We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a complete renovation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Harbor Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Willis
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great spot, right on the lake, but clearly not maintained well for the last 10-15 years. We too went by their website before checking on Tripadvisor (after the fact). And clearly, as you'll hear from us, you need to adjust your expectations before going. The pool, pool bar, and club house are run by separate owners vs. the timeshare rooms. Timeshare guests have access to the pool, but the club house is a ghost town, eerily quite and seemingly peopleless for many years. The pool is kept up, but don't make the mistake of taking any ice chests/drinks into the pool area, else risk being chastised and kicked to the curb! In fairness, there is a sign that says no outside drinks, requiring you to buy everything from the pool bar at $6/per. The pool bar is clearly run by folks without any bartending experience.....failed miserably at a Rum Runner, Pina Colada and Margarita. At noon, before the bar was open, and with NO ONE else around, I figured I would bring a few beers/sodas with a small cooler for the family and that maybe that would be acceptable. It was 99 degrees afterall. Boy was I wrong!

On to the timeshare rooms. Again, great views because you are litterally on the edge of the lake. However, looks to be original everything....I'm guessing at least 15 years old. Carpets extremely filthy, would be frightened to lift up and see what's living under them; made kids walk around place in shoes, scared to walk barefoot, original beds with springs poking up, sheets look like a moth ate it, old style tube tvs, surprises/trash between couch cushions, scared to sit on couch, and minimal towels, dishes, appliances. Additionally, seems that the original owners sold a year or so ago and certainly let the place run into the ground. New owner trying to figure out what to do, while keeping the place open (my opinion). Staff is minimal, trash in hallways, elevator not working, no check in or check out process. Total Twilight Zone experience all together.....enter at your own risk!

Having said that, we stayed two of our scheduled three days, sucked it up, road jet skis, swam in pool, caught some fish and drank heavily before lying down on those springs....errrr...mattresses. At least you'll now go into it with your expectations properly set! Good luck.

Room Tip: Bring a sleeping bag or your own sheets and pillows!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike-TexasProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Harbor Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Not recommended. Booked two room that slept 6, only had a couch, no sleeper sofa. Had to go buy air mattress for son to sleep on rest of week. Resort made no effort to bring bed linen for couch and air mattress or solve the problem. Elevator didn't work. People above had 5 small children that ran around till midnight every night. Trash cans and trash dumpsters overflowing. Back of building falling apart, they had to brace up.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had our daughter and her family in town from San Francisco and decided to spend a fun day on the water at Lake Conroe, so we rented a pontoon boat at the rental facility there at Sunset Harbor. When we arrived that morning, the "worn out" pontoon was still dirty from the night before. No one had wiped down the dirty seats or picked up the trash from the previous renters. We had to do it!! The boat only had 1/2 tank of gas and we were told to fill it up at another facility 1/2 mile away! The boat broke down after 2 hours in to our 4 hour rental and we limped back to the marina. The rope for the tube was in shreds and much too short for a fun ride behind the boat. We couldn't even get out of the wake of the boat. We were told we could get lunch in the cafe, but no one was around, the lobby was deserted, and dirty dishes were on several tables! All in all, the place was pathetic!! WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THIS PLACE!!!!

Room Tip: Would not even THINK of staying at this place!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 528Houston123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This property is under new management and has been upgraded quite a bit. We had several 2-3 and 1 bedroom units. All the units are large and have good kitchen appliances. Also, each of our units had a washer and dryer. We were at the resort for a week and the paddle boat went out several times on the weekend. The Tiki Bar was open but we didn't visit it. The windows had new blinds, but the patio doors still need new drapes.Porches had just been power washed when we arrived.
Our kitchens were stocked with just enough dishes to get by, but we brought a lot of paper plates and cups. Don't expect blenders and other small appliances. We did not have any maid service all week, but the maid would give us extra supplies when we asked.
The pool was fine and all the grandchildren went in every day. We even did a lot of fishing from the patio deck.
Most of our floors were ceramic and clean. Carpet in the bedrooms had some stains. Walls and doors in all of our units had new paint and white colonial style doors.
The pictures on the RCI site show the exterior and interior of the units. These pictures are pretty honest. The property has a lot of potential. There is a restaurant in the lobby, but we did not use it.
We would certainly recommend this resort to anyone.
We were informed that the new management has only been on the property for a few months and and it is already better.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view-studios do not have good view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pilotboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'll be straight and too the point, the website is awesome! Note to self don't go by website and pictures when picking a place to stay. I wanted a get away for my husband and myself for our anniversary. Below are the reason's I would not recommend to ANYONE !

We waiteed over 20 minutes when we arrived at for someone to greet us at the front desk. not to mention the ac was broke and it was steaming hot inside. The lady that showed up was sweating profusely, and could not find our reservations. She ended up booking us a room that so happenly was available. We were on the second floor, so the elevator we used was also not ac'ed smelled of poop and cigarettes and had greasy finger prints all over it like it had not been wiped down for days also multiple dead bugs on the floor.

Room was decent, although the carpet was stained really bad and there was a side connecting door to another room, where we could hear everything the people were doing next door to us. Also, a bag of trash was left out by the eleveator by our room and noone ever picked it up, so animals got in it and tore throughout, leaving a trail of trash outside our bedroom.

The Tiki bar was a joke ! It was open but the girl behind the counter looked to be 18 and had to use her phone to google drink recipes for us, like for a rum runner, which by the way they did not have the stuff to make it. I asked for a margarita, and I was given a cup of ice and she poored premade margarita mix in it and splashed it with cheap taquila. In addition, all drinks are 6.00 a piece !

Pool does look like the pics on the website, but there are not a lot of chairs to lay out on, and the chairs available were old and broken.

Also, we rented a pontoon boat by the company that is attached to the resort. The pontoon boat was on it's last leg and had been put through the ringer, lot's of dents, scratches you name it. I would not suggest renting through this company called "Just for Fun"

The morning we left, the front office was locked and there was noone around on a Sunday morning at 10 am to take our keys and I still to this day have not received a receipt, although I have called and requested one twice be sent to me. I ended up dropping the key off with the boat rental guy.He was the only one available at the resort.

This place needs a lot of help to say the least.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LindseyW56701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I live here on a permanent basis, and most reviews are correct. However, as of April 1st 2013 there has been new management brought in. There have been major repairs to all docks, the tiki bar is under reconstruction and the paddle boat is now up and running. The bar inside of the clubhouse is open on weekends. I think prior management had been here too long and just did not care about the property anymore. When you step over the same beer bottle on the sidewalk for 3 weeks in a row, something is wrong. I am awaiting the conclusion of all repairs before I make a decision on signing a new lease. But all is not well yet,
we will just see if this new management keeps thier promises.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight after a business party, so we had very limited perspective. The room was ok. The door was difficult to lock, the jets didn't work on the tub, the power went out in the room for about 20 minutes, there was no tv, couldn't make coffee in the morning because there was no cream and sugar, there were too few pillows, and we had to wait around for them to open for check out because there was no place to leave the key. We got a pretty decent discount, or else it would have been extremely irritating...but the room was overall pretty decent....just lots of glitches!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hestian6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willis
3.5 mi away
Best Western Lake Conroe Inn
4.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Conroe North-Willis
3.4 mi away
Super 8 Montgomery/ Lake Conroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
6.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Conroe Near The WoodlandsR
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Conroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Harbor Resort

Address: 7039 Kingston Cove Lane, Willis, TX 77318
Location: United States > Texas > Willis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Willis
Price Range: $98 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Harbor Hotel Willis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing