We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best red tacos in Wichita Falls”
Review of Casa Manana

Casa Manana
Ranked #32 of 227 Restaurants in Wichita Falls
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best red tacos in Wichita Falls”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Probably one of the best Mexican food in town. The red tacos are what you want to order - yum

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisaintexas71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    17
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
“Great as usual”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Get the special enchiladas with a side of beans and rice...can't go wrong.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“entire environment is great”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Personally I think CM is the best mexican food in town, only one other compares (Celito Lindas).. but the Red Tacos and chips are the best in north Texas

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackJr2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Red Tacos!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The ultimate Taco experience! Get one of the sampler type plates to get a better taste of what they have but do NOT forget the red taco! Hubby loves the taco burger but it's got to be eaten with a fork!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Take a time machine back to the 50's and eat at Casa Manana”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were traveling out into the panhandle from Dallas and looked at Trip Advisor to see where to stop in Wichita Falls for dinner. Casa Manana came up and the descriptions hooked us. We wanted to try their recommended chile rellenos, red tacos and homemade chips and salsa. We were not disappointed. One reviewer criticized the lack of parking. I am not sure why. There is parking along the street, around the corner and in the back. We had no trouble on a Friday night.

Eating there is like taking a time machine back to the authentic Mexican restaurants of the 50's and 60's before we Tex-Mexed them up too much. It starts with the authentic neon sign in front advertising their 60+ years in business. When you walk in they ask you booth or table. We opted for table. There are booths in two rooms and in one room, the very back one, there are only tables. The booths are intimate and look inviting too. The back room has vintage pine molding, even on the ceiling. I really liked the authencity of it. We knew we were ordering one of the combination plates recommended or chile rellenos. One of us ordered the senorita plate and loved it and the other two of us ordered the smaller of the two chile relleno plates. I asked to substitute the red taco for the chapula that came with it. That was accommodated for a very reasonable up charge of 60 cents.

The chips and hot sauce/salsa were terrific. They are both homemade. The chips are thick but still crunchy. They are not at all greasy as some are. The hot sauce has a bite but I like it that way. The chile relleno was good but the red taco was amazing. It seems to have its fair share of red food coloring in it but don't be put off by that. The red tortilla it is in is a cross between a soft tortilla and a pancake with a strong taste of masa. The filling is likewise very, very good.

I love this place. I hope to have opportunities to go back often. Please NEVER change the food or decor!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lplsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Manana also viewed

 

Been to Casa Manana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing