We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an old school burger joint”

Gene's Tasty Burger
Ranked #62 of 227 Restaurants in Wichita Falls
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just an old school burger joint”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Old fashioned burgers and shakes done right, old school on a flat top grill Of course they serve chili cheese fries, too!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wichita falls, texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was not the same as it used to be. Hamburgers were not nearly as good as they used to be. Service was good and the people were nice, but as we left the people in the parking lot were talking about how bad the food has gotten.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical Texas Burger”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I guess this place is living off a reputation garnered many years ago. As a visitor to WFTX and not a local, I went on trip advisor reputations. I have no problems eating in local hole in the walls and mostly prefer them.
Slightly disorganized. I wasnt sure if I should sit and order from the waiter or order at the counter and take a seat. So I did the latter. Not a big deal.
I got a cheeseburger and onion rings. The burger was a typical Texas mustard burger on a nice soft white roll with all the toppings. The mustard was a little over powering with little taste of the meat which was just a mass produced thin patty. I would have ordered a double. Hand battered onions dipped on site. Be sure to add salt.
The place takes whole the wall a bit too seriously. The place is in dire need of a refurb. I dont think they will survive once their older clientele fades away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Demoknite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great local fare that's casual and filling”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

While I don't eat red meat my boyfriend loved the Frisco burger. I had the best grilled cheese. Thick toast buttered perfectly with the right amount of cheese. The tator tots and fries were ok but the gravy that came with my son's chicken fingers was awesome. Service was very nice and so quick.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

It's a whole in the wall that looks like its been there for years and years. The burgers were big, juicy and very reasonably priced (daily special 2 cheeseburgers, fries, and 2 drinks for less than $13). Service is quick and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmarsh673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gene's Tasty Burger also viewed

 

Been to Gene's Tasty Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing