I saw this on another forum, and asked about it when I made the booking. You can't reserve the car before arriving at the resort, but can do so while you're checking in. As a result, we booked the car when we got there, and took the shiny convertible out to Lake Powell for an afternoon a couple of days later. Sweet!

ACTIVITIES: Complimentary guided introductory hikes (about 1-1.5 hours long) on the Amangiri property are offered twice a day (at 8AM and 5PM). These were really fantastic, and the guides provided great insights on the geology and local flora/fauna. Bring hiking shoes if you have them, because while the hikes aren't difficult, you are often walking on rock as opposed to a defined trail. Complimentary yoga classes are offered twice a day (at 8AM and 4:30PM) - actually, it's yoga in the morning and yoga/pilates in the afternoon. My wife, who is a relatively advanced yoga practitioner, was pleased with the classes. The only real complaint is that the hikes and yoga overlap, which means that you have to choose.

FOOD - There is only one restaurant at the resort. I found the food to be hit or miss. Breakfasts were uniformly exceptional (get the French Toast!). Lunch was also generally quite good (definitely have the BLT and try pizzas from the wood-fired oven). My dinners varied between okay and very good. My wife, who is a vegetarian, was quite pleased with the efforts that the staff made - they planned additional entrees for her, and even put together something on the spot based on ingredients that she identified. Prices are reasonable if you are used to living in a big city - lunch entrees were $15-20, and dinner entrees ranged from $20-45.

SPA - The spa features a full slate of available services, and there is complimentary use of the hot tub, sauna, steam room and cold plunge. I had a 1-hour massage, which was very good. I also tried the flotation therapy, which was VERY cool. Located in a darkened room, the flotation therapy pool has very high saline content so you just float without trying. It's probably as close as you can get to a weightless experience outside of NASA. The idea is to reach a state of utter relaxation (you don't have to support yourself with a single muscle). Mission accomplished! One quibble about the spa - there are changing rooms, but no lockers in which to put your clothing...so most folks just put on a robe and slippers in their own rooms and walk to the spa that way. If this is part of the Aman ethos, I wish someone had explained it to me - instead, it just felt a little inconvenient.

FITNESS ROOM - Use of the fitness room is complimentary. The fitness room is VERY nice - it was larger than most hotel gyms I've encountered, which is particularly noteworthy considering that there are only 34 rooms in the entire resort. The cardio room had 7 or 8 very new cardio machines (bikes, ellipticals, and steppers), each with a built-in TV, along with foam rollers, fitness balls, a couple of interesting stretching machines, and an ab bench. The separate weight room had a couple of multi-positional benches, a rack of dumbells up to 50 pounds (in 2.5 pound increments), and a variety of weight machines (chest press, pull-downs, multi-purpose pulley machine, seated row, leg extension and leg curl). Bottles of water, towels, and headphones are freely offered, but there is no attendant at the gym, nor is there refrigerated water.

LENGTH OF STAY - We wavered between booking 4 days/3 nights or 5 days/4 nights, and decided on the longer stay. In retrospect, unless you are planning on making long trips to the Grand Canyon or other surrounding national parks, 4 days/3 nights is enough time to take advantage of the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank highhandicapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This resort is absolutely beautiful, and the service is impeccable and discreet. The sometimes stark architecture blends in perfectly with the surroundings and creates a very peaceful atmosphere. We travelled for several months this year and this place definitely stands out as the best by far. We were there with three small children for a week and were made to feel very welcome. There were several other families with children and the resort manager told us that since they are having more families than expected they are thinking about connecting some of the suites to accommodate families better. They also have created a children's menu. The food was excellent. There are some beautiful hikes around the property and various activities can be organized through the resort (horseback riding etc.)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAG084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
10 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
10.4 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Page - Lake Powell Area
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range: $1,706 - $2,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing