We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gene-ious Of A Simple Hamburger!”

Gene's Tasty Burger
Ranked #54 of 228 Restaurants in Wichita Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Big D - Texas, of course
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Gene-ious Of A Simple Hamburger!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Gene's Tasty Burger is a Wichita Falls institution, and for good reason. If you're a local, they know your name. If you're visiting, they treat you like a long-lost friend. The place is a few blocks off the beaten path, but well worth an excursion. The menu is simple, and "tasty" doesn't do the burgers justice. They're made with fresh ingredients the old-fashioned way. Treat your taste buds, and ignore your diet, and head to Gene's next time you're in Wichita Falls!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shadowsdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burkburnett
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I grew up on Gene's as a kid,I am 42 now and the food is still the best in town!! I love the small dining room atmosphere,I don't feel like I need to hurry up and eat,plus you can watch the cooks cooking up the delicious burgers!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOBO0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Wichita Falls”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been going to Gene's for over 20 years. Gene's is one of the first stops when visiting from Indiana. My favorite it the Fesco Burger which is a burger dressed your way then covered in the best Texas Chili money can buy. Lunch is busy with everyone from professionals to tourists. The fresh cut French Fries come in a basket and a large order will feed several people.

The are other places with good burgers but they are always second to Gene's Tasty Burger

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whoosierpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Wichita Falls”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a must stop anytime I'm in Wichita Falls, Texas. Fresh cut patatos for the fries served by the basket. The "Fresco Burger" is a hamburger dressed to your wishes and covered with Texas chili. The place is packed at lunch with everyone from attorneys to construction workers.
I'm not sure how long Gene's has been open but I have been eating there on visits for over 20 years and the quality has never disapointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whoosierpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best burgers, fries, shakes, fried okra”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

No need to go here with a healthy eating plan, just enjoy the best burger in town. My friends were split between Ronnie's Burgers, the Glass Kitchen, and Gene's. Two out of the four of us thought Gene's was the best. All of us agreed that Gene's has the best fries and shakes. In addition, Gene's has more menu options. My personal favorite is the fried okra.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JustSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gene's Tasty Burger also viewed

 

Been to Gene's Tasty Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing