We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Square Inn
Nearby Hotels
Wimberley Inn(Wimberley)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outpost Motel(Dripping Springs)(Great Value!)
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Econo Lodge(San Marcos)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites(San Marcos)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
108
22
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
22
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancelovely courtyardb bevery morningfresh fruitperfect locationrooms reservedwine tasting tripbanana breadroom was largemy husband and ihonor systembed and breakfastcommon areasstay there againfrittataroom was clean and comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 139 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed one night 12-8-12 at The Square Inn due to a family wedding being held in nearby Dripping Springs. Very few B&B's in the area allow 1 night stays which helped us make our decision.

PROS: The rooms were extremely spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the whole place was very well kept and clean. It doesn't make a big impression from the front but it's what's inside that matters. It was within walking distance of the Wimberly Square which was really nice. We got to participate in the Winter bazar whatever they call it a litte before we left for the wedding and a little after our return. The Wimberly Cafe is also within walking distance and they served an extremely pleasant and hearty breakfast the next morning before our departure. Our family had 3 rooms at the Inn and it was extremely quiet and peaceful.

Cons: No hairdryer in the room so my hair was a fright to deal with the morning we were leaving. I rarely pack a hairdryer these days since most all hotels provide them. Very little shampoo/soap, which was also a bit of a surprise since we had not packed for this. We arrived at 2:30 and the rooms were not ready. Fortunately, we had a very short wait, they were ready at 3:00 because our wedding was at 4:00 and we had to change clothes and make the drive to the Memory Lane Event Center. We made it but it was a little worrisome for a bit. I had gone to great lengths to ensure there would not be any problem with out getting access to the room almost 2 months before our stay when I made the reservations so this was a little annoying. We knew our timeline would be tight which is why I verified we would be able to have access to the rooms no later than 2:00 pm. It all worked out but if you're planning on staying here, don't plan on getting into your room early. They told us they normally allow check-ins anytime between 3-6 PM. Wow, 6PM for a check-in, at the rate we paid for the room I would have been very upset if we had not been allowed to check in until 6:00 PM, wedding or not.

There is no individual a/c or heat in the rooms. There is A/C but the units serve multiple rooms and guests are not allowed to change the thermostat. So if you are cold natured or hot natured it could serve to be a very uncomfortable stay. There are ceiling fans which served our needs well but the temperature during our stay was very mild. In the summer I can't imagine how that would work.

The owner was extremely nice and friendly!

They served a continental breakfast around 7:00 with cinnamon rolls, Keurig coffee, oatmeal, yogurt, and fresh fruit which was all very nice but we went to the Wimberly Cafe next door to get something hot.

All in all our stay was very nice and it depends on what your trip objective is. If you don't have a schedule to meet, you want to participate in the area shops and/or restaurants, your not concerned about the heating/cooling, I'd say this would be a great option especially because you can walk to almost anything Wimberly has to offer. Our stay was nice and we enjoyed it all, however, for the sake of future travelers, I've written this review stating all the issues we encountered that could make a big difference to some travelers which is why I wanted to tell it all. I rely on the tripadvisor reviews before I plan my trips so for them to be as factual and unbiased as possible and give as much info as possible is important or otherwise they aren't much help.

Happy traveling......!

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and all we pretty equal. Some had beds that were really tall for the room with the lower bed may be better for older travelers. Be sure to ask.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcilia B, Manager at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! Just letting you know that we now have a hair dryer in each room, plenty of shampoo, conditioner, and soap, rooms are available for early check in as long as you're communicating with us! There are mini splits in each room except for the Kennon room which has the thermostat and there is a full hot breakfast as well that starts at 8:00am! Again, we really appreciate your review as it has helped us improve tremendously and we hope to see you again to make it up to you! I think you'd be impressed! (:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is in a great location and the bed was comfy and the room was quiet. The only issue I had was that there was no soap in the bathroom and no floor mat to step on after getting out of the shower.
The room we were in had a sink and small refrigerator but the sink was a bit untidy. The blinds in the room were adequate and the ceiling fan kept it cool with the window AC unit turned on low. The front door is a bit tricky with the code but all in all a good value for the money, just need to get the bathroom up to speed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcilia B, Manager at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! Just letting you know that we now have plenty of soap in each room along with bath mats! The window AC units are gone and each room except for the Kennon room has it's very own mini split! Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Wimberley Square Inn is one of the very few places in Wimberley that does not have a minimum two-night stay. I searched for about an hour and called around and almost all the B&B’s there require two-nights. Square Inn is more like a hotel rather than a B&B and is in a perfect location (walking distance to all the shops and restaurants). The price and location are perfect for a weekend or one-night getaway. The innkeeper was very helpful and nice, while at the same time, she gave us our privacy. We stayed in the Lauran room, and had a private entrance, a king size bed, as well as flat screen TV in the room. The room was very clean and breakfast & coffee were served early in the main house. Very basic breakfast: Fruit, waffles, coffee, danishes etc. If you want a full breakfast you can walk over to the Café. I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tw143143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcilia B, Manager at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! Just letting you know that we now offer a full hot breakfast and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We spent a girls' weekend with Marci, Wimberley, and the Square Inn. Everything was fabulous!! Marci and her Inn was absolutely perfect. The room was large with 3 beds and a small kitchenette. It was located within walking distance to everything a girl could ever imagine....restaurants,coffee shops, wine tasting, bands, shops, antique shops, river, park... We spent the weekend zip lining, geocaching, shoping, wine tasting, eating and celebrating good friends. Marci was an amazing hostess.
Marci, your Fun Birthday Group is coming back!! Fun! Fun! Fun!

Room Tip: The Chandler Room was perfect for 4 girls.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcilia B, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! We try our best to maintain that "absolutely perfect" review every time! (:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcilia B, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews