We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southwind Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Wimberley B&B and Inns
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would not return”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The house was extremely dusty. It coated the wood beams. Walking barefoot made your feet dirty. Lots of road noise. Don't waste your money!! The owner was friendly, but didn't compensate for the conditions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Y, Owner at Southwind Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your 3 night stay in the Mariah Cabin at Southwind Bed & Breakfast Inn & Cabins. We have addressed the issues that are within our control and sincerely hope you will reconsider a future stay at Southwind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We actually stayed In the Shadewind cabin two years ago. It was a great cabin, very comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was a large main room that offered a kitchen, living area with television and a king sized bed and twin bed. There was also a separate bedroom that was very private and offered a queen size bed. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and shower and was great. Kent, the owner, was very gracious and friendly and offered advice on places to swim and restaurants in the area. A delicious breakfast was delivered around nine each morning and we were pleasantly surprised. I would highly recommend this place if you would like tranqulility, peace and a relaxing stay in Wimberley.

Room Tip: My only minor issue was that the king sized bed sank down in the middle and wasn't very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2snorkel0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in the Spirot Wind room at the Inn and it was very nice. Nice main room on top floor with large very comfortable bed. This room is two story with a smaller room downstairs with 2 twin beds. Very quiet too. Loved sitting in the rocking chair on the porch at night and enjoyed the view. Food in the morning was awesome.
I recommend this place for adults though only because there isn't much for kids to do there.
It is very remote and if you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you. It's a short drive to the square in Wimberley too.

Room Tip: Although I stayed in the Inn, I would suggest trying a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katwoman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Mariah Cabin

We stayed in the Mariah cabin in the middle of the woods. The owner was very friendly and accomodating, and brought us a delicious breakfast to our cabin every morning. The cabin is very rustic, but really cosy. It has air conditioning for when it is hot, and heating and a log fire in the bedroom for when it's cold. Ideal for a getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achronite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place was a perfect little getaway for us! Perfectly nestled in the woods with the most friendliest of hosts! And the breakfast was amazing! We stayed at the Mariah Cabin and it was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Mariah Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuleeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the main B&B. It was really nice. The breakfast was delicious. We had previously stayed at the Mariah cabin, but was unable to book it this trip. I strongly suggest this cabin, the view is amazing in the morning seeing the sun come up and drinking your coffee on the front deck. (Of course you get the same view from the B&B, but more privacy) The Southwind is reasonably priced, it is a little out of town, but not too far. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proudmarinemom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Y, Owner at Southwind Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are grateful for your stay and hope you will stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the Earthwind cabin, rather than the main B&B. The breakfasts were delivered around 9-ish, and were delicious.

We also took advantage of the fire pit by the side, where a prepared wood stack had thoughtfully been prepared.

The kids had fun hiking, picking up sticks and generally running around. The juniper trees made you forget that you were in the midst of a heat wave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Y, Owner at Southwind Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wimberley hotels
5.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.0 mi away
BellaVida Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
2.7 mi away
Creekhaven Inn
Creekhaven Inn
#5 of 19 in Wimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Square Inn
Square Inn
#2 of 19 in Wimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
#11 of 19 in Wimberley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.1 mi away
7A Resort
7A Resort
#2 of 7 in Wimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southwind Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwind Bed and Breakfast

Property: Southwind Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2701 Fm 3237, Wimberley, TX 78676-5511
Location: United States > Texas > Wimberley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wimberley
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing