We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kate's Place

Kate's Place
Ranked #11 of 39 Restaurants in Wimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Kate is dedicated to a dining experience of elegant simplicity. She uses fresh, seasonal, and locally produced food to create daily soup, sandwich, entrée, and dessert specials that complement the varied lunch and dinner menus. Kate's dedication to fresh food, freshly prepared, and her love of gardening are best exemplified by the large vegetable and herb gardens built on site which provide fresh-cut herbs, vegetables and flowers for use in her restaurant. Two areas for outside dining under large oak trees are available. In addition, an extensive selection of wine and local, hand-crafted beers is available for enjoyment in Wimberley's most unique bar. Kate and her entire staff welcome you to a casual, yet elegant dining experience in the heart of the Texas Hill Country. HOURS: TUES - FRI 11AM - 9PMSAT - SUN 9AM - 9PMBRUNCH SAT - SUN | 9 AM - 2 PM HAPPY HOUR TUE - FRI | 3:00PM - 6:00PM:$1 off draft beers & glasses of wine $5 off bottles of wine 1/2 Price Appetizers. Closed Mondays. Please visit our website for more information.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
217 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had lunch at Kate's and would recommend it. The parking lot and entrance is in the rear, so you have to look hard to see how to get there. Food was well prepared and apparently cooked to order as the service was a bit slow. Wine and beer are available and there is a funky little hill country bar in a building outside the main restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    77
    18
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Sun Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great food. Loved it. Little slow on service and became crowded after 11 am. Great homemade carrot cake.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelladybug14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So glad we chose Kate's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the perfect example of Trip Advisor reviews leading us to exactly the right place. We had a delightful lunch, both having the soup and 1/2 sandwich. The Native American sweet potato soup was new to me and incredible. We recommend both the portabello and the"blast" sandwiches. We were so impressed we both ordered dessert, a freshly made apple turnover and blueberry-strawberry pie. So glad we tried both, hard to pick a favorite.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Little "Place"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

After checking into our B&B late in the evening, we were starved and looking for somewhere good to eat where we could have a glass of wine. Our innkeepers suggested Kate's Place and we were so glad we went. It's a little tricky to find in the dark, but if you're looking for it, you'll see it. It's not fancy or overdone, but the food is delicious! I had the chicken marsala and it was perfect. My husband had the pork chop, and it was perfect as well. They have a good wine selection as well as a good beer selection! Service is fantastic. Enjoy it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cozy & Local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Keep in mind that it's one of the few decent choices when comparing it to big city fare. I've taken family there several times for lunch and sampled several dishes. No disapointmets to date.

All Kate needs is something done to the interir to take away that dark & cavernous feeling. Maybe some skylights? And an outdoor seating area. The waitstaff was spotty during our last visit this week but no real big deal. Limited wine selection but good enough to get you by.

Like I said - "Remember....it's Wimberley and given the choices it's great. My four stars are based on what else is available in Wimberley.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slowhand57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kate's Place also viewed

 

Been to Kate's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing