We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Wimberley B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

View and location - amazing. Rooms were clean, fresh smelling. Staff exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the area. Only drawback was no coffee pot (provided in office every am) or fridge in rooms

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBankhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Any time we are in the area we try to stay at Mountain View Lodge. And, yes, there is a wonderful view! Love that it is near the highway but down the hill a little. You don't hear highway traffic noise at all. Office staff are friendly and efficient. We always feel like they are truly glad to have us stay at the Lodge. Our room was comfy and clean. Would have liked it pre-stocked with more bath towels, though. There were just two and our room was set up for four. We had three in our party this stay- two adults, one 3 yo child. We most likely could have had more towels just by asking but, since we were there only one night, I let my granddaughter use a hand towel as "her towel". No in-room coffee but fresh brewed is available in the office beginning at 7:00 a.m. Donuts, too.

MVL is not high end luxury so don't go expecting that. It is comfortable. Decor is dated but I think that just adds to the ambience. The Lodge makes a very nice base if you are exploring the countryside and visiting towns in the area.

My very favorite thing about Mountain View, however, is how it smells. Cedar! The air outside smells like cedar, as does the room. Love it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I met up with friends in Wimberley and stayed at the Mountain View for the weekend. The people working at the desk were very friendly at check-in and check-out, and made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable - we both slept better than at home. We walked along the trail behind the hotel, looking for the plants on the guide sheet that was in our room. The trail is pretty easy, the view is nice, and the weather was pleasant in March. Although we didn't partake of it, there was a light breakfast available in the lobby when I stopped in one morning. Overall, we enjoyed our short stay and felt that the Mountain View was a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool deck have a great view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

What a great place. My family thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay. This homage to the motels of the 1970s was perfect. The rooms were immaculate, the towels were soft and the bed was very comfortable. Most rooms have a private patio with a great view of the Texas Hill Country. We stayed in March so the pool was too cool to actually swim, but the water was sparkling and the deck has that great view. The free WiFi could use a boost, but with a view like this just sit back, relax and unplug.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place. My wife and I felt welcome the minute we entered the office for check-in. Ron and Linda made us feel right at home. Gave us information on the nature trail and local activities. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and a great view from the balcony. Hike the trail then sat on the deck by the pool and it was so quiet and serene, we both fell asleep on a lounge chair.
In the morning, coffee, tea, juice, yummy donuts and fruit awaited us in the office. Hated to leave but will certainly be back!!
If you are looking for a great place to stay, this is it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rwolfe999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We rented a room for a couples weekend trip in the Wimberley/Dripping Springs area and were so happy we stayed here.

The room is basic but clean. The view was awesome, especially from the pool side rooms. There's donuts and coffee available each morning and they'll make you a carafe to take to your room. The Nature Trail is a must for a pretty day or morning.

We'll be back and will bring others and kids with us.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneym02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were looking for a pleasant low-key atmosphere and were not disappointed. The pool was clean and refreshing. The nature hike was enjoyable. The view was above average. However the carpet was old and stained. I felt like I needed to keep my socks on. Also there's a lot of dust on the curtains. It's really noticeable.
The front desk was very friendly and we received good service from them.
I would recommend this lodge for couples who are wanting a bed & breakfast type of experience (although "breakfast" wasn't part of the package). Wimberley and the Mountain View Lodge proved to be a good weekend getaway from Austin.
Our overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimberley
10.3 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Springs
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Spri...
#1 of 2 in Dripping Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
10.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
4.5 mi away
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
#11 of 19 in Wimberley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Creekhaven Inn
Creekhaven Inn
#5 of 19 in Wimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge

Property: Mountain View Lodge
Address: 10600 Ranch Road 12, P.O. Box 877, Wimberley, TX 78676
Location: United States > Texas > Wimberley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Wimberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing