We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Fun learning about olives

Spend a lovely day here. The owner gave us a great tour and was very knowledgeable about olives and... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2019
Arlene L
Educational

The owner and his wife have a nice place of olive trees and grape vineyards. He gives you some... read more

Reviewed July 2, 2019
vacationmom82
,
Flint, Texas
Read all 103 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Wimberley
from $365.00
More Info
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
47
32
19
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
47
32
19
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 103 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We take our out-of-town guests here to taste the wine and olive oil made right on the premises. Almost like Tuscany. And the man who owns it, an ex-IBMer, does a great job of telling you the history of wine and olive oil making.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank texascinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

We loved Bella Vista Ranch. The staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable about their olive oils, vinegars and wines. Based on her tastings, we purchased a couple of bottles of wines plus a few bottles of vinegars. Even the kids loved it!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank tanyams05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017

About 3 years ago my wife and I took the whole tour. It was very informative.
Afterwards we purchased some oil, Jalapeño stuffed olives and balsamic vinegar.
We come back to Wimberley roughly twice a year and hit up Bella Vista Ranch just about every time. I myself love the stuffed olives for martinis.
I never knew raw olives were hot.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

These guys are very knowledgeable about olive oil and vinegar and have some great local ones to taste. The wine wasn't very good - either very sweet grape juice tasting or very sour. The olive oil tasting is free. Wine is $10. Skip the wine tasting.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank HG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017

My husband and I visited Bella Vista Ranch, at the completion of a 3-day Italian Cooking School at the Blair House Inn. The ranch, designated as a traditional Mediterranean family farm was the first commercially producing olive orchard in Texas. On our guided tour, conducted by owner, Jack Dougherty, we learned about the history of olive trees and oil oil throughout the world, California, and Texas. We walked among some of the 1,200 olive trees, and visited the "frantoio" olive mill and tasting room. Although we did not visit it today, Bella Vista Cellars is a winery also located on the ranch!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews