We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odd location; service definitely a cut below most Hampton Inns.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wichita Falls Sikes Senter Mall
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Wichita Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Odd location; service definitely a cut below most Hampton Inns.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I could most likely justify a rating anywhere from two to four for this hotel. I think the challenge for me in deciding on the rating is the location of the hotel.

This is the only Hampton Inn in Wichita Falls, which is a fair sized big town / small city on US 287 and US 82 and at the southern terminus of I-44. We stayed at the hotel while passing through, after a 745 mile day of driving from Cheyenne WY on our way home to Houston TX. This hotel is not convenient for passers-through. It is located well off any freeway / major highway (1.1 miles southwest of the Kemp Blvd exit off US 82). Coming from the northwest, our GPS directed us to the hotel via FM 369 / Southwest Pkwy. After looking at a map later, this routing makes some sense, but doing it without warning, and one wonders just exactly where this hotel may be located. At any rate, the GPS routing is not the hotel's fault, but as an overnight stop while just passing through Wichita Falls, there are Hampton Inns directly on US 287 in both Vernon and Decatur TX 50 or so miles in either direction, which would be more efficient choices.

However, for one staying in Wichita Falls on business or for families with students at Midwestern State University, this hotel is excellently located. It is adjacent to a major shopping mall (in fact one enters the hotel parking lot from a shopping mall driveway). There are numerous reasonably priced, casual restaurants in a three mile radius. It is located next to a major office building and near the Midwestern State campus.

In the summer of 2012, the ground floor of the hotel is undergoing renovation. This is offputting when one walks in, but the hotel staff has worked things such that it is not disruptive to guests.

Service was below the normal Hampton Inn standard. There was no one at the front desk when I arrived. I then said "Hello," and heard no response. About 15 seconds later, I said "hello," again and got a "yeah, I'm coming" response. This was hotel #29 on a 52 day driving trip and it was one of the few hotels at which I had to show ID to register (even though I am Hilton Honors Silver). I found that offputting.

I had problems with the hotel internet service. In our room, there was no wired connection, and I had to choose the attwifi network, not the hhonors network to gain internet access.

This was one of the few Hampton Inns where the bill was not slipped under the door. Admittedly, we checked out at 5:30 am, and the bills were stacked on the cashier's desk.

All this said, the room comfort was typical of Hampton Inns, so no complaints there.

Finally, if you do arrive at this hotel from the north / northeast on Kemp, you will not be able to turn left into the hotel off Kemp. It is easier to turn at the first traffic light (into the mall parking lot) south of Call - Field / Midwestern Pkwy than to go down to Elliott and try to make a U turn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WichitaFallsHI_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wichita Falls Sikes Senter Mall, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear jbtexas...

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I want to apologize for the issues you had while checking in. I have addressed your concerns with my front desk staff to ensure that situations like yours don’t happen again. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost priority for us and your feedback certainly helps us to improve upon that. We appreciate your patience while we were undertaking our lobby and fitness center renovation. I am excited to announce that they are fully complete now and I think you will love the changes. We also were replacing all of our mattresses throughout the hotel and each and every bed is like a slice of heaven. We hope that with our efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you look to us should you find yourself in the Wichita Falls area again. We love being your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Debbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    93
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
184
72
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I travel quite a bit on business and have stayed in many Hampton Inns around the country, they are usually top-notch. The Wichita Falls Hampton Inn was no exception. When walking through the door, I was happy to see how clean and well taken care of the lobby/reception area was. The staff was polite and check in went very smooth, with a nightly rate as discussed when making the reservation, no surprises. The room was clean and in good repair with a fridge and coffee maker. The wi-fi was strong and easy to log onto. They had a nice fitness center (although I didn't get a chance to use it). The area around is decent overall with a lot of eating/shopping establishments and a mall next door, but it does seem like the surrounding area may get a little seedy late at night. Overall, another great stay with Hampton Inn, would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuck13041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I travel for business to WF every two to three months and I stay at this location every time. On my very first trip I stayed at the Fairfiled just up the street and this is a far better choice. Coworkers have stayed in at least two other locations on the outskirts of town with less favorable feedback. The staff here is consistent, attentive and friendly! The two women who typically service the breakfast area in particular are a pleasure to be around. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. In an area that can get QUITE hot, they have wonderful AC in the rooms. It is located in the same parking lot as the mall and in the vicinity of many fast food and chain restuarants. I don't think there is a better centeral location in the area. The one and only time I had any issue with my room, I was promptly moved to a different location in a professional manner. Great choice for the business or pleasure traveler!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoozie358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The staff here shipped home clothes I forgot, followed up with calls and e-mails to ensure its arrival. Niva and Mike at the froint desk are great, ands Debbie the Manager is truly customer service oriented! Will stay here again- also located close to good dining areas, and mall!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this property. The staff is courteous, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The interior is clean, well maintained and secure. The rooms are clean, efficient, well maintained and well equipped. The business center was efficient and everything worked well. The breakfast featured a good selection, but do not try to get anything past the 10am cut off. (One of the workers is VERY strict on the tear down time.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan48101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, va
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed one night on business. Third stay in this facility. I find the location to be central to most things in Wichita Falls, with a lot of food options for lunch and dinner. Location in the mall parking lot is teh only drawback as asthetically it is not much to look at. Staff is polite and offers quality advice on places to go in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

What a breath of fresh air after we had stayed a couple of disappointed nights at a different chain. This facility was new, fresh, clean, super friendly. Our room was fabulous- bed comfy, very clean, bright, colorful, and cozy. great bathroom- very clean. We had a fridge & microwave. Breakfast was GREAT- they had more than the usual "white" food of pastries & waffles- they also had eggs, yogurt and FRESH cut up fruit. The coffee was fabulous. If you are going through or to Wichita Falls, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita Falls hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Wichita Falls
Homewood Suites Wichita Falls
#1 of 25 in Wichita Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Falls - MSU Area
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wichita Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wichita Falls
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Wichita Falls
Courtyard Wichita Falls
#9 of 25 in Wichita Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 25 in Wichita Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wichita Falls Sikes Senter Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wichita Falls Sikes Senter Mall

Property: Hampton Inn Wichita Falls Sikes Senter Mall
Address: 4217 Kemp Blvd, adjacent to Sikes Senter Mall, Wichita Falls, TX 76308-2804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Wichita Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wichita Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wichita Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Wichita Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wichita Falls Sikes Senter Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Wichita Falls – Sikes Senter Mall hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the mall and ten minutes from the Municipal Airport (SPS). Enjoy a fun-filled day at the Castaway Cove Waterpark, or take advantage of the natural fun and recreation at Lake Arrowhead State Park, offering 524 acres of fishing, swimming, water skiing, and picnics. Rest well in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® in this Wichita Falls hotel, and enjoy modern amenities including free high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn Wichita Falls Sikes Senter Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wichita Falls Hotel Wichita Falls
Wichita Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing