We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but problem with nonsmoking room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Event Center North
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Wichita Falls
Jacksonville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean but problem with nonsmoking room”
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed here on July 28, 2008 after driving all day from the Grand Canyon. Had to visit 3 different rooms before finding an actual nonsmoking room. The breakfast the next morning was disappointing with frozen waffles and very little else in a cramped eating area. This was the worst La Quinta breakfast we have seen in years and we are Return members. We skipped it and ate the granola bars we had in the car.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Lack of breakfast choices
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank txmom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    97
    71
    63
    59
See reviews for
163
58
50
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I'll start with the bad and work my way to the good. I had some trouble booking online, so I called the hotel directly for my reservation about one week in advance. The staff was very friendly and we agreed on a price and I gave her my credit card number. Before hanging up, I had to request my confirmation number, which worried me a little, but I didn't think much about it.

Upon arrival, they did not have my name, number, or address. Luckily, I had asked for the confirmation number, but that didn't help much because they didn't have that down either. Luckily (again), they had an available room, but the staff members seemed very confused about which rooms were available and clean. Then, they attempted to charge me $15 more then the original price quote, but after threatening to leave, they fixed that too. The staff was cooperative, but VERY unorganized.

That being said, the room was very clean, everything functioned properly and it was quite quiet considering its proximity to the highway. The bed was comfortable. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is not well-kept, but I have stayed in the area on several occasions without problems. We didn't encounter andy other problems with the room after the check-in fiasco. I would stay there again, but would double-check my reservations!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — making reservations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriatic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2008

No complaints. I booked this based on reviews from this website. Room was clean, comfortable and staff was very helpful and friendly. Nothing fancy, but I rate it as excellent because of cleanliness and friendly staff. I will definitely book there again when I am in Wichita Falls.

I recommended this to other relatives and they also stayed there. They, too, had a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgypatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Stayed at La Quinta-Wichita Falls on our way back from spending Thanksgiving with family. Because we were behind schedule, we ended up booking last-minute through Hotwire, which I suppose probably saved us about $20. We arrived around 2am, and there was a clerk waiting to greet us and check us in, which was nice. It is an older motel, and we weren't thrilled to find that all rooms open to the parking lot rather than indoors, but it turned out to be a boon b/c it made it much easier to unload our stuff.

This La Quinta is definitely no-frills, but we had what we needed so no complaints here. The room was clean, the mattresses were firm, the pillows were soft, the heater worked, and the water was nice and hot! We heard a couple of trains going by before we fell asleep, but it didn't bother us since we grew up listening to trains, and besides, our son loves trains.

Other than that, it was quiet enough, and there's a Whataburger just down the street to grab a coffee and biscuit in the morning. La Quinta offers a continental breakfast from 7-9am, but we were too tired to go so I can't comment on how good it was.

The daytime clerks when we checked out were friendly and took the time to chat with us and even gave us written directions to a nearby restaurant that offered kid-friendly fare.

  • Liked — Good price, clean, and easy access to highway.
  • Disliked — Must walk outside to get to hotel lobby for breakfast, etc.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PineSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

La Quinta's have always been predictably reliable, but in this case, they need a little updating. The bed looked like a donut, and it acutally hurt my legs to dangle them off the edge because the wire frame of the mattress was protruding. I think the mattress was about as old as the hotel? The outside was really dirty with old garbage laying around, sticky soda pop all over the sidewalks, and trash under the stairs. This hotel even came with a couple of feral cats living under the sidewalk. The upside (and is usual for La Quinta) is that the room was VERY clean and the hotel staff were very friendly. It still hurt to plop down $65 for a bad night's sleep...

A disappointed La Quinta fan, Texas

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — Bad beds, really dirty outside
  • Tips/Secrets — Maybe they'll improve??? Most La Quinta's are great.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notalotapota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 27, 2005

While the service was good the location convenient to the interstate and Sheppards AFB the hotel itself wasn't in the best shape - our room smelled horrible no amount of air freshen helped, alhtough it seemed clean aside from the smell it was a little outdated.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 14, 2005

I can't give a five star rating to any motel in small town America, but the LaQuinta was a very welcome suprise. It was very clean. It was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Several restaurants were within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a welcome place to spend a night or two if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 25 in Wichita Falls
326 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Falls - MSU Area
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#10 of 25 in Wichita Falls
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wichita Falls
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wichita Falls
Red Roof Inn Wichita Falls
#12 of 25 in Wichita Falls
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#18 of 25 in Wichita Falls
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Event Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Event Center North

Property: La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Event Center North
Address: 1128 Central Fwy, Wichita Falls, TX 76306-6124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Wichita Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Wichita Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Event Center North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel The La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Event Center North is conveniently located to popular North Texas attractions including lakes Arrowhead, Wichita, and Kickapoo. Wichita Falls also has a towering, four-tiered waterfall located along the big Wichi...see moreta River. We are also close to Midwestern State University, The Museum and Arts Center, and, of course, shopping at Sikes Center Mall. Comanche Red River Casino and Kiowa Casino is only a 17 mile drive north to the Texas and Oklahoma boarder across the Red River. Trails and Tales of Boom Town USA is only a short 15 minute drive to Burkburnett, Texas. And do not forget about the beautiful Wichita Mountains located about 40 miles north from Wichita Falls, Texas. Our Bright Side Breakfast will be a great way to start your day. We offer hand made Texas shaped waffles, coffee, and other delicious items. We also offer many room amenities including free high speed wireless internet, pillow top beds, 32 inch flat screen HDTVs, an outdoor swimming pool, and guest laundry facilities at your convenience. Our cordial staff can ensure an enjoyable stay at La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Airport Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Event Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Wichita Falls Hotel Wichita Falls
La Quinta Wichita Falls
Wichita Falls La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing