We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They deliver to your motel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freestyle pizza

Freestyle pizza
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Beaver
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
camarillo, ca
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“They deliver to your motel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in Beaver for a week of skiing at Eagle Point (free lift tickets for Calif. residents!), and some evenings we were just too tired to do the restaurant thing. Freestyle is located next to the local movie theater (strangely, open only Mondays and Thurs-Sat), but Freestyle is there every evening. As mentioned, it's waaaaay above chain-pizza quality, with generous toppings. A 14-inch cheese is only $6 (with coupon from the local paper), and extra toppings are only $1. There's also a much larger size, which is MORE than enough to feed 4, including ski-ravenous teenage boys. As mentioned, seating is very limited, but they will deliver straight to your hotel room door if you're in Beaver (with a $2 delivery charge).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank miznina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great pizza, small eating area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This pizza is really awesome, very above average for such a small town. The basic sausage pie was very good, they did not skimp on the meat and the sausage had some zest. Prices are reasonable. There are only 3 booths for dining in, I think they do a big takeout business. Bare bones atmosphere, but who cares.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“WAY Better than Chain Store Pizza!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ended up in middle-of-nowhere Beaver, UT, tired of the car and hungry. Saw Freestyle Pizza on our map app & decided to try it. Pizza sounded good after a week of campstove food.

We are So glad we stopped here! Usually, when we get pizza, I find myself blotting tons of grease off until it's edible. Not so with Freestyle pizza. They cooked it fresh - 30 minutes. By the time we got to our hotel, it was still hot and Oh-So-Yummy. Husband & kids very much approved.

A large is 14" (giant is 18"). Large was MORE than enough for us - we have leftovers! Specialty large is about $12.
There is a family deal for Giant 2-topping pizza, breadsticks, and a 2-liter soda - $17.99.

They ARE open Sundays, according to the sign.

My only problem was that it was HOT inside, and we were "tortured" the entire 30 minutes by the stomach-grumbling smells wafting towards us. YUM. The pizza was absolutely worth it, though!!!

Cheaper than carry-out & WAY bigger & WAY less grease.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good pizza, great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Freestyle pizza
Beaver is a small town that seems to be struggling economically. It's got wide streets, a central park courthouse area and a main street with some businesses like one selling pinatas, a movie theater and many empty storefronts. Freestyle pizza is located on the main street and is worth a stop if you are in the area.
Atmosphere: the shop is quite small with maybe five booths with formica tables. You place your order at the counter and the pizza is brought to your table.
Service: the owner seems a bit taciturn but is very willing to help, you just have to ask. He will kind of nod and use few words but you'll get what you ask for. We had to ask for plates, forks and we hunted down our own napkins which were by the register. Bathrooms are located through the old movie theater next door and the woman's is set up like a Marilyn monroe dressing room, which is worth a peak.
Food: this is new York style pizza sort of, with a toothy somewhat thin crust that is not crunchy but stretchy. They make the dough on site and it is tasty. Toppings are pretty traditional and prices are incredibly reasonable.  We had a  mushroom and pepperoni pizza. The mushrooms were fresh not jarred. The sauce was tangy and flavorful. We really enjoyed the pizza. There are bread sticks on the menu but that's about it, no salad or pasta. They have a small selection of beverages.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luluEastBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freestyle pizza also viewed

 

Been to Freestyle pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing