We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Mexican food! $6.49 margaritas?!?”
Review of El Fenix

El Fenix
Ranked #138 of 227 Restaurants in Wichita Falls
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Expensive Mexican food! $6.49 margaritas?!?”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, great waiter, just OK food! But... EXPENSIVE! I'm from San Antonio and I love good Mexican food. It's not expensive to make. I had a simple salad with shrimp at $9.99. Hubby and daughter had chicken enchiladas. We all enjoyed 2 small margaritas apiece ($6.49 each!). The grand total was $97.00!!! OUCH! Won't return ... there's other Mexican restaurants with food just as good & less expensive!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AidaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    13
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad... Probably won't go again.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

When I first went to El Fenix, they said the wait would be a good 30 minutes. Turned out we got in very quickly within about 5.
The staff was extremely friendly and nice, not overbearing but always there when we needed something.
I wouldn't say the food was very authentic, or really that good I have to say. But it was out quick, and there was enough to fill me up.
Over all, it was nice but I wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarCatFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“1st timer”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

was very good and priced reasonable...had the baked tilapia,black beans,fresh spinach/mushrooms and rice...it was so very good...took a longer to get it but worth the wait...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lillie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Park, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The waitress we had was slow, the food was sorry and not worth the price.We were very disappointed in the whole experience. We wont be going back any time soon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"just o.k." Gringo Food”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

It isn't the wost Mexican food I've ever had (that would be Jalepeno Tree), but it certainly wasn't great. However, the service was really good and I do appreciate that. It may just be that I live in New Mexico and I'm spoiled be all the great Mexican places. I don't know, but the flavors were all off (very heavy on the Cilantro) and the chile had no heat. Eating there made me sick... well, homesick.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Mendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fenix also viewed

 

Been to El Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing