We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Wimberley Inn”
Review of Wimberley Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wimberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wimberley Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wimberley
fulhamFulham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Wimberley Inn”
Reviewed January 15, 2009

What a delightful place to spend a weekend !
Our room was wonderful..comfy beds and super clean .
The grounds are beautiful and so pretty at night.
The owners were very gracious and welcoming. They made sure we had everything we needed and , with their vast knowledge of the area , they provided us with plenty of ideas for places to visit .
Super breakfast and coffee.
Most definately a place to return to.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank fulhamFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    37
    11
    11
    13
See reviews for
52
75
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We made plans one month in advance for a wedding taking place in the area. This was one of the recommended places for guests to stay. When we first called, we were told that it was a two night minimum. The bride had informed us that she had worked out a deal for a one night stay for her guests. After several rounds of phone tag, (the reservationists wasn't always available), we finally had to explain the one night stay situation. They put up quite a fight but finally backed down and allowed us. We were already hessitant at this point about staying here. A week before the wedding my partner began running fever, we called to cancel the reservation, but were told we were too late and that we would be charged for the room regarless. Upon checking my credit card statement, there is a charge for the room when we cancelled and did not stay there. Upon closer look at the confirmation, it states that we need to cancel 8 days prior to the check in to not be charged. I'm not sure how they stay in business when they are so inconsiderate. Make sure this is where you want to stay as the cancellation policy is brutal.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank drmoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimInn, Owner/Innkeeper at Wimberley Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2009
Wimberley is a small town which thrives on weekend traffic and destination weddings. Wimberley Inn’s policies are simple and standard to this area. They are clearly stated at the time reservations are made. They are reiterated through an email confirmation soon after the reservation is made. 1) We have a 2 night minimum stay on the weekends. 2) We charge a deposit of the first night’s stay the day the reservation is made. 3) We request that the guests cancel more than 8 days prior to their stay in order to get a refund. The refund is given minus a small handling fee. We do not take anyone’s credit card information until we have the guest’s agreement on these policies. We made an exception for this party on the 2 night minimum stay requirement for the weekend since this was the beginning of our very short “off season”. This guest agreed to our policies when the reservation was made.

We are a small, privately owned business and we depend on our guests being responsible to the agreements they make. I’m afraid that if we took this guest’s advice by giving refunds with very short notice after taking rooms off the market for weeks or months, it may actually cause us to be out of business soon.

We tried to work with this guest and we offered him a transferable rain check so that he could pass it along to someone if he couldn’t use it in the future. As for our rudeness, it was he who hung up on us when we tried to work out an amicable solution for his situation and he didn’t get his way exactly.

This is posted by someone who has been a member of TA since 2007. It shows in his profile that he has traveled to over 40 properties. Yet he has only posted 2 reviews since becoming a member, both postings are negative. The reason for his complaints are a dislike of policies that he agreed to when he made his reservations. Why has he chosen to only provide feedback of properties when he didn’t like the policies of the places after he agreed to them? Perhaps if he had a few kind words for some of the other places he has stayed, his complaining would be more credible.

As anyone can see by the many positive reviews guests have posted on this service, the Wimberley Inn is a very nice place to stay, conveniently located in a popular little village. We have many return customers. At a time when people are concerned about poor housekeeping practices in many places, we have an excellent reputation for a very clean facility. It takes a lot of effort to keep a 21 room inn as nice as this one is. Since we purchased this place 4 years ago we have been making constant improvements to the facility and to our services.

We hope people can see that when someone makes the effort to intentionally do damage to a good reputation it appears to be more of a reflection on the person complaining than it is on the business they are trying to harm.

We welcome anyone reading this review to please find out for yourself just how pleasant it is to stay at the Wimberley Inn. Thank you for your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2009

I'm looking forward to my next visit to Wimberley, and my next stay at the Wimberley Inn. A Wedding Photographer based in Austin, Texas [--] I was shooting a wedding at the beautiful Red Corral Ranch in Wimberley. I didn't want to drive back to Austin late at night after the event, so arrangements were made for me to stay here. And am I glad! The location is excellent. Accommodations are very comfortable. The atmosphere is relaxed and tasteful. The next morning I had a delightful visit with the proprietors, I had just met them but they seemed like old friends. Smart, worldly, generous and hospitable: these words describe the property and the proprietors. ONE CAVEAT: Do not rely on Google Map to get you there. Of course it is not the hotel's fault, but all the online maps (Google, Yahoo, MapQuest) ALL get the address messed up. Forget the GPS, forget Google Maps, just call Denise or Dan at Wimberley Inn and they'll give you clear, accurate directions. Then enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — It's all about the people. Denise and Dan were very nice.
  • Disliked — Having to go home.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Wimberley Inn last month and both of us agreed that our experience was a great one. Denese and Dan Washam were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.

The rooms were quiet and immaculate and the wooded property in the Texas Hill Country was absolutely fantastic!

The breakfast spread was varied and generous and Dan even provided a picnic basket so I could carry breakfast back to the room to share with my wife.

We have already told friends and family about our great experience at the Wimberley Inn and we are planning a return visit in the spring.

  • Liked — Dan and Denese and the setting
  • Disliked — no disappointments -- met all my expectations
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kjh_sah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2008

My husband and I have been to Wimberley before, and have had experience with other accommodations in the area. We had a great experience making a reservation with Wimberley Inn.

First off, their web-site is extremely user friendly - most places in the area don't even have one. We were able to see detailed pictures of the rooms, all amenities provided, and policies listed. Their accommodations are more comfortable than most places in the same price range.

Secondly, their policies are standard hotel policy that you will find almost anywhere. Dan and Denise were very polite and made sure we understood their policies before charging our card.

Unfortunately, our son became ill a few days before we were going to make our trip, so we called to see if they would reschedule our reservation. Personally, I think they were well within their right to not give us accommodations, however, they were kind to give us a raincheck for our room.

If you are looking for a great room at a reasonable price. And if you are looking for great customer service, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world_traveler1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We spent 3 nights in a room that was large enough to be comfortable for 3 women. The owners were great hosts who made us feel very welcome and were happy to give us recommendations on restaurants, shopping, and good places to visit. They were quick to deal with the few minor problems that arose during our stay. The setting is wonderful ... small buildings set in a wooded area with decks, fountains, bird feeders, etc. Even though the inn was fully booked, we were never disturbed by noise from other rooms. The continental breakfast was generous with lots of choices. This was a perfect setting for our "girls' getaway" and would also make a good site for a romantic weekend. I would definitely return or recommend this inn to a friend.

Pros: Beautiful quiet setting, large room, friendly staff, good breakfast, thick towels.

Cons: No swimming pool, hot tub use must be scheduled in advance, breakfast served only on weekends.

  • Liked — small buildings set in beautiful natural area
  • Disliked — no swimming pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeksasGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I stayed at the Wimberley Inn during the Labor Day weekend, 2008 and they couldn't have been more helpful. I messed up my reservations on-line and the owners were kind enough to work with me and didn't charge me for an error that was CLEARLY mine. They were helpful and courteous, took excellent care of us and we had a wonderful visit. I would recommend this inn to anyone travelling in the hill country.

  • Liked — The service - the owners bent over backwards to help us.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarey300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimberley
12.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 32 in San Marcos
105 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
12.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Square Inn
Square Inn
#2 of 19 in Wimberley
129 reviews
6.4 mi away
BellaVida Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wimberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wimberley Inn

Property: Wimberley Inn
Address: 200 Ranch Road 3237, Wimberley, TX 78676
Location: United States > Texas > Wimberley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in the beautiful Texas Hill Country. Under New Management as of November 2016. 19 private rooms, natural landscaping, shaded outdoor gathering areas. Central to Hill Country wineries. Walk to Wimberley Square and the Blue Hole, a spring-fed creek, listed as #2 of Texas' 25 favorite swimming spots. Great for family get togethers, weekend shopping sprees and small business retreats. Favorite place to host your wedding party guests. Children welcome. Wi-fi available. Healthy continental breakfast on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wimberley Hotel Wimberley
Wimberley Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing