We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zapata
portland texas, United States
1 review
“good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

the price was right, the breakfast looked good,(i could not eat ) but there are several places to eat at any time close by. i will choose best western inn again next time i am in zapata. my family stayed at best western as well and an they did have the breakfast and enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnByTheLakeStaff, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
George M. thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN your feedback is always appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Thank you again, GM Yvonne Guerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
missiom, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

hotel and staff was clean. staff was friendly and infomative. hotel was east to get to. there were pleant of things near by. towels ere soft, linens were clean and smelled fresh, bed was nicely made. tv was good size, breakfast was great, seemed fresh. RESTROOM IS WAY TOO SMALL!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mariano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnByTheLakeStaff, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

As a fisherman we are always looking for a safe and convenient place to stay and know our boats are going to be safe, I recommend this hotel 100% Place is very well lit and right next to one of the main ramps! Amazing breakfast and nice rooms! Stay here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnByTheLakeStaff, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I took a birding group of 12 and we had great service with good amenities, evening snacks and drinks, and a full breakfast, all for a very reasonable price. The accommodations were excellent and the rooms very clean and surprisingly quiet. The staff was most helpful and they worked really well with me to get all the rooms setup and it was no problem to get some changes made a couple days before we were to arrive (thank you Erica!). Finally, I heard no complaints from any of the members of our group - all were quite positive about our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Micheal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnByTheLakeStaff, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to you and your group staying with us again in the future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have been staying at the Best Western by the Lake in Zapata, Texas twice a year for the last 3 years. The staff understands that they are in the "people business" first and the hotel business second. The staff is friendly, efficient, accommodating and have very good people skills and this stimulates peoples desire to return to their motel. People usually don't remember what went on during a stay at a motel/hotel unless something was remarkably good or bad, but they always remember how they felt. The staff at the Best Western by the Lake makes you feel welcome and appreciated. One thing that I have found to be "above and beyond" is the fact that when you check into your room, you receive a call from the front desk inquiring if everything is satisfactory and do you need anything. This particular Best Western has been in Zapata for years and has been continually updated and refreshed. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the appliances work and they are always well supplied with toiletries. The grounds are attractive and well manicured and it seems more like a tropical resort than a motel. I can recommend this location without hesitation, but be sure to make your reservation early if you plan on staying there from January through May due to the peak fishing season at Falcon Lake. Best wishes and travel safely.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have less road noise if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnByTheLakeStaff, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for the Wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you here with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in your hotel and i must say that it really feels like home away from home!!very very nice and clean rooms and i must mention the greatest staff ever!!!we will return sooner than soon!!!!and let me mention about the hot breakfast and happy hour,,,,it is a must and my family really enjoyed our stay!!I highly recommend the hotel to all my family and freinds!! nothing but the best!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMPEREZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnByTheLakeStaff, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience here. We look foward to seeing you and your group again soon. The Audubon's will be here waiting.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

#1 Bass fishing spot in the US and there is very little parking for boats during a big tournament event. The room was clean. The staff works at the own slow pace at the front desk. Oh did I mention the parking was lacking. Then if you did have parking you better make sure you can get out in the morning and you better have a spotter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnByTheLakeStaff, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our property. We are sorry that you did not have a good experiance this time but hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zapata hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Zapata
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake
Address: 1896 S US Highway 83, Zapata, TX 78076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Zapata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zapata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing