We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still needs a little work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Aire Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Weslaco
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Still needs a little work”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past, last time being a couple years ago. I thought they had completed a renovation, so we decided to stay here again (we had been staying at another OGI Hotel in Donna).

I had trouble making a reservation. Went to the website and the put in the dates, and the booking engine didn't work (still doesn't work). I called the hotel and they gave me the number to reservations. No answer, so I called back to ensure I had the correct number, which I did (the operator couldn't make my reservation). I tried the number again, and still there wasn't any answer. I would have emailed the hotel, but I couldn't find an email address at their website or the parent company's website. I still wanted to stay there, so I ended up booking on a third party website. Maybe there's a cost savings in not having their own booking engine, instead, relying on the different third party websites.

The room I was in hadn't been renovated. It was pretty worn, but housekeeping had it clean. No mini fridge, as it was missing from it's location. Both the sink and bath tub was missing the drain stoppers, so I could see a couple toothpaste caps in the sink drain. The tv wasn't working correctly, and it took a call and a trip to the front desk to get someone to look at it. The AC worked well, and the shower had good pressure and hot water. We were located at the opposite end of the pool, but we could still hear the music from the bar.

Breakfast was good, though no eggs to order. The waiter we had kept the table cleared and our coffee cups full.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John78223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bajaj V, General Manager at Palm Aire Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear John78223,

Thank you for your review on our hotel, Yes we are currently undergoing quite a few renovations and improvements, and while in the process also trying to make sure it does not affect our guests. We sure hope this does not affect your decision to come back. We always work hard to provide every guest 100 customer service.

Thank you,

Ileana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    17
    16
    21
See reviews for
37
22
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed at Palm Aire many times and have always been very happy with the service, atmosphere and rooms. The rooms are large, very clean and the bed was comfortable. They have a really nice pool and sitting area. The full breakfast is free and is outstanding with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, pancakes, waffles, hashbrowns, toast, fruit and cereal. The landscape is nice and well kept. It is only five minutes from the border and Progreso, Mexico which is a good place to shop. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connieretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bajaj V, General Manager at Palm Aire Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello Connieretired Here at Palm Aire Hotel we love when you are satisfied with what we have to offer, and we love to hear your feedback! We worked hard everyday to make sure every single guests walks out of here with a smile and relaxed. Thank you for such a wonderful review.


Sincerely,

Ileana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stay at this hotel for two weeks and I'm so glad with the service, the clean room and the breakfast restaurant. I love the pool and the bar every weekend bcuz the have karaoke and live music. I give 5 start because is the best hotel ever. The front desk staff are so friendly. Next time I'm going to stay there for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdj0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bajaj V, General Manager at Palm Aire Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sure glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Im glad your are taking advatange of ALL the amenities we have to offer to our guests. Hope to see you soon!

Thank you,

Ileana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, NM
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent almost a week here in Weslaco at this hotel. Rate was best I could find and the room was a king room with comfortable chair, a desk with two chairs, and desk/bar with an office chair. It was a very comfortable and large room. Only negatives were no bedside table and lamp on one side of bed and also bed height was a struggle for wife and myself but 7 ft. basketball player would have been right at home. Overall a very good place to stay and even a full breakfast each morning. A great value for the $$.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bajaj V, General Manager at Palm Aire Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Mr. William J,

Thank you for your review on our hotel, i am happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. Hope to see you all soon!

Ileana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, very nice person , it was nice ang clean, I have to admit the full breakfast was awesome, we asked for an omelette and the cook was actually making them to order, .
I will defiantly stay here again..
Oh yeah and the price was amazing, for all we got..
Thank you,
Rick Guzman
Pasadena , Texas

Room Tip: Great price for all you get.. A full breakfast , friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasadenasrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bajaj V, General Manager at Palm Aire Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Mr Guzman,

We are excited to hear that bringing back the cook to order omelette is a hit. We try to provide 100%satisfactory customer service to our guests. We are going under quite a few improvements with our guests in mind. Hope to see you all back soon.

Ileana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
163 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went here for a conference this weekend. Don't know how it compares in price to other places in the same area, but the price is good for someone who has stayed at pricier hotels. My only complaint is that my room didn't have any hot water. I told them at the front desk, and they did offer to have someone look at it, but they must have had other priorities. Also this is the first hotel I've stayed at that didn't have a mini fridge and microwave. This is a trend I understand when the hotel has an on site restaurant so they can push their food service, but the restaurant only opens for breakfast. (The breakfast is free to residents) . I didn't miss the microwave that much, but I did miss having a place to put sodas and the nearby soda machine was sold out off all choices I wanted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinthropJQuiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bajaj V, General Manager at Palm Aire Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we are currently undergoing alot of improvements and one of them is to have more mini fridges and microwaves available to our guests and have the restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and even dinner. We do appreciate every guest that takes the time to post a review on tripadvisor wether it is good or bad it helps us (the hotel) make adjustments and provide better customer service to our guests.

Thank you and hope to see you here soon!

Ileana R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Promised newly remodeled rooms but carpet shabby, room smelled musty & stale like hadn't been occupied in a long time. Discover credit card cldnt be used. Good price for 2 room suite & free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLORIA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bajaj V, General Manager at Palm Aire Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We are currently working on a new frontdesk system, and yes Discover card will be accepted. I sure hope that you do decide to come back and stay with us in our new rooms. We do apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered and do strive to make your nex stay a better one.


Thank you,

Ileana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weslaco
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weslaco
3.6 mi away
Best Western Town Center Inn
4.5 mi away
Victoria Palms Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Texas Inn Weslaco
Texas Inn Weslaco
#8 of 10 in Weslaco
19 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Aire Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Aire Hotel & Suites

Property: Palm Aire Hotel & Suites
Address: 415 S International Blvd, Weslaco, TX 78596-9138
Location: United States > Texas > Weslaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Weslaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Aire Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Aire Hotel and Suites Weslaco TX Hotel is located in the semi-tropical Rio Grande Valley, 2 exits from Rio Grande Valley Outlet Mall,five miles from the Progresso,MX, and approximately 20 miles from Miller Airport and Valley International Airport. This location is also two miles from Tower Theater, three miles from the Valley Nature Center and Gladys Porter Zoo, five miles from golf courses PGA rated Tierra Santa, 14 miles from the Santa Ana Wildlife Refuge, 20 the Iwo Jima Memorial, and 40 miles from South Padre Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Aire Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Aire Hotel Weslaco
Palm Aire Hotel And Suites
Weslaco Best Western Palm Aire
Best Western Palm Aire
Best Western Weslaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing