We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome enchiladas!”
Review of Diego's Tex MEX Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Diego's Tex MEX Kitchen
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Roanoke, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Awesome enchiladas!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I almost didn't go to this restaurant because of the negative reviews until I realized that the majority of people that write reviews are only doing it because they have something negative to say. People that had a good experience are not driven to write a review so I thought I should.
Our first visit I was ready for bad food, ordered the tilapia, my husband ordered the beef enchiladas. The very first thing I was impressed with was the chips and salsa! Excellent! Not watery, thick enough to cling to the light crispy fresh tasting chips! I would have bought the chips and salsa to take home if they offered them. My tilapia was really good and fresh and my husbands enchiladas were the best I have tasted in a long time! We were going to Christinas in Trophy Club quiet a bit until now. The enchiladas were so good I had to order them tonight. I ordered from the build your meal where you can get two, three or four items from a determined list and the prices were really good! I ordered 1 sour cream chicken enchilada, 1 beef enchilada and 1 chicken flauta and it came with beans and rice. I was impressed with all three! I will probably order the same thing next visit! It did take a few minutes for us to get a waiter and drinks but we were very pleased with the service one he knew we were there! We will be eating all of our Mexican food here in the future!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“$21 for a cup of chilli, a bowl of tortilla soup and 2 non-alcoholic beers.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This place was completely adequate and overwhelmingly mediocre. I would not go back. The soup was not good enough to finish and the chilli was ok. I think that the hotel probably has better food. The whole office complex/shopping center is pretty deserted so I guess they are struggling to hang on.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Business”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

As a long time business customer, I am disappointed in Diego's continued decline in value and service. They are grossly overpriced and miss no opportunities to charge for extras, including chips. Really? Charging for chips at a Mexican restaurant? Their kitchen is slow, their food is mediocre and their staff is inattentive and unfriendly. And now apparently a party of five necessitates a 20% automatic gratuity. Being checked on twice in two hours and having to hunt down waitstaff 3 times is unacceptable and certainly not worthy of a 20% tip. My last bad experience at this restaurant will truly be my last. Drive another mile down 114 and go to Cristina's for better food, better service and a better atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TxChelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great margarita high prices”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Love, love, love their grand margarita- happy hour price $5.50. Unfortunately server failed to advise us of $2.99 charge per ticket for chips/salsa and automatic 20% tip for party of 5 bring cost of margarita to $11.03! Unacceptable and deceiving. Not a great way to treat business park customers who are your bread and butter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mycustomer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best margarita around”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Pros: This place has the best frozen margarita around. Grande Special is our regular order during our happy hours.
Cons: You gotta pay for the chips while most Tex Mex place around offer it free.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank praveen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diego's Tex MEX Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing