We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco's Italian Restaurant & Pzzr

Marco's Italian Restaurant & Pzzr
Ranked #10 of 39 Restaurants in Wimberley
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sharpes
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We went to Marco's Italian restaurant to celebrate our daughter Birthday. The menu had a wide selection of food including various types of non Italian foods. The portions were more then ample and the service was outstanding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith7756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    57
    32
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NO PROBLEM WITH SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Seems other gripes on Trip Advisor with this restaurant has been for service. Think these people must have been having bad day. Tonight there were 5 young ladies serving and they were doing great job. Kitchen is small and we were there during busiest time but food served in timely manner and was hot. Chicken parm was huge dish and excellent. Pizza going to other tables looked fantastic and a local highly recommended the pizza here. Will be returning to Marco's next time we are in Wimberley.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Consistantly good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stay in Wimberley for the Formula 1 races and have dined here four times.

All four times the food has been hot and delicious. The entrée prices are around $12-14 which includes salad and bread. Service was prompt and not overbearing. The ambiance is just ok but then again it's not a place for a romantic event.

There are not that many restaurants in the area so it's good to have one you can trust.

They do not serve beer or wine but this can be purchased next door at a wine tasting store or the nearby grocery store.

Recommend you get there early on the weekends as it can fill up fast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelaide_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
1 review
“Cute place, friendly staff, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Microwaved tomato basil soup main course, oil and spices for dipping marginal bread poppets were nasty. My friend ordered a pizza and pronounced it very good. Waiter was great - extremely attentive despite shortage of two wait staff on a busy tourist weekend. The soup was tasty but cold on top and burned my mouth from the bottom. Stir before serving?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karmasurfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely and Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

For a small, Mom-and-Pop place on the Square in Wimberley, this restaurant has a lot of ambiance, complete with the red-checkered tablecloths. There are no cocktails, beer, or wine served here, but as many others have said you can bring your own wine without paying a corking fee. That's unheard of in my experience, and it is a BIG selling point for Marco's. So, we enjoyed a great Italian dinner with some excellent wine. We shared appetizers of the Shrimp Avocado Salad and the Spinach Artichoke Dip. Both were good, but I thought the presentation of the salad was a little troublesome for passing the plate to share among six people. The shrimp weren't overcooked, and the dip used fresh spinach. Both dishes were well-prepared. The bread bites for the table were never-ending, and the server was very quick to respond when we asked for more. The soup/salad course was very good, too. Most of ordered the tomato basil soup, and it was delicious! The dinner Caesar salad was a hit as well. Most of us ordered pasta dishes, but one at our table ordered a pizza. I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs since this was my first time, and I believe that dish to be the bellwether of an authentic Italian kitchen. Marco's passed; the red sauce was almost as good as mine at home. Everyone who ordered the pasta was very pleased with their dish. The two regular customers among our group ordered two of their favorite dishes: the Spaghetti Carbonara and the Joan Anna Combination baked pasta. Both were well-prepared and portions were very large (we all had leftovers to take home). The pizza, however, was soggy in the center. It seemed too heavily topped with vegetables that released their water as it baked. The flavor was just okay. Two desserts were passed around the table--I think one of them was the Tiramisu cake (which everyone seemed to love). The only other negative I have to say about Marco's is that the dining room was really cramped. I had to hike my legs up just to get in my chair. But I'd go back; we just won't order the pizza.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bohemian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco's Italian Restaurant & Pzzr also viewed

 

Been to Marco's Italian Restaurant & Pzzr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing