We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Good Prices”

McBride Land & Cattle Co.
Ranked #10 of 227 Restaurants in Wichita Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sun City Center, FL
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Prices”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our first time in Wichita Falls and were just spending the night on our way home from vacation. When we asked at the front desk of our hotel for some suggestions for restaurants this was one of them. Since it was near the hotel went and boy are we glad we did. They have early bird specials from 5:00 PM to 6:00PM Monday -Friday. They are 8 items on their regular menu and they are regular portions. I had a ribeye steak with German Potatoes and my wife had a filet mignon with mash potatoes. We both had a hug house salad and a loaf of home made bread all for around $30. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the service was friendly and very fast.

This is definitely a keeper.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sljvlj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    50
    11
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“70's style restaurant”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This would have been a real good restaurant in the 1970's but time has passed it by. People from Wichita Falls love this place but the appeal escapes me. Maybe there is some sentimental reason for the love. Portions are small and quality is average. Overall, it is fair. Specifically, packaged crackers are served instead of bread, no salad bar exists (instead they bring you a small salad that is mostly tasteless iceberg), and small drink glasses that you have to wait for refills on are used. Again, why bother?

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeldonSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just not as good as once was, though they do offer good steaks and very good german potatoe salid.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank VentureTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of My Favorites in Wichita Falls”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Years ago when we lived in W.F., we were at McBride's at least once a month. Now, when visiting we have to make a stop here for a steak. They just have that special taste that we can't get anywhere else. Depending on what you get, can be pricey, but I've never had a bad meal here. Makes me want to plan another visit to Wichita Falls soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpikeRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

While McBride's wouldn't stack up to a Ruth's Chris, for the price it was awesome. Excellent, bacon-wrapped petite filet mignon for $13.95 with 2 sides! The baked sweet potato was really good. The salad had a nice mix of greens, not just iceberg but the blue cheese dressing was thin and not very blue cheezy. Similarly and the garlic bread was just ok. But for the price and quality of steak, we'll be back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmk773dgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McBride Land & Cattle Co. also viewed

 
Wichita Falls, TX
 

Been to McBride Land & Cattle Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing