We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grievous Mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodway
Certificate of Excellence
George West, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grievous Mistake”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Parents week-end at Baylor University makes finding a room problematic in the Waco area. I did not early book because of medical circumstances.When I was able to make a plan, I could only obtain a room by booking for two nights and the only room available was a two room suite. It was pricey. However, when I looked at the rates on the room door the posted cost for one person was 199.00. I was charged $265.00 each night of my stay. My husband had died 17 days earlier. I asked for smaller accomodations for Friday night explaining that my daughter, son-in-law and two young grandchildren would not arrive until Saturday afternoon and I was alone for Friday night.. No rooms were said to be available. , which I understood. However, I could not understand why the Manager was unyielding in allowing me the one person rate for Friday night and charging me above the posted rate for both nights.The highest posted rate was 259.00 They made their money from my Friday night stay to be sure. One widow, one bed, one towel , no maid service on Saturday morning and a breakfast of Rasin Bran, coffee and juice.
I know it's business; but, to this lone traveler it felt like price gouging at a very personal level when fees did NOT reflect those posted on the hotel room door. Don't expect empathy from the managment or a fair deal. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crickettiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear crickettiley,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    39
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
69
31
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I travel to Waco once a month and when I cant get into the Springhill Suites I stay here. The hotel is very clean, and I have always found the staff to be very nice. The rooms are just smaller than the springhill and the pillows I find to be terrible just nothing to them at all. I wish they had a bar so I could enjoy a drink after a long day. Other than that the breakfast is not the best, but its free with your stay so I cant complain too much. Very local to other restaurants etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdrambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for seven nights on business. Hotel seems new.

Location convenient, being in Waco at junction of routes 6 and 340 and just off I35 but you can't walk anywhere and need a car to get to the nearest restaurant or shop.

Nice welcome and I was given a bottle of water and a pack of peanuts when I arrived. There’s a ‘help-yourself’ pop-corn trolley in reception in the evenings.

Room was good Holiday Inn standard, comfortable bed, good bathroom, good size. Internet access was free and fast. Free buffet breakfast was good.

Not really much else to say, have no complaints, it was what I wanted and so was well satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in 2 queen bed room with my 7 year old son. Room was exceptionally clean and tidy. Good easy location right off 35 and the 340 loop, lots of food close by. Beds were comfy but on the former side, I like that but some won't. Breakfast was standard HIE and well serviced. WiFi worked well even on top floor.

Some issues:
--pool is very cold. Even the hot tub isn't as hot as you would expect. Also there are no lights in the pool area so once it got dark we had to go. Looked everywhere for a light switch.
--toilet in our room, the flushing handle snapped off. I just opened the tank and manually lifted the bar and it's a simple fix, but it happened.
--it's apparently policy to shut off AC when room is cleaned. Our room was 89 degrees inside when we first got in. It cools just fine but that really is an unpleasant welcome and it taxes the hell out of the HVAC units.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My family and I stayed here while in Waco for a State track meet. The hotel was very clean inside and out. It is easy to access and a quiet area. The personnel at the front desk was very friendly. Our room was on the top floor almost at the end of the hall so it was fairly quiet. The room was very clean. The breakfast was all fresh and tasted great. My only complaint would be the beds. This is our second stay at a Holiday Inn Express in the past three weeks and the beds at both locations are very firm. Some may like this, but they are a little too hard for me. I would definitly consider staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor end of the hall will cut down on any noise from other guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bretsewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

unethical and rude front desk lady, luckily the mgr has some sense

Room Tip: higher floors make up for the small size of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Abdul F,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service received from our front desk staff. We are happy you were able to speak with a manager regarding your experience. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.



Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We visited the hotel on a trip to Waco for a Baylor basketball game and stayed one night. It is located in a convenient location - only 5-10 minutes away from Baylor, and near the mall and the Hollywood movie theater. The heat worked well in the room and the room was nice and clean. We had a room with a wet bar in it, which cost $10 more for something I really didn't want, but that was all that was left when I booked it.

The pool is indoors and good sized; the fitness center is a little sparse, with only a few pieces of equipment, but about what you would expect for this class of hotel. The beds are firm and I have read some other reviews that didn't like them, but they were fine for us.

The hair dryer in the bathroom did keep cutting out when my wife was trying to dry her hair in the morning. We reported it to the front desk on our way out and they promised to look into it. That was about the only problem we ran into during our stay.

Breakfast was good and the staff did a good job of keeping the breakfast area stocked, even as the weekend breakfast time neared closing time. This is our second time staying at this hotel and we have been happy. I like the pancake machines which make one pancake at a time, fresh and hot. The only issue is it takes a while to make each one and is hard to wait for one when they are busy.

Overall, it was a nice place to stay at a good rate. The staff seemed to be helpful but we really didn't have any problems that would have tested them. We plan to go back again if we find ourselves in Waco.

Room Tip: Our room faced HWY 84 amd we had no problems with road noise, so the only tip we can offer is to boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moved2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodway
3.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Waco
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Waco Woodway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco
Comfort Suites Waco
#10 of 30 in Waco
182 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco North
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites
Address: 6808 Woodway Dr, Woodway, TX 76712 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Woodway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites. On your next trip to Woodway, stay at our Best Western Plus hotel located in central Texas. Our recently updated, non-smoking property is ready for you to stay with us! This hotel's close proximity to Hwy 6 and Hwy 84 makes traveling around the city simple and allows you easy access to many attractions and businesses in the area. Leisure travelers can shop at the Richland Mall where there is a wide selection of shops and eateries. Staying at our Woodway - Waco hotel means you'll travel less than seven miles to visit Baylor University. If you are looking to get the family into the outdoors, why not take a trip to the Cameron Park Zoo or to Lake Waco, which are less than ten miles from our location. Business and professional travelers are happy to know that we are near many local schools, industries and hospitals. Some of the local businesses in the area include Coke-Minute Maid, Providence & Hillcrest Hospitals, Texas Farm Bureau, Allergan and M&M Mars. If you need to work while visiting central Texas, our hotel's business amenities like Wi-Fi access and business center make working easier. Leisure and business travelers alike appreciate our heated, indoor pool and whirlpool. We also have a fitness center to help you keep up your workout routine while you are visiting. Book your room at our Woodway - Waco hotel today to experience consistent quality at a price you can afford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodway Hotel Woodway
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Woodway
Holiday Inn Woodway
Woodway Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing