We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service and the friendliest Beaver ever seen ...”
Review of Crazy Cow Cafe

Crazy Cow Cafe
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Beaver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Crazy Cow Cafe is located in Southern Utah directly off Exit 112 on I-15 next to the Best Western Paradise Inn of Beaver and centrally located as for visitors heading to Utah's beautiful National Parks and other wonderful destinations including Bryce Canyon, Zion, Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument, Canyon lands and more. The BEST Crazy Cow Cafe is the perfect stop when exploring Southern Utah and Utah's National Parks.The Crazy Cow Cafe is halfway between Denver and Los Angeles on I-15, Exit 112, in Beaver Utah featuring year round activities in the surrounding Beaver Mountains, National Parks, Eagle Point Ski Resort, Paiute ATV Trail System, Cedar Breaks National Monument and Brian Head Ski Resort - including hiking, hunting, fishing, canoeing, mountain biking, golfing, skiing and snowmobiling. Visitors stopping at Crazy Cow Cafe in Beaver Utah can also enjoy yearly festivities including fourth & twenty fourth of July celebrations, the Beaver Rodeo, Pioneer Day celebrations and Butch Cassidy Days. The Crazy Cow Cafe is also located just 52 miles from the Utah Shakespearean Festival in Cedar City, which offers theater performances and activities during the summer months.Crazy Cow Cafe is clean, contemporary, friendly and fun. Crazy Cow Cafe offers fabulous family food at fabulous prices with fabulous service.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were passing through Beaver on our way to Phoenix from Calgary. The restaurant was new, good atmosphere and looked like a typical nice place; however, it seemed to change once the people and food were involved. The friendliness was unseen (three guys and one girl just couldn't do enough, they just kept helping and being friendly), the food quality was very good - just a great all around experience. Keep up the great attitude guys ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil J, Owner at Crazy Cow Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Holy Cow!

Thanks for your fun review. We want you to walk away happy with the food but when you walk out the door surprised by how much we care - that means everything.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 732 of 900 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I am basing my review on a few factors: 1. we live part time in Utah so are not just passing through or staying at the Best Western; 2. This is far and away the best option in or around Beaver; and 3. I have to commend the locals for starting a place that is trying to have a healthy menu and hire local staff, as well as using local product. Our service was great, we were there a little before dinner so it wasn't too full, it is child/family friendly and has a small gift shop with odds and ends. Again, not since Swiss Village was around in the 70s has Beaver/Cedar City area had a nice, family restaurant! It is a bit on the pricey side but you are only paying a few dollars more than the fast food options, plus supporting local business!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roxita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil J, Owner at Crazy Cow Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Best Review!

Thanks for taking time to let everyone know why we are the best. Beaver is a special little town to us so thank you for your kind words. We try to use the best products we can. We are farmers and ranchers so In season we grow some of our own vegetables and we want everyone to know that Beaver Utah has the cleanest, purist, best-tasting water in America!

Hope to see you an udder day soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

You don't expect much in little Beaver Utah, but the Crazy Cow Café was a very pleasant surprise! We stayed at the Best Western next door and walked over to the Crazy Cow for dinner and again for breakfast. Chicken Caesar salad was excellent and with a nice presentation. My wife had the salad bar which she said was quite good. Staff was excellent. Breakfast was quite good.

I would consider the Crazy Cow as a definite place to stop next time we are in the area. I don't know why some other reviews are so negative. Our experience was very positive. Prices are quite reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulL227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil J, Owner at Crazy Cow Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

AN UDDER DAY IN PARADISE!

Thanks for staying at the Best Western Paradise Inn. Crazy cow Cafe and Best Western Paradise Inn make a great team. We love getting to know all the hotel guest from around the world. We're happy you left happy.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Seems like it's trying to be a bit of an upscale cafe but missed the mark. Food was ok, had salad bar and grilled cheese that came off sounding fancy on the menu but was lacking. The onions could have been cooked a bit more before adding to the sandwich and a little more cheese would have been great. Service at our table was good, but salad bar was ignored the whole time we were there; several items were out or down enough that you couldn't grab any with the tongs. I thought that $8.99 was high for the salad bar as well as $8.99 for grilled cheese and sweet potato fries.

Thank louupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil J, Owner at Crazy Cow Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Tomorrow is an udder day.

We're happy you enjoyed good service at your table. Thanks helping us see where we can improve. Good is not enough. Our food and service should be surprisingly good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This review might seem negative...it isn't. This is a small eatery in a small town that caters to the eating habits of the area. I am a food snob, and I eat healthy food, so the food could not "wow" me. However, the fish and chips was better than many places I have been. The sweet potato fries were fine, as well. If you don't care about eating healthy, then you will be happy.

I am amazed that one of the reviews complained about the service. Either we really had good timing, or the other reviewer was there on a bad night. I cannot think of any employee who was not friendly and accommodating. We ate there for dinner after driving all day. The next morning we ate breakfast there, because it was included in the price of the room at the Best Western Paradise Inn. Breakfast was way better than most hotels. A huge thank you for that! Every person who was in that restaurant was very friendly and cheerful.

My thoughts are that people who are used to eating hamburgers and fries and other fried foods
and the typical American fare, will be fine eating here. it is not an "end destination" kind of place. It is where you go to get something to eat, because you need to eat. It doesn't pretend to be anything but that. It is not the type of place that is hoping that some major food critic will come in and give it a glorious 5-star rating. That is not what they are about...end of story. Their food is average, not bad, not amazing. We would be fine eating here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mauzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil J, Owner at Crazy Cow Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for thanking us.

We try our best to be what we are and get better at it each day. We are so glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your Dinner and a good night's sleep at Best Western paradise Inn and then took time to enjoy the free hot breakfast.

Friends for-"heifer"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Cow Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Cow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing