We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have made this drive many times!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devil's Backbone Scenic Drive

Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Wimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Weatherford, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Have made this drive many times!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have made this drive many times love the scenic view, We just found out this time around that it is called the Devil's Backbone! We absolutely love this scenic drive to Wimberley, TX

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holly-Lyndon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    28
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quintessential Hill Country Scenic Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you are in the Hill Country, Devil's Backbone is a must do if you like Texas vistas. You will share the road with families, RV's, kayakers heading to favorite rushing streams, and motor cyclists. Drive slowly and take in the rugged terrain.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never tire of this drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is always a highlight of our visits to the Texas hill country! Beautiful scenery along the Devil's Backbone from Wimberley to Blanco - awesome! Be careful - it's hard to keep your eyes on the road!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“50 miles of driving for 1 mile of views”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were looking for a nice drive on rainy day in San Antonio, so we drove out here after the Natural Bridge Cavern. It was very difficult for us to find this as somehow the trip advisor mapping sent us to the center of Wimberley. (Lots of little boutiques; not our cup of tea.) Even after we found it drove a few miles through uninteresting territory and wondered if we were on the right track. Finally came up to the top of a ridge and saw some views off both sides. Stopped at a picnic area with a nice (but not spectacular) view. No hiking. After about 1 mile of views we were back down to regular un-scenic roadway. This was a big disappointment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful drive in the Texas Hill Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

You will stop a lot and take a lot of pictures so don't drive too fast you will miss something. For those that have built homes on Hwy 32 must have beautiful views from their patios.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanticTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Backbone Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Backbone Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing